slideshow 1

Indie Bestsellers

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.

Books from the Future

Tuesday, December 9, 2014

Our Next Event

11/21/2014 - 7:00pm

"Beautiful, mysterious, and philosophical, with a voice for landscape as lush as any Romantic, Davis has written one of my favorite books of the year. A novel that bends physics, warps time, and stretches myths, Duplex is a wise exploration of the passage of life into death. And there are robots. And a sorcerer. And at least one apocalypse. Maybe four." -- Josh, staff pick

On what seems like a fairly ordinary suburban street, the familiar resides with the unusual. A young girl falls in love with the boy next door, a kind teacher walks her dachshund down the sidewalk, a young man works toward a career in professional baseball, a family of robots prepare for their daughter’s first day of school, and a sorcerer speeds his flashy car down the street and zaps souls in exchange for making dreams come true. In the tradition of Kazuo Ishiguro’s Never Let Me Go and Heidi Julavits’s The Vanishers, Duplex seamlessly blends elements of fantasy, science fiction, horror, and fairy tale, to deliver a truly unforgettable novel.

Kathryn Davis is the author of six novels. She has received the Kafka Prize, the Morton Dauwen Zabel Award, a Guggenheim Fellowship, and the Lannan Foundation Literary Award. She teaches at Washington University, and lives in Vermont and St. Louis, Missouri.


"Little stories with huge impact -- try reading them out loud to a friend and you will be laughing or gasping and always wanting more. They are short but not always sweet. They are sly, amusing, and moving. 'Fingers' is shocking, 'Directions' is quite funny, and 'Kiss' is almost sweet. All are very addicting, and a pleasure to read." -- Megan, staff pick for J. Robert Lennon's Pieces for the Left Hand

"I guess the things that scare you are the things that are almost normal," observes one narrator in this collection of effervescent and often uncanny stories. Drawing on fifteen years of work, See You in Paradise is the fullest expression yet of J. Robert Lennon’s distinctive and brilliantly comic take on the pathos and surreality at the heart of American life. In Lennon's America, a portal to another universe can be discovered with surprising nonchalance in a suburban backyard, adoption almost reaches the level of blood sport, and old pals return from the dead to steal your girlfriend.

J. Robert Lennon is the author of seven novels, including Familiar, Castle, and Mailman, and a story collection, Pieces for the Left Hand. His fiction has appeared in The Paris Review, Granta, Harper’s Magazine, Playboy, and The New Yorker. He lives in Ithaca, New York, where he teaches writing at Cornell University.

Welcome to Porter Square Books

Welcome to Porter Square Books. Check our staff picks, calendar of events, childrens section and ebooks resources. And don't forget to vist the Porter Square Books Blog for reviews, author interviews, and other book world news. If you have any questions email us at info@portersquarebooks.com or call us at 617-491-2220.

 

Porter Square Books Gift Cards

Porter Square Books Gift Cards can be purchased online and in the store. We'll mail them for you and even include a message. They're good on any purchase in the store or online, including ebooks. Click on the card to order online or call us at 617-491-2220 to order over the phone.

Twitter

Facebook

Indie Next List

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer