Children's/Teen

Nominally for young readers

Grace Lin, When the Sea Turned to Silver

A breathtaking, full-color illustrated fantasy inspired by Chinese folklore, a companion to the Newbery Honor winner Where the Mountain Meets the Moon.

Pinmei's gentle, loving grandmother always has the most exciting tales for her granddaughter and the other villagers. However, the peace is shattered one night when soldiers of the Emperor arrive and kidnap the storyteller.

When the Sea Turned to Silver Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780316125925
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - October 4th, 2016

Matt Roeser, Oh No, Astro!

Matt Roeser, Oh No, Astro!In this charming debut picture book, a grumpy asteroid named Astro is thrown out of orbit and takes an unexpected journey through space.

(more)

Matt Roeser has never been to outer space, but he has eaten astronaut ice cream. When not dreaming of exploring the cosmos and writing books, he's busy eating non-astronaut food and designing book covers. Even though his favorite planet is Saturn, he currently lives on Earth in a town called Boston, Massachusetts. Oh No, Astro! is his first book. Visit him at MattRoeser.com.

Oh No, Astro! Cover Image
By Matt Roeser, Brad Woodard (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781481439763
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - April 19th, 2016

Paws at PSB

Join Teddy, a Coton de Tulear, and Blitz, a Portuguese water dog, for some read-aloud time.

Teddy and Blitz are both part of Dog B.O.N.E.S., a local nonprofit that sends therapy dogs into the community. They are certified therapy dogs who will serve as an attentive but nonjudgmental audience while children read out loud.

Kate Messner, The Seventh Wish

Kate Messner, The Seventh WishCharlie feels like she's always coming in last. From her Mom's new job to her sister's life away at college, everything else always seems to be more important than Charlie's upcoming dance competition or science project. Unsure of how to get her family's attention, Charlie comes across the surprise of her life one day while ice-fishing... in the form of a floppy, scaly fish offering to grant her a wish in exchange for its freedom.

(more)

 

Kate Messner is the author of The Brilliant Fall of Gianna Z. She teaches junior high in New York, where she lives with her husband and two children.

The Seventh Wish Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781619633766
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Bloomsbury U.S.A. Children's Books - June 7th, 2016

Jenn Bishop, The Distance to Home

Jenn Bishop, The Distance to HomeFor fans of Lynda Mullaly Hunt and Rita Williams-Garcia, Jenn Bishop's heartwarming debut is a celebration of sisterhood and summertime, and of finding the courage to get back in the game. 

(more)

Jenn Bishop is a former youth services and teen librarian. She is a graduate of the University of Chicago, where she studied English, and Vermont College of Fine Arts, where she received her MFA in Writing for Children and Young Adults. Along with her husband and cat, Jenn lives just outside of Boston, where she roots for the Red Sox.

The Distance to Home Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781101938713
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers - June 28th, 2016

Lori Goldstein & Jen Malone

Lori Goldstein was born into an Italian-Irish family and raised in a small town on the New Jersey shore. She earned her bachelor’s degree in journalism from Lehigh University and worked as a writer, editor, and graphic designer before becoming a full-time author. She currently lives and writes outside of Boston.

Jen Malone is a former Hollywood publicist who once spent a year traveling the world solo, met her husband on the highway (literally), and went into labor with her identical twins while on a rock star's tour bus. These days she saves the drama for her books. Jen is also the author of the middle grade novel At Your Service, coauthor of the You're Invited series, and wrote the YA novel Map to the Stars. You can visit her online at JenMaloneWrites.com.

(more)

Circle of Jinn Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250055408
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Feiwel & Friends - May 17th, 2016

Wanderlost Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780062380159
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Harper Teen - May 31st, 2016

Erin Moulton & Kara Storti

Erin Moulton, Keepers of the Labyrinth, and Kara Storti, Tripping Back Blue

Erin E. Moulton graduated with an MFA in Writing for Children from the Vermont College of Fine Arts. She is the author of Flutter: The Story of Four Sisters and One Incredible Journey, and Tracing Stars. Erin is co-founder of the Kinship Writers Association. She lives in Southern New Hampshire with her husband and puppies where she writes, reads, drinks tea and dreams.

Kara Storti knew she wanted to be a writer when she decided to skip her junior prom to attend the Bread Loaf Writers’ Conference in Middlebury, Vermont. In the years following she spent most of her free time writing short stories, novellas, and poems, and composing pop songs. In 2006 she graduated from the University of Southern Maine with an MFA in Creative Writing, where she fell in love with writing novels for young adults. Kara has been a singer, songwriter, pianist, and flautist since she was a child and has performed throughout the world. She grew up in upstate New York and now resides in Cambridge, Massachusetts. 

(more)

Tripping Back Blue Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781512403084
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Carolrhoda Books - April 1st, 2016

Keepers of the Labyrinth Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780399164590
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Philomel Books - August 25th, 2015

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Children's/Teen