October 2017

The Accusation

Staff Pick Logo
The Accusation: Forbidden Stories from Inside North Korea Cover Image
By Bandi, Deborah Smith (Translator)
$25.00
ISBN: 9780802126207
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Grove Press - March 7th, 2017

North Korea...It is time to take sobering stock. Bandi (a cover name) has risked everything to tell the world about it in these smuggled stories. He implores: Reader! I beg you to read my words. The gifted writing and politics of the day make it a must read.

Molly


Jonathan Swift: The Reluctant Rebel

Staff Pick Logo
Jonathan Swift: The Reluctant Rebel Cover Image
$39.95
ISBN: 9780393239423
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - February 28th, 2017

I only knew (or cared,really) of Jonathan Swift as the author of Gulliver's Travels - but John Stubbs work was recommended to me as a sterling example of the biographer's art. I found it a most pleasurable reading experience and an excellent life study.

Gary


There’s a Mystery There

Staff Pick Logo
There's a Mystery There: The Primal Vision of Maurice Sendak Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780385540438
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Doubleday Books - May 16th, 2017

Highly recommended for anyone interested in children's literature, illustration, or storytelling. In each chapter, Cott speaks with a different expert on Sendak's masterpiece Outside Over There, examining the book through different lenses. Cott did a number of interviews with Sendak and his quotes fill the pages. The result is readable, compelling, and inspiring. (Really, I stayed up late in bed reading because I couldn't put it down.)

 

Marika


Shattered: Inside Hillary Clinton's Doomed Campaign

Staff Pick Logo
Shattered: Inside Hillary Clinton's Doomed Campaign Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780553447088
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Crown Publishing Group (NY) - April 18th, 2017

There have been a number of autopsies on Hillary Clinton's failed bid for the presidency, but few have had the advantage of the inside access that was granted to Allen & Parnes. Shattered allows the reader to experience the blow-by-blow failures of Clinton's campaign that often got swept under the rug. As compared to Clinton's own book that hit shelves in September, Shattered gives an insider look into the campaign with the advantage of an outsider perspective.

Cissa


In the Distance

Staff Pick Logo
In the Distance Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781566894883
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Coffee House Press - October 10th, 2017

Through the story of Hakan, a Swedish immigrant to the United States in the mid 1800s, Diaz meditates on the nature of impersonal landscape, explores a life of isolation, and tours through some of characters that carved the identity of the American West. This is a strange and brilliant version of historical fiction, twisting the genre into something unique. For fans of Cormac McCarthy and  Eleanor Catton's Booker Prize winning novel The Luminaries.

Josh


Wild Beauty

Staff Pick Logo
Wild Beauty Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250124555
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Feiwel & Friends - October 3rd, 2017

McLemore has been longlisted for the National Book Award, and her latest does not disappoint. The Nomeolvides women have tended the lush estate La Pradera for almost a century, but have also hidden a tragic legacy: if they fall in love too deeply, their lovers vanish. But when a mysterious boy appears in the gardens, the sisters unearth secrets that lead them to question everything they know about La Pradera, and their own family. Haunting and beautifully written.

Rebecca


Trell

Staff Pick Logo
Trell Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780763692759
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Candlewick Press (MA) - September 12th, 2017

15-year-old Trell has grown up knowing her father didn't commit the murder he's in prison for, and now she has the chance to work with a lawyer and a reporter to prove his innocence. Written by a Boston Globe reporter and based on his work investigating a cold case, this is perfect for aspiring journalists and activists.

Sarah


And I Darken

Staff Pick Logo
And I Darken Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780553522341
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ember - May 30th, 2017

And I Darken is a historical reimagining of a female Vlad the Impaler trying to protect herself and her younger brother in a hostile foreign land rich with political intrigue and court drama. Lada is a complex, morally gray anti-heroine who fiercely fights for herself and her family and often turns to violence to suit her purposes. This is a dark, gritty and compelling book that will enthrall you and draw you into its world completely. Richly realized, this one is good for fans of Three Dark Crowns and Game of Thrones.

April


Sergeant Reckless

Staff Pick Logo
Sergeant Reckless: The True Story of the Little Horse Who Became a Hero Cover Image
By Patricia McCormick, Iacopo Bruno (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062292599
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Balzer & Bray/Harperteen - September 12th, 2017

A lively tale of the only non-human to officially hold military rank and be awarded two purple hearts for her heroic work in the Korean War. The fact that the brave little horse was totally motivated by her treats of chocolate, eggs, spaghetti and coffee adds levity to the serious demands humans put upon animals especially in times of war.  Important fact - she does survive to be honored and feted.

Susannah


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - October 2017