Sarah

Serving Victoria

Staff Pick Logo
Serving Victoria: Life in the Royal Household Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062269928
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Harper Perennial - April 22nd, 2014

From equerries and ladies-in-waiting to grooms and scullery maids, it took thousands of people to keep Queen Victoria's palaces running. Most kept quiet about royal secrets during Victoria's reign, but their letters and diaries reveal everything from the mundane to the scandalous.Sarah


Brazen

Staff Pick Logo
Brazen Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780670014019
Availability: It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Info
Published: Viking Children's Books - June 12th, 2014

Mary Howard is one of the minor figures at Henry VIII's court, married off to the king's illegitimate son as a pawn in the fight over who will inherit Henry's crown. Longshore imagines the details of Mary's life, from her loves to her friendships and her own role in the Tudor drama.

 

Sarah


The Misadventures of the Family Fletcher

Staff Pick Logo
The Misadventures of the Family Fletcher Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780385376525
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Delacorte Press Books for Young Readers - July 22nd, 2014

Two dads, four brothers, and a fair bit of chaos keep the Fletcher family going. From school (Eli was excited about his gifted program until he got there) to crotchety neighbors (who have some good stories) to holidays (especially Halloween), join them for a busy year.

 

Sarah


Nightingales

Staff Pick Logo
Nightingales: The Extraordinary Upbringing and Curious Life of Miss Florence Nightingale Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780345451880
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Random House Trade - September 13th, 2005

Gill goes beyond a simple biography of Florence Nightingale to take in the whole extended family, part of the wealthy community of reformers that drove England in the 19th century. The story itself is great, but if you're a fan of detail, read to the end: the notes are almost better than the narrative.

Sarah


Lost Art of Dress: The Women Who Once Made America Stylish

Staff Pick Logo
The Lost Art of Dress: The Women Who Once Made America Stylish Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9780465036714
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Basic Books (AZ) - April 29th, 2014

Even if you've never touched a sewing machine, you'll be planning a trip to the fabric store by the time you finish this history of American clothing. Dress isn't just a matter of fashion here: it's politics, domestic science, economics, and a barometer of women's roles in an evolving world.

Sarah


Emma Tupper's Diary

Staff Pick Logo
Emma Tupper's Diary Cover Image
$12.00
ISBN: 9781618730633
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Big Mouth House - March 4th, 2014

Emma spends the summer with her cousins in Scotland, where there are rumors of a monster living in the loch. Emma and her cousins decide to fake a monster of their own, in order to attract tourists -- and that's when things get complicated. Great for fans of Swallows and Amazons and Penderwicks!

 

Sarah


Crow

Staff Pick Logo
Crow Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780375873676
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Yearling Books - March 12th, 2013

Children and grandchildren of former slaves made their home in Wilmington, North Carolina, and 11-year-old Moses is happy there. But when the white residents start a riot and seize power, his privileged world falls apart.

Sarah


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Sarah