Sci Fi

Just One Damned Thing after Another

Staff Pick Logo
Just One Damned Thing After Another: The Chronicles of St. Mary's Book One Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781597808682
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Night Shade Books - June 7th, 2016

The first in a new series of the Chronicles of St Mary. I could dismiss this as "Connie Willis lite" but it's such wild engaging fun that the comparison doesn't matter.  A time traveling adventure full of mad brave historians, some romance and a few laughs thrown in; it deserves to be a huge hit and your new addiction.

Susannah


Scythe

Staff Pick Logo
Scythe Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781442472426
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - November 22nd, 2016

In a near-utopian future all natural causes of death have been solved, leaving Scythes to select who lives and dies...but there is dissension within the ranks. National Book Award winner Shusterman explores questions of mortality and justice in this enthralling science fiction tale.

Rebecca


Behind the Throne

Staff Pick Logo
Behind the Throne Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9780316308601
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Orbit - August 2nd, 2016

What if Han Solo were the heir to an empire? With two older sisters in line for the throne, gunrunner Hailimi Bristol never thought she would have to rule. But when Hailimi's sisters are murdered, the Indranan Empress sends trackers to drag her home. Now the unwilling heir, Hailimi must hunt down her sisters' killers before they catch her too. This Indian-inspired space opera thriller is cut-throat, fast-paced, and a whole lot of fun.

Rebecca


The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet

Staff Pick Logo
The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062444134
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Voyager - July 5th, 2016

A delightful classic road trip novel, set in deep space. A ship that drills through wormholes takes on a new clerk -- and introduces her to the wonders of the outer universe. (Firefly fan? That, but solidly feminist, with a diverse cast of humans and aliens.)

Sarah


The Year 200

The Year 200 Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781632060518
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Restless Books - July 12th, 2016

Body-switching, cyborgs, political intrigue, the nature of humanity, the meaning of love, this classic of Cuban Sci-Fi, explores the nature of identity and society, while building a convincing and entertaining future world. A must for fans of Asimov and Heinlein.

Josh


Just One Damned Thing after Another

Staff Pick Logo
Just One Damned Thing After Another: The Chronicles of St. Mary's Book One Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781597808682
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Night Shade Books - June 7th, 2016

The first in a new series of the Chronicles of St Mary. I could dismiss this as "Connie Willis lite" but it's such wild engaging fun that the comparison doesn't matter.  A time traveling adventure full of mad brave historians, some romance and a few laughs thrown in; it deserves to be a huge hit and your new addiction.

Sequel coming soon.

Susannah


City of Blades

Staff Pick Logo
City of Blades Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780553419719
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Broadway Books - January 26th, 2016

General Turyin Mulaghesh wants nothing more than a quiet retirement, but her superiors have other plans. Tasked with finding a missing secret agent in a crumbling ex-divine city, Mulaghesh is quickly entangled in local politics, a bloody insurgency, and the faintest whisper of the goddess of death. This magnificent sequel to City of Stairs stands excellently on its own, but will not disappoint readers of the first installment.

Rebecca


Star Wars Lost Stars

Staff Pick Logo
Journey to Star Wars: The Force Awakens Lost Stars Cover Image
By Claudia Gray, Phil Noto (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781484724989
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Disney Lucasfilm Press - September 4th, 2015

A love story between a rebel and an Imperial officer, both of whom have their beliefs and loyalties tested time and time again. This book is chock full of complicated characters wrestling with moral ambiguity. A fascinating look at life for normal people living in the Star Wars universe.

Shana


Prudence

Staff Pick Logo
Prudence Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9780316212250
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Orbit - February 2nd, 2016

A group of young Brits head to India in search of (what else) tea. But they’re in for quite an adventure, one involving werewolves, vampires, and even politics. A thoroughly enjoyable Steampunk romp! Grab some iced tea and nibbles and soak up some sunshine as you escape.

 

Marika

 


Every Heart a Doorway

We've all read the fairy tales... a young child goes through a wardrobe or falls down a rabbit hole and shows up somewhere else. Seanan McGuire asks the question: what comes next? How does this incredibly diverse group used to living in magical worlds cope with being forced back into the mundane one? And then, of course, people start dying. With McGuire's signature brilliant worldbuilding and beautiful writing, this might be my new favorite book.

Every Heart a Doorway Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780765385505
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor.com - April 5th, 2016

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Sci Fi