The Weight of Ink (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
The Weight of Ink Cover Image
$28.00
On Our Shelves Now
20 on hand, as of Aug 21 12:43am
(FICTION)

Staff Reviews


A British academic is invited to examine a cache of letters found in a boarded-up closet in a 17th century house outside London. The novel alternates between the lives of London Jews of the 1600s whose lives are reflected in the letters, and the contemporary academics who are trying to piece together their stories. Enlightenment philosophy, London's plague and Great Fire, and 17th-century Jewish messianism are all artfully woven into this compelling work of historical fiction.

— From The Weight of Ink

Description


An intellectual and emotional jigsaw puzzle of a novel for readers of A. S. Byatt's Possession and Geraldine Brooks's People of the Book

Set in London of the 1660s and of the early twenty-first century, The Weight of Ink is the interwoven tale of two women of remarkable intellect: Ester Velasquez, an emigrant from Amsterdam who is permitted to scribe for a blind rabbi, just before the plague hits the city; and Helen Watt, an ailing historian with a love of Jewish history.
As the novel opens, Helen has been summoned by a former student to view a cache of seventeenth-century Jewish documents newly discovered in his home during a renovation. Enlisting the help of Aaron Levy, an American graduate student as impatient as he is charming, and in a race with another fast-moving team of historians, Helen embarks on one last project: to determine the identity of the documents' scribe, the elusive "Aleph."

Electrifying and ambitious, sweeping in scope and intimate in tone, The Weight of Ink is a sophisticated work of historical fiction about women separated by centuries, and the choices and sacrifices they must make in order to reconcile the life of the heart and mind.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780544866461
ISBN-10: 0544866460
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin
Publication Date: June 6th, 2017
Pages: 576
Language: English