It All Comes Down to This (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
It All Comes Down to This Cover Image
$16.99
On Our Shelves Now
3 on hand, as of Oct 22 7:45am
(MIDDLE FICTION)

Staff Reviews


Sophie's family moves to an all-white neighborhood in 1965 LA. She manages to make new friends and get ready for her beloved older sister to leave for college, but she's not prepared to be caught up in the Watts riots.

Sarah

— From It All Comes Down to This

Description


It's 1965, Los Angeles. All twelve-year-old Sophie wants to do is write her book, star in the community play, and hang out with her friend Jennifer. But she's the new black kid in a nearly all-white neighborhood; her beloved sister, Lily, is going away to college soon; and her parents' marriage is rocky. There's also her family's new, disapproving housekeeper to deal with. When riots erupt in nearby Watts and a friend is unfairly arrested, Sophie learns that life--and her own place in it--is even more complicated than she'd once thought.
Leavened with gentle humor, this story is perfect for fans of Rita Williams-Garcia.

Product Details
ISBN: 9780544839571
ISBN-10: 0544839579
Publisher: Clarion Books
Publication Date: July 11th, 2017
Pages: 368
Language: English