Sci Fi

Six Wakes

Staff Pick Logo
Six Wakes Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780316389686
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Orbit - January 31st, 2017

Six crew members wake into regenerated bodies after being murdered on a generation ship heading to a new planet. Their memories and logs from the last twenty-five years have been wiped, but they know this: One of them is the killer - and whoever it is may not even know it. This murder mystery is the literary equivalent of that scene in Butch Cassidy where he and Sundance leap off a cliff, swearing the whole way. A heart-pounding sci fi thriller.

Rebecca


Sleeping Giants

Staff Pick Logo
Sleeping Giants Cover Image
$12.80
ISBN: 9781101886717
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Del Rey Books - January 24th, 2017

Think Ridley Scott's Prometheus meets The Day The Earth Stood Still. Okay, so those are movies, but that's how incredibly real and scarily tangible this book is (and it will be adapted to film). I fell in head first, so will you, and if you pick it up today and finish it tonight, don't worry, the second installment is out in April!

Emily


Just One Damned Thing after Another

Staff Pick Logo
Just One Damned Thing After Another: The Chronicles of St. Mary's Book One Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781597808682
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Night Shade Books - June 7th, 2016

The first in a new series of the Chronicles of St Mary. I could dismiss this as "Connie Willis lite" but it's such wild engaging fun that the comparison doesn't matter.  A time traveling adventure full of mad brave historians, some romance and a few laughs thrown in; it deserves to be a huge hit and your new addiction.

Susannah


Scythe

Staff Pick Logo
Scythe Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781442472426
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - November 22nd, 2016

In a near-utopian future all natural causes of death have been solved, leaving Scythes to select who lives and dies...but there is dissension within the ranks. National Book Award winner Shusterman explores questions of mortality and justice in this enthralling science fiction tale.

Rebecca


Behind the Throne

Staff Pick Logo
Behind the Throne Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9780316308601
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Orbit - August 2nd, 2016

What if Han Solo were the heir to an empire? With two older sisters in line for the throne, gunrunner Hailimi Bristol never thought she would have to rule. But when Hailimi's sisters are murdered, the Indranan Empress sends trackers to drag her home. Now the unwilling heir, Hailimi must hunt down her sisters' killers before they catch her too. This Indian-inspired space opera thriller is cut-throat, fast-paced, and a whole lot of fun.

Rebecca


The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet

Staff Pick Logo
The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780062444134
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Voyager - July 5th, 2016

A delightful classic road trip novel, set in deep space. A ship that drills through wormholes takes on a new clerk -- and introduces her to the wonders of the outer universe. (Firefly fan? That, but solidly feminist, with a diverse cast of humans and aliens.)

Sarah


The Year 200

The Year 200 Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781632060518
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Restless Books - July 12th, 2016

Body-switching, cyborgs, political intrigue, the nature of humanity, the meaning of love, this classic of Cuban Sci-Fi, explores the nature of identity and society, while building a convincing and entertaining future world. A must for fans of Asimov and Heinlein.

Josh


Just One Damned Thing after Another

Staff Pick Logo
Just One Damned Thing After Another: The Chronicles of St. Mary's Book One Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781597808682
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Night Shade Books - June 7th, 2016

The first in a new series of the Chronicles of St Mary. I could dismiss this as "Connie Willis lite" but it's such wild engaging fun that the comparison doesn't matter.  A time traveling adventure full of mad brave historians, some romance and a few laughs thrown in; it deserves to be a huge hit and your new addiction.

Sequel coming soon.

Susannah


City of Blades

Staff Pick Logo
City of Blades Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780553419719
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Broadway Books - January 26th, 2016

General Turyin Mulaghesh wants nothing more than a quiet retirement, but her superiors have other plans. Tasked with finding a missing secret agent in a crumbling ex-divine city, Mulaghesh is quickly entangled in local politics, a bloody insurgency, and the faintest whisper of the goddess of death. This magnificent sequel to City of Stairs stands excellently on its own, but will not disappoint readers of the first installment.

Rebecca


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Sci Fi