slideshow 1

Staff Picks

The Devil in the Marshal Sea

$15.95
ISBN-13: 9780544176676
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Mariner Books, 6/2014

Listed as one of the best crime novels of the year by The Guardian (UK), this is historical fiction at its best. So thoroughly researched and evocatively written you can feel and smell London - in particular the Marshalsea debtors' prison - of 1727. This rip roaring tale does not give us the sentimental Marshalsea of Dickens' Little Dorit but something entirely more brutal, corrupt and festering in its insidious detail. Any fans of David Liss' Benjamin Weaver series will love this.

Susannah V.


The Miniaturist

The Miniaturist (Hardcover)

$26.99
ISBN-13: 9780062306814
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ecco Press, 8/2014

A magical and haunting book about a young bride who is given a miniature model of her house that predicts the future. Set in a vividly-drawn Golden Age Holland and with writing so beautiful it will make you cry, this is a perfect book to transition out of beach reading.

MacKenzie


Neverhome

Neverhome (Hardcover)

$26.00
ISBN-13: 9780316370134
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Little, Brown and Company, 9/2014

I'm always impressed when author write as something very different from themselves, especially in first person narrative.  Like male actors who played Viola or Rosalind in Shakespeare's time, Hunt is a man writing as a woman who is pretending to be a man. The conceit is based on real history: hundreds of women who disguised themselves as men so they could fight in the Civil War.  The voice is lyrical, melodic and authentic. As a special bonus, we’ve arranged a dinner with the author on September 21.

David


Vanilla Ice Cream

Vanilla Ice Cream (Hardcover)

$16.99
ISBN-13: 9780763673772
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Candlewick, 8/2014

With quiet text and lovely illustrations, Bob Graham shows us life’s surprising connections.

Robin


The Fourteenth Goldfish

$16.99
ISBN-13: 9780375870644
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers, 8/2014

When Ellie's grandfather develops an anti-aging potion that turns him into a 13-year-old boy, she acquires a new housemate, plots the rescue of a prized jellyfish, and learns what it means to be a scientist.

Sarah


Brown Girl Dreaming

Brown Girl Dreaming (Hardcover)

$16.99
ISBN-13: 9780399252518
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Nancy Paulsen Books, 8/2014

Brown Girl Dreaming is SUCH a wonderful, atmospheric book. I really learned to value poetry as a means to create a nuanced world, rich with detail, yet spare in words. I wanted to stay with her and never leave because she has created a living, breathing childhood. Not to be missed.

Carol


I am the Weapon

I Am the Weapon (Paperback)

$10.00
ISBN-13: 9780316199674
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers, 5/2014

Boy Nobody doesn't have a name. He has an alias. He doesn't have a family. He has the Program. He doesn't have a dream. He has a mission. But when Boy is assigned to kill the mayor of New York City, something changes. As he gets closer to the mayor's family, he begins to wonder about his life before the Program...and the possibility of a normal future. But does he want the truth badly enough to sabotage the mission and risk the wrath of the Program? I Am the Weapon is a whip-smart, gripping, fast-paced thriller perfect for fans of Alex Rider and Maximum Ride."

Rebecca


The Misadventures of the Family Fletcher

$15.99
ISBN-13: 9780385376525
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Delacorte Books for Young Readers, 7/2014

Two dads, four brothers, and a fair bit of chaos keep the Fletcher family going. From school (Eli was excited about his gifted program until he got there) to crotchety neighbors (who have some good stories) to holidays (especially Halloween), join them for a busy year.

 

Sarah


Nightingales

$15.95
ISBN-13: 9780345451880
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Trade Paperbacks, 9/2005

Gill goes beyond a simple biography of Florence Nightingale to take in the whole extended family, part of the wealthy community of reformers that drove England in the 19th century. The story itself is great, but if you're a fan of detail, read to the end: the notes are almost better than the narrative.

Sarah


The Daughters of Mars

$16.00
ISBN-13: 9781476734620
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Washington Square Press, 5/2014
The Daughters of Mars is a moving, meaty story of two Australian sisters who volunteer as nurses during World War 1. I was enthralled from page one with its combo of plot, character and rich historical setting. The women travel from Australia to Egypt to Europe and back again and we see the changing, volatile world through their eyes. This book is a strong and satisfying read that I think lots of readers will love.

Marie


Ask the Passengers

Ask the Passengers (Hardcover)

$17.99
ISBN-13: 9780316194686
Availability: Available to Order
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers, 10/2012

Astrid desperately wants to confide in someone, but her parents aren't the sort of people who you can turn to when you might be falling in love. Instead she watches planes fly overhead and asks questions of the passengers: Did you guys know there's a wrong side and a right side? What do I do now? Why does everything come with a strict definition? Fans of John Green will love this complex novel about a girl struggling to break free from societal expectation.

Rebecca

The Pilot and the Little Prince

$18.99
ISBN-13: 9780374380694
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR), 5/2014

This is a perfect example of a picture book that is appropriate for older readers. Peter Sis tells the story of the life of Antoine de Saint-Exupery, both in extraordinary pictures, and text. Get comfortable and spend time with this incredibly interesting book about an incredibly interesting person. You won’t be sorry.

Carol


The Last Dragonslayer

$7.99
ISBN-13: 9780544104716
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graphia, 7/2013

Jennifer Strange, the no nonsense manager of Kazam employment agency for magicians, her burnt orange VW bug, and her pet quarkbeast (equal parts knife drawer, kitchen blender, and Labrador) have to find a way to save the last dragon of the Ununited Kingdoms from the prophesied last dragonslayer...which might just be Jennifer herself. Terry Pratchett and Douglas Adams for a younger set.

 

Mackenzie


Conversion

Conversion (Hardcover)

$18.99
ISBN-13: 9780399167775
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Putnam Juvenile, 7/2014

A compelling mystery that blends contemporary and historical fiction, Conversion draws from true events both recent and far past. Parallel stories of the Salem witch hysteria and a mysterious illness sweeping through high school senior Colleen's prestigious Catholic school combine to form an absorbing narrative that is chilling, satirical, and at times funny, keeping the reader second guessing what's really going on all the way through.

 

Katie


Elephant Company

$28.00
ISBN-13: 9781400069330
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House, 7/2014

‘Somewhere on the border of Burma and India...carved on a giant teak tree, are the words BANDOOLA BORN 1897, KILLED IN ACTION 1944.’ Billy Williams, the war hero known as Elephant Bill, said elephants  made him a better man. He loved and trained  them, worked beside them as they carried supplies, built bridges, and transported the sick through WW1 in Burma, and especially mourned Bandoola’s death as an old friend. ELEPHANT COMPANY  is an inspirational war epic; part history, part wildlife adventure, and part biography – all of it poignant and fascinating.

Megan



Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer