slideshow 1

Indie Bestsellers

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.

Our Next Event

03/27/2015

With over one million copies sold, this series of modern classics about the charming Penderwick family, from National Book Award winner and New York Times bestseller Jeanne Birdsall, is perfect for fans of Noel Streatfeild and Edward Eager.
 
Springtime is finally arriving on Gardam Street, and there are surprises in store for each member of the family.
 
Some surprises are just wonderful, like neighbor Nick Geiger coming home from war. And some are ridiculous, like Batty’s new dog-walking business. Batty is saving up her dog-walking money for an extra-special surprise for her family, which she plans to present on her upcoming birthday. But when some unwelcome surprises make themselves known, the best-laid plans fall apart.
 
Filled with all the heart, hilarity, and charm that has come to define this beloved clan, The Penderwicks in Spring is about fun and family and friends (and dogs), and what happens when you bring what's hidden into the bright light of the spring sun.

Jeanne Birdsall grew up in the suburbs west of Philadelphia, where she attended wonderful public schools. Jeanne had lots of great teachers, but her favorites were: Mrs. Corkhill, sixth grade, who encouraged her intellectual curiosity; Mr. Tremonte, eighth grade algebra, who taught Jeanne to love and respect math; and Miss Basehore, second and fourth year Latin, to whom Jeanne (and Mr. Penderwick) will be forever grateful.
Although she first decided to become a writer when she was ten years old, it took Jeanne until she was forty-one to get started. In the years in between, Jeanne had many strange jobs to support herself while working hard as a photographer–the kind that makes art. Some of Jeanne's photographs are included in the permanent collections of museums, including the Smithsonian and the Philadelphia Art Museum.

Jeanne's home now is with her husband in Northampton, Massachusetts. Their house is old and comfortable, full of unruly animals, and surrounded by gardens. 

Welcome to Porter Square Books

Welcome to Porter Square Books. Check our staff picks, calendar of events, childrens section and ebooks resources. And don't forget to vist the Porter Square Books Blog for reviews, author interviews, and other book world news. If you have any questions email us at info@portersquarebooks.com or call us at 617-491-2220.

 

Porter Square Books Gift Cards

Porter Square Books Gift Cards can be purchased online and in the store. We'll mail them for you and even include a message. They're good on any purchase in the store or online, including ebooks. Click on the card to order online or call us at 617-491-2220 to order over the phone.

Twitter

Facebook

Indie Next List

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer