Sci Fi

City of Stairs

Staff Pick Logo
City of Stairs Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780804137171
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Broadway Books - September 9th, 2014

Bulikov once wielded the powers of the Gods to conquer the world. But when its divine protectors were mysteriously killed, the city fell into decay, conquered by those it once dominated. Now a lowly colonial outpost, Bulikov falls under scrutiny when Shara Divani, spymaster, arrives to investigate the murder of a seemingly harmless historian. As Shara pursues this mystery, she begins to suspect that the beings who once protected Bulikov may not be as dead as they seem. A rich, densely packed fantasy which explores questions of colonization, faith, and the meaning of history.

Rebecca


Ancillary Justice

Staff Pick Logo
Ancillary Justice Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780316246620
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Orbit - October 1st, 2013

Artificial intelligence meets human vengeance. Once Justice of Toren, a ship responsible for the lives of thousands, the soldier Breq is confined by treachery to one human body and one human mission: revenge on the ruler of the Radch empire. This debut novel swept the Hugo, Nebula, Arthur C. Clarke, and Locus awards. For fans of innovative, mind-bending science fiction.

Rebecca


Fledgling

Staff Pick Logo
Fledgling Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9780446696166
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Warner Books (NY) - January 1st, 2007

When Shori wakes she is lost and suffering from major brain trauma. As she recovers, the memories that surface tell an incredible story: though Shori appears to be a child, she is actually a 53-year-old member of a vampiric race called Ina. Now Shori must wade headfirst into murky Ina politics and decide who to trust, for one thing is certain: one of her Ina brethren is responsible for the slaughter that left her helpless and stripped of memory. Hugo and Nebula award-winning author Octavia Butler's last novel is engrossing, lush and terribly unsettling.

Rebecca


I am the Weapon

Staff Pick Logo
I Am the Weapon Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780316199674
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - May 13th, 2014

Boy Nobody doesn't have a name. He has an alias. He doesn't have a family. He has the Program. He doesn't have a dream. He has a mission. But when Boy is assigned to kill the mayor of New York City, something changes. As he gets closer to the mayor's family, he begins to wonder about his life before the Program...and the possibility of a normal future. But does he want the truth badly enough to sabotage the mission and risk the wrath of the Program? I Am the Weapon is a whip-smart, gripping, fast-paced thriller perfect for fans of Alex Rider and Maximum Ride."

Rebecca


California

Staff Pick Logo
California Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780316250818
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Little Brown and Company - July 8th, 2014

In a not so distant future, young married couple Frida and Cal have fled a ruined Los Angeles and built a fragile new life on their own in the wilderness, content with only each other until Frida discovers she is pregnant. Their sudden reentry into community forces Cal and Frida to reexamine their ideas about themselves, each other, and the strength of their principles when their unborn child's safety is at stake. California is a gripping read and the future that Lepucki imagines seems frighteningly plausible and close at hand.

Katie


Vicious

Staff Pick Logo
Vicious Cover Image
$39.99
ISBN: 9780765335340
Availability: It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Info
Published: Tor Books - September 24th, 2013

Roommates turned rivals Eli Ever, the regenerating man, and Victor Vale, who controls pain in himself and others, extract their revenge on each other in this gritty, comic book-esque urban fantasy with no superheroes—just super villains. It’s like X-Men, but with more moral ambiguity. MacKenzie


Tin Star

Staff Pick Logo
Tin Star Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781596437753
Availability: It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Info
Published: Roaring Brook Press - February 25th, 2014

Being beaten up and kicked off the spaceship by the head of your colony is bad enough. But now Tula's stuck on a space station out in the galactic boondocks. As a human, she's only a minor species there, practically below notice. She knows how to survive, and that means she's ready to take her revenge.

Sarah


Red Rising

Staff Pick Logo
Red Rising: Book 1 of the Red Rising Saga Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9780345539786
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Del Rey Books - January 28th, 2014

Finally something creative and unexpected in the overdone dystopian genre, Red Rising is a cross between dystopian, science fiction and epic war fantasy that packs a punch. Some parallels to The Hunger Games are there, but this book stands alone - darker, more intense, more emotional and ambitious. I couldn't put it down.

Katie


What Makes This Books So Great

Staff Pick Logo
What Makes This Book So Great Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780765331939
Availability: It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Info
Published: Tor Books - January 21st, 2014

What Makes This Book So Great collects Jo Walton's Tor.com blog posts written between 2008 and 2011. In each entry she lovingly revisits a favorite science fiction or fantasy title that has fallen out of the public eye. In these pages you will discover both Jo Walton's enchanting style (even and especially when she writes about books you've never heard of) and a treasure trove of classic titles you will immediately need to add to your to-read list.

Rebecca


The Martian

Staff Pick Logo
The Martian Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780804139021
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Crown Publishing Group (NY) - February 11th, 2014

Looking for a man who's smart, funny, and not bad at growing potatoes in a crisis? Look inside. If there's anyone who's perfect for getting stuck on Mars by himself, it's Mark Watney. His wry humor and engineers-can-fix-anything approach to survival drive this interplanetary Robinson Crusoe. (Also, Josh approved.)

Sarah


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Sci Fi