The Accusation

Staff Pick Logo
The Accusation: Forbidden Stories from Inside North Korea Cover Image
By Bandi, Deborah Smith (Translator)
ISBN: 9780802126207
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Grove Press - March 7th, 2017

North Korea...It is time to take sobering stock. Bandi (a cover name) has risked everything to tell the world about it in these smuggled stories. He implores: Reader! I beg you to read my words. The gifted writing and politics of the day make it a must read.


In the Distance

Staff Pick Logo
In the Distance Cover Image
ISBN: 9781566894883
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Coffee House Press - October 10th, 2017

Through the story of Hakan, a Swedish immigrant to the United States in the mid 1800s, Diaz meditates on the nature of impersonal landscape, explores a life of isolation, and tours through some of characters that carved the identity of the American West. This is a strange and brilliant version of historical fiction, twisting the genre into something unique. For fans of Cormac McCarthy and  Eleanor Catton's Booker Prize winning novel The Luminaries.


Wild Beauty

Staff Pick Logo
Wild Beauty Cover Image
ISBN: 9781250124555
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Feiwel & Friends - October 3rd, 2017

McLemore has been longlisted for the National Book Award, and her latest does not disappoint. The Nomeolvides women have tended the lush estate La Pradera for almost a century, but have also hidden a tragic legacy: if they fall in love too deeply, their lovers vanish. But when a mysterious boy appears in the gardens, the sisters unearth secrets that lead them to question everything they know about La Pradera, and their own family. Haunting and beautifully written.



Staff Pick Logo
Trell Cover Image
ISBN: 9780763692759
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Candlewick Press (MA) - September 12th, 2017

15-year-old Trell has grown up knowing her father didn't commit the murder he's in prison for, and now she has the chance to work with a lawyer and a reporter to prove his innocence. Written by a Boston Globe reporter and based on his work investigating a cold case, this is perfect for aspiring journalists and activists.


And I Darken

Staff Pick Logo
And I Darken Cover Image
ISBN: 9780553522341
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ember - May 30th, 2017

And I Darken is a historical reimagining of a female Vlad the Impaler trying to protect herself and her younger brother in a hostile foreign land rich with political intrigue and court drama. Lada is a complex, morally gray anti-heroine who fiercely fights for herself and her family and often turns to violence to suit her purposes. This is a dark, gritty and compelling book that will enthrall you and draw you into its world completely. Richly realized, this one is good for fans of Three Dark Crowns and Game of Thrones.


Genuine Fraud

Staff Pick Logo
Genuine Fraud Cover Image
ISBN: 9780385744775
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Delacorte Press - September 5th, 2017

Genuine Fraud is the YA psychological thriller we've all been waiting for. It is dark, twisty and impossible to predict and you'll want to pick it back up again as soon as you finish. Jule West-William is a chameleon, a fighter and a fraud- or is she? You be the judge. This book is a rich and compelling character study of a morally ambiguous anti-heroine combined with a taut thriller.


It Ain't So Awful, Falafel

Staff Pick Logo
It Ain't So Awful, Falafel Cover Image
ISBN: 9781328740960
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Houghton Mifflin - August 15th, 2017

When Zomorod's parents move from Iran to California, she renames herself Cindy (like The Brady Bunch) and does her best to fit in. But it's 1979, and a group of Iranians has seized the US embassy. Zomorod has to figure out middle school and mood rings while dealing with neighbors who suddenly see her as an enemy.



Subscribe to RSS - Fiction