Middle Grade

Smashie McPerter and the Mystery of Room 11

Staff Pick Logo
Smashie McPerter and the Mystery of Room 11 Cover Image
By N. Griffin, Kate Hindley (Illustrator)
$15.99
ISBN: 9780763661458
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Candlewick Press (MA) - February 10th, 2015

What a fun book. The hamster is missing from the classroom so Smashie and her friend start investigating. Griffin’s depiction of Room 11, and her use of  humor and complicated vocabulary layer the story beautifully. Parents will love reading this to their kids.

Carol


The Boundless

Staff Pick Logo
The Boundless Cover Image
By Kenneth Oppel, Jim Tierney (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781442472884
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - April 22nd, 2014

Jump aboard the Boundless, a city on a train barreling across the Canadian wilderness, complete with a circus, a Sasquatch, a fiercely-guarded funeral car, and a conniving brakeman intent on getting into it. The only thing standing in his way--Will Everett, a young boy desperate for adventure. As he did in his masterful Airborn series, Kenneth Oppel yet again blends fantasy, history, and folklore to create this masterful, old-school adventure novel.

Mackenzie


Brown Girl Dreaming

Staff Pick Logo
Brown Girl Dreaming Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780399252518
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Nancy Paulsen Books - August 28th, 2014

Brown Girl Dreaming is SUCH a wonderful, atmospheric book. I really learned to value poetry as a means to create a nuanced world, rich with detail, yet spare in words. I wanted to stay with her and never leave because she has created a living, breathing childhood. Not to be missed.

Carol


Heap House

Staff Pick Logo
Heap House Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781468309539
Availability: Backordered
Published: Overlook Press - October 15th, 2014

Fantastically creepy and strange. Carey creates a darkly funny, clever and macabre tale of two misfit orphans each owned in different ways by Heap House, punctuated by gloomy Edward Gorey-style portraits of the house's many inhabitants. Perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket, Neil Gaiman and Roald Dahl.

Katie


The Perfect Place

Staff Pick Logo
The Perfect Place Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780547255194
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Clarion Books - November 4th, 2014

It can't be a coincidence that Great-Aunt Grace's initials spell GAG. Treasure knows it's the beginning of a disaster when her mother leaves her in Black Lake, Virginia for the summer. She'll be happy to move on as soon as her parents find a new place to live. But somehow, despite everything from Vacation Bible School catastrophes to cleaning every inch of GAG's candy store, Black Lake turns out to be hard to hate -- and it just might be the perfect place for Treasure's family after all.

Sarah


Vango

Staff Pick Logo
Vango: Between Sky and Earth Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780763671969
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Candlewick Press (MA) - October 14th, 2014

There is never a dull moment in this sprawling adventure story. From Vango’s mysterious early life of privilege to his young life on a deserted Aeolian island, to trips on a dirigible, back and forth around Europe, with Russians and the French Police and others in pursuit. This is a fresh, funny, amazingly ingenious and entertaining adventure that will keep readers glued to the pages

Carol


Brown Girl Dreaming

Staff Pick Logo
Brown Girl Dreaming Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780399252518
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Nancy Paulsen Books - August 28th, 2014

Brown Girl Dreaming is SUCH a wonderful, atmospheric book. I really learned to value poetry as a means to create a nuanced world, rich with detail, yet spare in words. I wanted to stay with her and never leave because she has created a living, breathing childhood. Not to be missed.

Carol


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Middle Grade