Translation

Translation as Transhumance

Staff Pick Logo
Translation as Transhumance Cover Image
By Mireille Gansel, Ros Schwartz (Translator)
$11.96
ISBN: 9781558614444
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Feminist Press - November 14th, 2017

Truly brilliant and beautiful work on the nature of translation and how powerful the ability to reach across languages can be. One of those rare books you wish you’d read years earlier. Highly recommended to writers (it changed how I think about American English), readers of works in translation, and readers in general looking to extend their horizons.

Josh


Judas

Staff Pick Logo
Judas Cover Image
By Amos Oz, Nicholas de Lange (Translator)
$25.00
ISBN: 9780544464049
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Houghton Mifflin - November 8th, 2016

This brilliant new novel by one of Israel's foremost writers and longtime left-wing political activists (often himself called a traitor) weaves together the stories of two "traitors" whose characterization as such, in Oz's telling, becomes much less clear: the biblical Judas, and a fictional early Zionist who was thrown out of the Zionist Congress because he advocated a unified Jewish-Arab state instead of what became modern Israel. The result is a nuanced story which manages to be full of ideas and philosophy while never being boring or pedantic.

David


Tell Me How it Ends

Staff Pick Logo
Tell Me How It Ends: An Essay in 40 Questions Cover Image
By Valeria Luiselli, Jon Lee Anderson (Introduction by)
$12.95
ISBN: 9781566894951
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Coffee House Press - April 4th, 2017

Luiselli introduces us to one of the forgotten figures and tragic heroes of contemporary America: the child who risked everything to come here. Through stories about specific children and consideration of our immigration system, Luiselli sheds light on what most of us would choose to ignore and gives new meaning to the question: Why are we here? Books like this are like dew on a spider web, revealing the often forgotten and sometimes ignored threads of humanity that connect us all.

Josh


In Praise of Defeat

Staff Pick Logo
In Praise of Defeat Cover Image
$20.00
ISBN: 9780914671596
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Archipelago Books - January 17th, 2017

This a powerful career spanning collection by a poet who was tortured and jailed for eight years for his political activism in Morocco. The poetry is dark and unsettling but also beautiful and uplifting. Laabi’s voice is one of proud, even exuberant defiance. This collection is a punch to jaw, but the kind of punch that lets you know you’re ready to fight.

Josh


Silence

Staff Pick Logo
Silence Cover Image
By Shusaku Endo, William Johnston (Translator), Martin Scorsese (Foreword by)
$16.00
ISBN: 9781250082244
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Picador USA - January 5th, 2016

Silence is one of those books that grabs your soul and squeezes. In it, Endo explores the depths of human spirituality and psychology, both in their strengths and utter weaknesses. Producing a different response every time I revisit it, this book deserves to be read and reread. I will continue to be moved by it for years to come.

Matthew


The Year 200

The Year 200 Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781632060518
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Restless Books - July 12th, 2016

Body-switching, cyborgs, political intrigue, the nature of humanity, the meaning of love, this classic of Cuban Sci-Fi, explores the nature of identity and society, while building a convincing and entertaining future world. A must for fans of Asimov and Heinlein.

Josh


Confession

Staff Pick Logo
A Confession Cover Image
$11.00
ISBN: 9780141042558
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - October 1st, 2009

Best known for his popular novels like Anna Karenina and War and Peace, later in life, Tolstoy experienced a profound existential and spiritual crisis causing him to renounce his fame and many of his past writings. Confession is his existential autobiography composed as Leo Tolstoy grappled with life's meaning.

Matt


Eve Out of Her Ruins

Staff Pick Logo
Eve Out of Her Ruins Cover Image
By Ananda Devi, Jeffrey Zuckerman (Translator), J. M. G. Le Clezio (Introduction by)
$14.95
ISBN: 9781941920404
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Deep Vellum Publishing - September 13th, 2016

Set in a poor section of Port-Louis, Mauritius, this prize-winning novel is a poetic and intense exploration of young lives thrown away by society. Told in four different voices and haunted by the specter of Rimbaud, Devi explores, the violence, identity, and dreams of young people living discarded lives. For fans of A Girl is a Half-Formed Thing and Jean Genet.

Josh


Bret Easton Ellis and the Other Dogs

Staff Pick Logo
Bret Easton Ellis and the Other Dogs Cover Image
By Lina Wolff, Frank Perry (Translator)
$15.95
ISBN: 9781908276643
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: And Other Stories - January 12th, 2016

With rich images and a wicked sense of humor, Bret Easton Ellis and the Other Dogs is a crooked grin of a book that embodies those strange fleeting thoughts that occasionally course through an insomniac's mind late at night. A sharp, dark, feminist exploration of identity, place, and art with the atmosphere, pace, and impact of a hot summer afternoon stroll through a minefield.

Josh

 


THE STORY OF MY TEETH

Staff Pick Logo
The Story of My Teeth Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781566894098
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Coffee House Press - September 15th, 2015

Written in collaboration with the workers at a Mexican juice factory, featuring a delightfully delusional auctioneer, bending styles, playing with references, and challenging the idea of translation, The Story of My Teeth is unlike anything you’ve ever read. With this brilliant, weird, zany second novel, Luiselli has solidified her place as one of the most interesting and imaginative minds putting words on paper today.

JOSH

 


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Translation