Young Adult

And I Darken

Staff Pick Logo
And I Darken Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780553522341
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ember - May 30th, 2017

And I Darken is a historical reimagining of a female Vlad the Impaler trying to protect herself and her younger brother in a hostile foreign land rich with political intrigue and court drama. Lada is a complex, morally gray anti-heroine who fiercely fights for herself and her family and often turns to violence to suit her purposes. This is a dark, gritty and compelling book that will enthrall you and draw you into its world completely. Richly realized, this one is good for fans of Three Dark Crowns and Game of Thrones.

April


Genuine Fraud

Staff Pick Logo
Genuine Fraud Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780385744775
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Delacorte Press - September 5th, 2017

Genuine Fraud is the YA psychological thriller we've all been waiting for. It is dark, twisty and impossible to predict and you'll want to pick it back up again as soon as you finish. Jule West-William is a chameleon, a fighter and a fraud- or is she? You be the judge. This book is a rich and compelling character study of a morally ambiguous anti-heroine combined with a taut thriller.

April


A Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue: Audio

The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and VirtueGet ready to swoon over this book. A Gentleman’s Guide to Love and Murder meets Sorcery and Cecelia in this delicious historical romp. Monty and Percy, BFFs since forever, and, Monty hopes, maybe something more, are headed off on their grand tour. Despite severe prohibitions of alcohol, sex, and other vices, Monty is determined to have a decadent time.

Ramona Blue

Staff Pick Logo
Ramona Blue Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062418357
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Balzer & Bray/Harperteen - May 9th, 2017

Ever since Hurricane Katrina, it's been Ramona and her family against the world. But when her sister Hattie gets pregnant, Ramona knows that her dream of getting out of her small town is slipping away. The return of childhood friend Freddie provides a welcome distraction, but as Ramona's feelings for Freddie grow, she begins to question whether her identity as an out-and-proud lesbian fits as well as it once did. A nuanced exploration of poverty, sexuality, family, and joy.

Rebecca


Caraval

Staff Pick Logo
Caraval Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250095251
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Flatiron Books - January 31st, 2017

Caraval is pure magic. Loved The Night Circus? You will fall in love with this book from the first page. I picked it up and couldn't put it down. The magic is dark, mysterious, and you never know what to expect. This book will enchant you, delight you, captivate you and keep you guessing. For any fans of magic, especially dark magic, this is the book for you.

April


The Pearl Thief

Staff Pick Logo
The Pearl Thief Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781484717165
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Disney-Hyperion - May 2nd, 2017

The author of Code Name Verity (the BEST book I read in 2012!) returns with a prequel companion novel featuring Julie Beaufort-Stuart at the age of fifteen, a crumbling estate, a mysterious disappearance, and a fortune in missing pearls. Superb historical fiction from one of the best.

Rebecca


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Young Adult