Children's/Teen

Nominally for young readers

Lori Goldstein & Jen Malone

Lori Goldstein was born into an Italian-Irish family and raised in a small town on the New Jersey shore. She earned her bachelor’s degree in journalism from Lehigh University and worked as a writer, editor, and graphic designer before becoming a full-time author. She currently lives and writes outside of Boston.

Jen Malone is a former Hollywood publicist who once spent a year traveling the world solo, met her husband on the highway (literally), and went into labor with her identical twins while on a rock star's tour bus. These days she saves the drama for her books. Jen is also the author of the middle grade novel At Your Service, coauthor of the You're Invited series, and wrote the YA novel Map to the Stars. You can visit her online at JenMaloneWrites.com.

(more)

Circle of Jinn Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250055408
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Feiwel & Friends - May 17th, 2016

Wanderlost Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780062380159
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Harper Teen - May 31st, 2016

Erin Moulton & Kara Storti

Erin Moulton, Keepers of the Labyrinth, and Kara Storti, Tripping Back Blue

Erin E. Moulton graduated with an MFA in Writing for Children from the Vermont College of Fine Arts. She is the author of Flutter: The Story of Four Sisters and One Incredible Journey, and Tracing Stars. Erin is co-founder of the Kinship Writers Association. She lives in Southern New Hampshire with her husband and puppies where she writes, reads, drinks tea and dreams.

Kara Storti knew she wanted to be a writer when she decided to skip her junior prom to attend the Bread Loaf Writers’ Conference in Middlebury, Vermont. In the years following she spent most of her free time writing short stories, novellas, and poems, and composing pop songs. In 2006 she graduated from the University of Southern Maine with an MFA in Creative Writing, where she fell in love with writing novels for young adults. Kara has been a singer, songwriter, pianist, and flautist since she was a child and has performed throughout the world. She grew up in upstate New York and now resides in Cambridge, Massachusetts. 

(more)

Tripping Back Blue Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781512403084
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Carolrhoda Books - April 1st, 2016

Keepers of the Labyrinth Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780399164590
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Philomel Books - August 25th, 2015

Veronica Chapman, I Know I Can!

Victoria Chapman, I Know I Can!While giving a speech at her high school graduation, Faith, the class valedictorian, shares her childhood dreams and the lessons that served as the foundation for her courage. 

(more)

Veronica N. Chapman is an entrepreneur, author, and playwright, having written and produced Ancestors Inc., a motivational play for teens, and The Advent of Planet Martyr: An Innovative Social Commentary, a self-published book. A graduate of Spelman College (B.A. in Spanish) and Babson College (M.B.A.), she is committed to using her gifts to act upon her ideas and improve the world. Each of her endeavors, Boxxout Enterprises, Potlucks for Progress, My Crowning Jewel, and I Know I Can!, are in line with this commitment. I Know I Can! is Veronica’s first children’s book.

I Know I Can! Cover Image
By Veronica N. Chapman, Daveia Odoi (Illustrator), Paige Davis (Designed by)
$10.99
ISBN: 9781515162391
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform - November 29th, 2015

Leila Sales, Once Was a Time

In the war-ravaged England of 1940, Charlotte Bromley is sure of only one thing: Kitty McLaughlin is her best friend in the whole world. But when Charlotte's scientist father makes an astonishing discovery that the Germans will covet for themselves, Charlotte is faced with an impossible choice between danger and safety. Should she remain with her friend or journey to another time and place? Her split-second decision has huge consequences, and when she finds herself alone in the world, unsure of Kitty's fate, she knows that somehow, some way, she must find her way back to her friend. Written in the spirit of classic time-travel tales, this book is an imaginative and heartfelt tribute to the unbreakable ties of friendship.

(more)

Once Was a Time Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781452140094
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Chronicle Books - April 5th, 2016

Ethan and Vita Murrow, The Whale

There is a legend that a Great Spotted Whale lives in the ocean, although a sighting fifty years ago was never corroborated. Now two young whale watchers each set out to find the whale, one armed with sound-recording equipment, the other with a camera. When their boats collide, they pool their resources to capture incontrovertible proof that the mythical whale exists. The eventual sighting is a magical moment, especially when the children discover that it was their own grandparents who first glimpsed the whale fifty years ago. The Murrows’ spectacular wordless adventure is brought to life with stunning graphite drawings that convey the drama and haunting beauty of the ocean and capture the majesty of the awe-inspiring whale.

(more)

The Whale Cover Image
By Vita Murrow, Ethan Murrow (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780763679651
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Templar Books - April 12th, 2016

Julia Denos, Swatch

A vibrant picture book featuring an irrepressible new character perfect for fans of The Dot and Beautiful Oops from acclaimed illustrator Julia Denos.
 
 
The hardest question for Julia Denos to answer is "What is your favorite color?" She has illustrated several children's books, including Just Being Audrey by Margaret Cardillo, I Had a Favorite Dress by Boni Ashburn, Dotty by Erica S. Perl, Grandma's Gloves by Cecil Castellucci, and Letters to Leo by Amy Hest. This is the first book she has written and illustrated. Julia lives in Boston.
Swatch: The Girl Who Loved Color Cover Image
By Julia Denos, Julia Denos (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062366382
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Balzer & Bray/Harperteen - March 15th, 2016

Gareth Hinds, Samurai Rising

Minamoto Yoshitsune should not have been a samurai. But his story is legend in this real-life Game of Thrones.

This epic tale of warriors and bravery, rebellion and revenge, reads like a novel, but this is the true story of the greatest samurai in Japanese history. 

(more)

Gareth Hinds has retold and illustrated several classics, including Beowulf and the much-acclaimed Odyssey. He lives in New York City with his wife.

Samurai Rising: The Epic Life of Minamoto Yoshitsune Cover Image
By Pamela S. Turner, Gareth Hinds (Illustrator)
$16.95
ISBN: 9781580895842
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Charlesbridge Publishing - February 2nd, 2016

Brenda Drake, Thief of Lies

Gia Kearns would rather fight with boys than kiss them. That is, until Arik, a leather clad hottie in the Boston Athenaeum, suddenly disappears. While examining the book of world libraries he abandoned, Gia unwittingly speaks the key that sucks her and her friends into a photograph and transports them into a Paris library, where Arik and his Sentinels—magical knights charged with protecting humans from the creatures traveling across the gateway books—rescue them from a demonic hound.

(more)

Brenda Drake, the youngest of three children, grew up an Air Force brat and the continual new kid at school until her family settled in Albuquerque, New Mexico. Brenda’s fondest memories growing up is of her eccentric, Irish grandmother’s animated tales, which gave her a strong love for storytelling. So it was only fitting that she would choose to write young adult and middle grade novels with a bend toward the fantastical. When Brenda’s not writing or doing the social media thing, she’s haunting libraries, bookstores,and coffee shops or reading someplace quiet and not at all exotic (much to her disappointment).

Thief of Lies Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781633752214
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Entangled Publishing - January 5th, 2016

Elizabeth Howard and Diana Wege, A Day with Bonefish Joe

Harbour Island, only three miles long and half a mile wide, is one of the oldest settlements in the Bahamas and is best known for its broad pink-sand beaches and for bonefishing, a compelling catch-and-release enterprise that pits a determined angler against an inedible, surprisingly powerful, and elusive quarry.

(more)

A Day with Bonefish Joe Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781567925340
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: David R. Godine Publisher - November 9th, 2015

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Children's/Teen