Beasts Made of Night (Hardcover)

Beasts Made of Night Cover Image
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
3 on hand, as of Dec 10 12:45pm
(YOUNG ADULT FICTION)

Description


..".The beginning of a great saga..." --NPR.org

"This compelling Nigerian-influenced fantasy has a wonderfully unique premise and lush, brilliant worldbuilding that will consume you until the last page."--Buzzfeed

..".Unforgettable in its darkness, inequality, and magic." --VOYA, Starred Review

..".A paean to an emerging black legend."--Kirkus Reviews, Starred Review

In book one of the Beasts Made of Night series, seventeen-year-old Taj sets off on an epic journey.

In the walled city of Kos, corrupt mages can magically call forth sin from a sinner in the form of sin-beasts--lethal creatures spawned from feelings of guilt. Taj is the most talented of the aki, young sin-eaters indentured by the mages to slay the sin-beasts. But Taj's livelihood comes at a terrible cost. When he kills a sin-beast, a tattoo of the beast appears on his skin while the guilt of committing the sin appears on his mind. Most aki are driven mad by the process, but Taj is cocky and desperate to provide for his family.

When Taj is called to eat a sin of a member of the royal family, he's suddenly thrust into the center of a dark conspiracy to destroy Kos. Now Taj must fight to save the princess that he loves--and his own life.

Debut author Tochi Onyebuchi delivers an unforgettable series opener that powerfully explores the true meaning of justice and guilt. Packed with dark magic and thrilling action, Beasts Made of Night is a gritty Nigerian-influenced fantasy perfect for fans of Paolo Bacigalupi and Nnedi Okorafor.

iBooks Most Anticipated YA Books of the Fall
io9's All the Science Fiction and Fantasy Books to Keep On Your Radar This Fall
BuzzFeed's 22 YA Novels You'll Want To Read From Cover To Cover This Fall
A 2017 BookExpo Buzz Book
A Junior Library Guild Selection

About the Author


Tochi Onyebuchi holds a B.A. from Yale, an MFA in Screenwriting from Tisch, a Masters degree in Global Economic Law from L'institut d'etudes politiques, and a J.D. from Columbia Law School. His writing has appeared in Asimov's and Ideomancer, among other places. Tochi resides in Connecticut where he works in the tech industry and is currently writing the epic sequel to Beasts Made of Night.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780448493909
ISBN-10: 044849390X
Publisher: Razorbill
Publication Date: October 31st, 2017
Pages: 304
Language: English