Staff Picks

Wild Beauty

Staff Pick Logo
Wild Beauty Cover Image
$14.39
ISBN: 9781250124555
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Feiwel & Friends - October 3rd, 2017

McLemore has been longlisted for the National Book Award, and her latest does not disappoint. The Nomeolvides women have tended the lush estate La Pradera for almost a century, but have also hidden a tragic legacy: if they fall in love too deeply, their lovers vanish. But when a mysterious boy appears in the gardens, the sisters unearth secrets that lead them to question everything they know about La Pradera, and their own family. Haunting and beautifully written.

Rebecca


Trell

Staff Pick Logo
Trell Cover Image
$14.39
ISBN: 9780763692759
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Candlewick Press (MA) - September 12th, 2017

15-year-old Trell has grown up knowing her father didn't commit the murder he's in prison for, and now she has the chance to work with a lawyer and a reporter to prove his innocence. Written by a Boston Globe reporter and based on his work investigating a cold case, this is perfect for aspiring journalists and activists.

Sarah


And I Darken

Staff Pick Logo
And I Darken Cover Image
$8.79
ISBN: 9780553522341
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ember - May 30th, 2017

And I Darken is a historical reimagining of a female Vlad the Impaler trying to protect herself and her younger brother in a hostile foreign land rich with political intrigue and court drama. Lada is a complex, morally gray anti-heroine who fiercely fights for herself and her family and often turns to violence to suit her purposes. This is a dark, gritty and compelling book that will enthrall you and draw you into its world completely. Richly realized, this one is good for fans of Three Dark Crowns and Game of Thrones.

April


Sergeant Reckless

Staff Pick Logo
Sergeant Reckless: The True Story of the Little Horse Who Became a Hero Cover Image
By Patricia McCormick, Iacopo Bruno (Illustrator)
$14.39
ISBN: 9780062292599
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Balzer & Bray/Harperteen - September 12th, 2017

A lively tale of the only non-human to officially hold military rank and be awarded two purple hearts for her heroic work in the Korean War. The fact that the brave little horse was totally motivated by her treats of chocolate, eggs, spaghetti and coffee adds levity to the serious demands humans put upon animals especially in times of war.  Important fact - she does survive to be honored and feted.

Susannah


On a Magical Do-Nothing Day

Staff Pick Logo
On a Magical Do-Nothing Day Cover Image
$14.39
ISBN: 9780062657602
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperCollins - September 12th, 2017

When a child is thrown out of the house by their mother, they have no choice but to explore. What starts off as a do-nothing day turns into everyday magic as they explore. The illustrations are full of depth, detail, and flashes of surprising color.

Marika


The Antlered Ship

Staff Pick Logo
The Antlered Ship Cover Image
By Dashka Slater, Terry Fan (Illustrator), Eric Fan (Illustrator)
$14.39
ISBN: 9781481451604
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Beach Lane Books - September 12th, 2017

Marco has many questions. When an Antlered ship arrives in the harbor, Marco wonders if a journey would bring him the answers he yearns for. Beautifully, wistfully illustrated, with plenty of adventure, this book is sure to satisfy. Even the slipcover feels weather-worn and salty!

Emily


Braiding Sweetgrass

Staff Pick Logo
Braiding Sweetgrass Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781571313560
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Milkweed Editions - September 1st, 2014

A customer recommended this book to me, and I'm so glad. It's a beautiful book and a gift that's meant to be shared. By the end you'll feel centered and like you've made a new friend in Robin Wall Kimmerer and many new friends in your environment. It's also a wonderful reprieve from politics, no matter your stance.

 

Heather


Waiting for the Biblioburro

Staff Pick Logo
Waiting for the Biblioburro Cover Image
By Monica Brown, John Parra (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781582463537
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tricycle Press - August 9th, 2011

Ana loves stories and books but has no school or library in her tiny Colombian town.  One day the Biblioburro arrives and changes her life.  This is the story of Luis Soriano Bohorquez who started the Biblioburro Foundation told through the eyes of one of its readers.  And honestly, who can resist a donkey especially when it's illustrated as beautifully as this and comes bearing books?

Susannah


Genuine Fraud

Staff Pick Logo
Genuine Fraud Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780385744775
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Delacorte Press - September 5th, 2017

Genuine Fraud is the YA psychological thriller we've all been waiting for. It is dark, twisty and impossible to predict and you'll want to pick it back up again as soon as you finish. Jule West-William is a chameleon, a fighter and a fraud- or is she? You be the judge. This book is a rich and compelling character study of a morally ambiguous anti-heroine combined with a taut thriller.

April


The Little Red Cat Who Ran Away and Learned His ABC’s (the Hard Way)

Staff Pick Logo
The Little Red Cat Who Ran Away and Learned His ABC's (the Hard Way) Cover Image
By Patrick McDonnell (Artist)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316502467
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - September 5th, 2017

This is Patrick McDonnell at his most charming. Chasing through the alphabet, can you guess the animal each letter represents? Luckily there is an answer key!

Robin


It Ain't So Awful, Falafel

Staff Pick Logo
It Ain't So Awful, Falafel Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781328740960
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Houghton Mifflin - August 15th, 2017

When Zomorod's parents move from Iran to California, she renames herself Cindy (like The Brady Bunch) and does her best to fit in. But it's 1979, and a group of Iranians has seized the US embassy. Zomorod has to figure out middle school and mood rings while dealing with neighbors who suddenly see her as an enemy.

Sarah


Her Right Foot

Staff Pick Logo
Her Right Foot Cover Image
By Dave Eggers, Shawn Harris (Artist)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781452162812
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Chronicle Books - September 19th, 2017

The Statue of Liberty is the beacon greeting those who arrive in New York. But what does she truly stand for? Zooming in for a look at her (enormous) right foot reveals a message of acceptance in this moving and inspiring look at the history and meaning of the Statue of Liberty.

Marika


Pages