Rebecca

Fledgling

Staff Pick Logo
Fledgling Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9780446696166
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Warner Books (NY) - January 1st, 2007

When Shori wakes she is lost and suffering from major brain trauma. As she recovers, the memories that surface tell an incredible story: though Shori appears to be a child, she is actually a 53-year-old member of a vampiric race called Ina. Now Shori must wade headfirst into murky Ina politics and decide who to trust, for one thing is certain: one of her Ina brethren is responsible for the slaughter that left her helpless and stripped of memory. Hugo and Nebula award-winning author Octavia Butler's last novel is engrossing, lush and terribly unsettling.

Rebecca


When the Sea is Rising Red

Staff Pick Logo
When the Sea Is Rising Red Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781250050687
Availability: It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Info
Published: Square Fish - September 16th, 2014

When seventeen-year-old Felicita's dearest friend kills herself to escape an arranged marriage, Felicita vows that her fate will be different. After faking her own death, she runs from her sheltered life as one of the city's magical elite into the slums, where she brushes elbows with serf and vampire alike. But all is not right in Pelimburg, and soon Felicita must decide whether her loyalties lie with the family she abandoned...or with those who would destroy Pelimburg's caste system, and the whole city along with it. A weird, beautiful book for fans of Doctor Who's "The Vampires of Venice."

Rebecca


Far from You

Staff Pick Logo
Far from You Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781423184621
Availability: Backordered
Published: Disney Press - April 8th, 2014

Nine months ago Sophie finally got clean. Four months ago her best friend Mina was killed in what the police think was a drug deal gone wrong. Two days ago Sophie was released from involuntary rehab with one mission: find the person who really killed Mina before they get to her too. A complex love story wrapped up in a heart-pounding mystery, for fans of Ellen Hopkins or a darker John Green.

 

Rebecca


The Girls at the Kingfisher Club

Staff Pick Logo
The Girls at the Kingfisher Club Cover Image
$24.00
ISBN: 9781476739083
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Atria Books - June 3rd, 2014

The Twelve Dancing Princesses meets The Great Gatsby in this sumptuous fairy tale retelling set against the backdrop of Manhattan in the Roaring Twenties. Jazz is hot, alcohol is plentiful, and Jo "The General" Hamilton shepherds her eleven sisters between speakeasies by night and their prison of a house by day, always vigilant against their father's controlling hand... until disaster strikes. Cast out alone, the girls must fend for themselves for the first time, and learn, finally, how to be free. A deliciously unexpected re-envisioning of a classic tale.

Rebecca


I am the Weapon

Staff Pick Logo
I Am the Weapon Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780316199674
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - May 13th, 2014

Boy Nobody doesn't have a name. He has an alias. He doesn't have a family. He has the Program. He doesn't have a dream. He has a mission. But when Boy is assigned to kill the mayor of New York City, something changes. As he gets closer to the mayor's family, he begins to wonder about his life before the Program...and the possibility of a normal future. But does he want the truth badly enough to sabotage the mission and risk the wrath of the Program? I Am the Weapon is a whip-smart, gripping, fast-paced thriller perfect for fans of Alex Rider and Maximum Ride."

Rebecca


Ask the Passengers

Staff Pick Logo
Ask the Passengers Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316194686
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - October 23rd, 2012

Astrid desperately wants to confide in someone, but her parents aren't the sort of people who you can turn to when you might be falling in love. Instead she watches planes fly overhead and asks questions of the passengers: Did you guys know there's a wrong side and a right side? What do I do now? Why does everything come with a strict definition? Fans of John Green will love this complex novel about a girl struggling to break free from societal expectation.

Rebecca


Tell the Wolves I'm Home

Staff Pick Logo
Tell the Wolves I'm Home Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780812982855
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dial Press - June 4th, 2013

To June, her uncle Finn was everything: confidant, companion, godfather. When he dies far too young, her world is shattered. But when a strange man appears at Uncle Finn's funeral, June discovers that perhaps she didn't know her beloved uncle very well at all. An Alex award winner, Tell the Wolves I'm Home is a rich tale of family, love, grief, and the secrets we keep. I was utterly disappointed at the ending...but only because I didn't want it to be over.

Rebecca


The Eyre Affair

Staff Pick Logo
The Eyre Affair Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780142001806
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - February 25th, 2003

1985. Great Britain. Time travel is routine, the Crimean War has lasted over a century, and it is quite literally possible to get lost in a good book. When literary  detective Thursday Next gets the challenge of her career. A witty romp through time travel, cloning, England, and much of the Western canon.

Rebecca


Pointe

Staff Pick Logo
Pointe Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780399160349
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: G. P. Putnam's Sons - April 10th, 2014

Elite ballet dancer Theo has a secret, one she never thought she would have to reveal. But when her former best friend Donovan reappears four years after his abduction, Theo must decide whether to keep quiet about what she knows, or speak--and risk losing everything she's worked for.

 

Rebecca


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Rebecca