April

Dash and Lily's Book of Dares

Staff Pick Logo
Dash & Lily's Book of Dares Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780375859557
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ember - October 11th, 2011

What could be better than a Christmas-time scavenger hunt in New York City? When Lily's parents leave her and her brother alone for Christmas, she is devastated, and in an effort to cheer her up, her brother encourages her to leave a journal in a book at the Strand, prompting a back and forth scavenger hunt around the city. When Dash, with a Scrooge-like attitude toward Christmas, picks up the journal, it sets off a series of adventures all over the city that makes me laugh and warms my heart every time. I read this one every year, and I promise it will make you Christmas season brighter.

April

 


A Line in the Dark

Staff Pick Logo
A Line in the Dark Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780735227422
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Dutton Books for Young Readers - October 17th, 2017

This unconventionally structured and intense YA thriller will appeal to fans of Gone Girl and other dark, female- centric mysteries. The story centers on queer romance, jealousy tangled up in friendship and class and race differences between teen girls at two different high schools in a small Massachusetts town. The unconventional shift in narration halfway through both allows for a more factual and removed look at the mystery and signals to the audience that Jess has lost control of her own story. One of the most artfully written YA books of the year, and a mystery sure to suck in both older teen and adult readers, this is one not to be missed.

April


And I Darken

Staff Pick Logo
And I Darken Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780553522341
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ember - May 30th, 2017

And I Darken is a historical reimagining of a female Vlad the Impaler trying to protect herself and her younger brother in a hostile foreign land rich with political intrigue and court drama. Lada is a complex, morally gray anti-heroine who fiercely fights for herself and her family and often turns to violence to suit her purposes. This is a dark, gritty and compelling book that will enthrall you and draw you into its world completely. Richly realized, this one is good for fans of Three Dark Crowns and Game of Thrones.

April


Genuine Fraud

Staff Pick Logo
Genuine Fraud Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780385744775
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Delacorte Press - September 5th, 2017

Genuine Fraud is the YA psychological thriller we've all been waiting for. It is dark, twisty and impossible to predict and you'll want to pick it back up again as soon as you finish. Jule West-William is a chameleon, a fighter and a fraud- or is she? You be the judge. This book is a rich and compelling character study of a morally ambiguous anti-heroine combined with a taut thriller.

April


Outlander

Staff Pick Logo
Outlander Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780440212560
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dell - June 2nd, 1992

If you haven't read it or you've seen the show but haven't read the books- this is your time to pick it up. It's full of rugged Scottish charm, whirlwind romance, heartache, page turning adventure and well developed characters. You will fall in love with Claire, Jamie and the Scottish highlands, and you'll think of them every time you put it down. Truly a modern classic for a reason and one every book lover should pick up.


Caraval

Staff Pick Logo
Caraval Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250095251
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Flatiron Books - January 31st, 2017

Caraval is pure magic. Loved The Night Circus? You will fall in love with this book from the first page. I picked it up and couldn't put it down. The magic is dark, mysterious, and you never know what to expect. This book will enchant you, delight you, captivate you and keep you guessing. For any fans of magic, especially dark magic, this is the book for you.

April


Subscribe to RSS - April