slideshow 1

Indie Bestsellers

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.

Our Next Event

08/25/2014 - 7:00pm

The Boston Globe's new book club gathers at Porter Square to discuss their summer pick, and everyone is invited!

Join Globe reporters for a discussion of Maryanne O'Hara's Cascade:

During the 1930s in a small town fighting for its survival, a conflicted new wife seeks to reconcile her artistic ambitions with the binding promises she has made.

Fans of Richard Russo, Amor Towles, Sebastian Barry, and Paula McLain will devour this transporting novel about the eternal tug between our duties and our desires, set during in New York City and New England during the Depression and New Deal eras.

It’s 1935, and Desdemona Hart Spaulding has sacrificed her plans to work as an artist in New York to care for her bankrupt, ailing father in Cascade, Massachusetts. When he dies, Dez finds herself caught in a marriage of convenience, bound to the promise she made to save her father’s Shakespeare Theater, even as her town may be flooded to create a reservoir for Boston. When she falls for artist Jacob Solomon, she sees a chance to escape and realize her New York ambitions, but is it morally possible to set herself free?

Registration is encouraged.

Welcome to Porter Square Books

Welcome to Porter Square Books. Check our staff picks, calendar of events, childrens section and ebooks resources. And don't forget to vist the Porter Square Books Blog for reviews, author interviews, and other book world news. If you have any questions email us at info@portersquarebooks.com or call us at 617-491-2220.

 

Porter Square Books Gift Cards

Porter Square Books Gift Cards can be purchased online and in the store. We'll mail them for you and even include a message. They're good on any purchase in the store or online, including ebooks. Click on the card to order online or call us at 617-491-2220 to order over the phone.

Twitter

Facebook

Indie Next List

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer