Children's/Teen

Nominally for young readers

Midnight Release Party: Harry Potter & the Cursed Child

Join us to celebrate the new release!

Festivities will include...
- a fan fiction open mic! (Sign-ups are officially closed - please join us at 10:30 to hear the AMAZING AUs your peers have come up with.)
- Harry Potter trivia!
- a Harry Potter photobooth!
- a costume competition!
- a coloring corner!

Staff Pick Logo
Harry Potter and the Cursed Child - Parts One & Two: The Official Script Book of the Original West End Production Cover Image
$29.99
ISBN: 9781338099133
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Arthur A. Levine Books - July 31st, 2016

Chris Stevenson, The Drum of Destiny

The year is 1775 and twelve-year-old Gabriel Cooper is an orphaned patriot stuck living in a house of loyalists. But when the boy discovers a discarded drum in the East River, he sees it as a call to leave his home in New York and join in the fight for freedom in Boston. With rich, historic details, Gabriel's adventure will captivate readers as they join the boy on the difficult journey to his destiny.

The Drum of Destiny Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781496526748
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Stone Arch Books - February 1st, 2016

Grace Lin, When the Sea Turned to Silver

A breathtaking, full-color illustrated fantasy inspired by Chinese folklore, a companion to the Newbery Honor winner Where the Mountain Meets the Moon.

Pinmei's gentle, loving grandmother always has the most exciting tales for her granddaughter and the other villagers. However, the peace is shattered one night when soldiers of the Emperor arrive and kidnap the storyteller.

When the Sea Turned to Silver Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780316125925
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - October 4th, 2016

Matt Roeser, Oh No, Astro!

Matt Roeser, Oh No, Astro!In this charming debut picture book, a grumpy asteroid named Astro is thrown out of orbit and takes an unexpected journey through space.

(more)

Matt Roeser has never been to outer space, but he has eaten astronaut ice cream. When not dreaming of exploring the cosmos and writing books, he's busy eating non-astronaut food and designing book covers. Even though his favorite planet is Saturn, he currently lives on Earth in a town called Boston, Massachusetts. Oh No, Astro! is his first book. Visit him at MattRoeser.com.

Oh No, Astro! Cover Image
By Matt Roeser, Brad Woodard (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781481439763
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - April 19th, 2016

Paws at PSB

Join Teddy, a Coton de Tulear, and Blitz, a Portuguese water dog, for some read-aloud time.

Teddy and Blitz are both part of Dog B.O.N.E.S., a local nonprofit that sends therapy dogs into the community. They are certified therapy dogs who will serve as an attentive but nonjudgmental audience while children read out loud.

Kate Messner, The Seventh Wish

Kate Messner, The Seventh WishCharlie feels like she's always coming in last. From her Mom's new job to her sister's life away at college, everything else always seems to be more important than Charlie's upcoming dance competition or science project. Unsure of how to get her family's attention, Charlie comes across the surprise of her life one day while ice-fishing... in the form of a floppy, scaly fish offering to grant her a wish in exchange for its freedom.

(more)

 

Kate Messner is the author of The Brilliant Fall of Gianna Z. She teaches junior high in New York, where she lives with her husband and two children.

The Seventh Wish Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781619633766
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Bloomsbury U.S.A. Children's Books - June 7th, 2016

Jenn Bishop, The Distance to Home

Jenn Bishop, The Distance to HomeFor fans of Lynda Mullaly Hunt and Rita Williams-Garcia, Jenn Bishop's heartwarming debut is a celebration of sisterhood and summertime, and of finding the courage to get back in the game. 

(more)

Jenn Bishop is a former youth services and teen librarian. She is a graduate of the University of Chicago, where she studied English, and Vermont College of Fine Arts, where she received her MFA in Writing for Children and Young Adults. Along with her husband and cat, Jenn lives just outside of Boston, where she roots for the Red Sox.

The Distance to Home Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781101938713
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers - June 28th, 2016

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Children's/Teen