Fiction

New World

Staff Pick Logo
New World: An Anthology of Sci-Fi and Fantasy Cover Image
By C. Spike Trotman (Editor)
$24.00
ISBN: 9780970873170
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Iron Circus Comics - April 18th, 2017

An exceptional sci-fi comics anthology about first contact, culture clash, and colonialism, from a small indie comics publisher, addressing issues of representation with uniquely fun anthologies. New Worlds is a standout, where new and established talents push the genre of science fiction to do what it does best: show us who we are and who we can aspire to be.

Alexander


Infomocracy

Staff Pick Logo
Infomocracy Cover Image
$12.79
ISBN: 9780765392367
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor.com - August 8th, 2017

National borders have been eliminated in favor of centenals, geographical groupings of every 100,000 citizens who vote every ten years. The corporate party Heritage holds the majority, but the system may be upended by idealistic Policy1st--or warmongering Liberty, a party playing on old nationalist tensions. I have never been so fascinated by the innards of a fictional election. Complex and compelling.

Rebecca


The Accusation

Staff Pick Logo
The Accusation: Forbidden Stories from Inside North Korea Cover Image
By Bandi, Deborah Smith (Translator)
$20.00
ISBN: 9780802126207
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Grove Press - March 7th, 2017

North Korea...It is time to take sobering stock. Bandi (a cover name) has risked everything to tell the world about it in these smuggled stories. He implores: Reader! I beg you to read my words. The gifted writing and politics of the day make it a must read.

Molly


In the Distance

Staff Pick Logo
In the Distance Cover Image
$13.56
ISBN: 9781566894883
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Coffee House Press - October 10th, 2017

Through the story of Hakan, a Swedish immigrant to the United States in the mid 1800s, Diaz meditates on the nature of impersonal landscape, explores a life of isolation, and tours through some of characters that carved the identity of the American West. This is a strange and brilliant version of historical fiction, twisting the genre into something unique. For fans of Cormac McCarthy and  Eleanor Catton's Booker Prize winning novel The Luminaries.

Josh


Wild Beauty

Staff Pick Logo
Wild Beauty Cover Image
$14.39
ISBN: 9781250124555
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Feiwel & Friends - October 3rd, 2017

McLemore has been longlisted for the National Book Award, and her latest does not disappoint. The Nomeolvides women have tended the lush estate La Pradera for almost a century, but have also hidden a tragic legacy: if they fall in love too deeply, their lovers vanish. But when a mysterious boy appears in the gardens, the sisters unearth secrets that lead them to question everything they know about La Pradera, and their own family. Haunting and beautifully written.

Rebecca


Trell

Staff Pick Logo
Trell Cover Image
$14.39
ISBN: 9780763692759
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Candlewick Press (MA) - September 12th, 2017

15-year-old Trell has grown up knowing her father didn't commit the murder he's in prison for, and now she has the chance to work with a lawyer and a reporter to prove his innocence. Written by a Boston Globe reporter and based on his work investigating a cold case, this is perfect for aspiring journalists and activists.

Sarah


And I Darken

Staff Pick Logo
And I Darken Cover Image
$8.79
ISBN: 9780553522341
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ember - May 30th, 2017

And I Darken is a historical reimagining of a female Vlad the Impaler trying to protect herself and her younger brother in a hostile foreign land rich with political intrigue and court drama. Lada is a complex, morally gray anti-heroine who fiercely fights for herself and her family and often turns to violence to suit her purposes. This is a dark, gritty and compelling book that will enthrall you and draw you into its world completely. Richly realized, this one is good for fans of Three Dark Crowns and Game of Thrones.

April


Genuine Fraud

Staff Pick Logo
Genuine Fraud Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780385744775
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Delacorte Press - September 5th, 2017

Genuine Fraud is the YA psychological thriller we've all been waiting for. It is dark, twisty and impossible to predict and you'll want to pick it back up again as soon as you finish. Jule West-William is a chameleon, a fighter and a fraud- or is she? You be the judge. This book is a rich and compelling character study of a morally ambiguous anti-heroine combined with a taut thriller.

April


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Fiction