Essays

The Hour Of Land

Staff Pick Logo
The Hour of Land: A Personal Topography of America's National Parks Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781250132147
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Picador USA - July 3rd, 2017

Tempest Williams is one of my favorite writers (and a fellow Utahn!), and she's at her finest in this collection of essays on America's National Parks. They are personal and political, informative and immediate, a reflection on our messy relationship with wild spaces that's by turns heartbreaking and uplifting. If you're looking for a book to inspire you to get outside this summer, this is the one!


A Twenty Minute Silence Followed by Applause

Staff Pick Logo
A Twenty Minute Silence Followed by Applause Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781941411483
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Sarabande Books - July 11th, 2017

I’m going to say something and you’ll think I’m making this up by I assure you I’m not. Ready? If you read this book you will be moved by descriptions of Marcel Marceau’s acts. Part meditation, part lyrical interpretation, part biography, Wan’s extended consideration of the world’s greatest mime is beautiful weird, like a photograph of a really leggy insect on a sharply outlined twig against a crisp woodland backdrop.


Guidebook to Relative Strangers

Staff Pick Logo
Guidebook to Relative Strangers: Journeys Into Race, Motherhood, and History Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9780393253757
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - June 13th, 2017

An absolutely brilliant essay collection covering race, motherhood, career, travel, and more. I don't usually take the time to appreciate individual lines in a book, but the sentences here had me stopping to savor each one.


Calamities

Staff Pick Logo
Calamities Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781940696270
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Wave Books - September 6th, 2016

Gladman is one of our most exciting and innovative writers, stretching the boundaries of every genre and style she attempts. Calamities is a collection of short essays about everything from navigating the trivialities of daily life to the very nature of narrative and writing.  

Josh


Against Everything

Staff Pick Logo
Against Everything: Essays Cover Image
$28.95
ISBN: 9781101871157
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Pantheon Books - September 6th, 2016

I seldom encounter academic cultural criticism. If the purpose of cultural criticism is inform/outrage/irritate/excite us, and academia's function too often seems to bewilder one with jargon, the two are uneasily conflated. Greif resists such a division, and his essays give us the rare treat of clear writing--a sign of clear thinking--probing deeply into issues about which there is much talk, but rarely enough thought. Clever, articulate, and insightful: the kind of voice you wish appeared in every social conversation.

Matthew


THE ART OF FLIGHT

Staff Pick Logo
The Art of Flight Cover Image
By Sergio Pitol, George Henson (Translator), Enrique Vila-Matas (Introduction by)
$15.95
ISBN: 9781941920060
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Deep Vellum Publishing - March 17th, 2015

A meditation on travel, literature, writing, politics and culture, The Art of Flight is the long overdue introduction of one of the great living Mexican writers to American readers. Part memoir, part travelogue, part something else, this book is a must for writers and others interested in creativity or thoughtful considerations of ways of being. Also great for fans of The Empathy Exams, The Argonauts, and, oddly, Knaussgaard's My Struggle.

Josh

 


THIS IS THE STORY OF A HAPPY MARRIAGE

Staff Pick Logo
This Is the Story of a Happy Marriage Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780062236685
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Perennial - October 7th, 2014

An incisive collection of essays from the acclaimed author of Bel Canto. Seemingly disparate pieces come together in a nuanced exploration of the reading, writing, and empathetic life. Read for inspiration, reflection, and Patchett's luminous prose.

Rebecca


The Empathy Exams

Staff Pick Logo
The Empathy Exams: Essays Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781555976712
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graywolf Press - April 1st, 2014

Jamison asks one question over and over in The Empathy Exams. She asks it of young doctors, ultrarunners, John Agee, Joan Didion, a man who punched her, a man in jail, a woman who believes fibers grow out of her skin. She asks them all, herself, and you: how can we be people with each other? Through her brilliant essays, equal parts head and heart, she leads us closer to answering her own impossible question.

Josh


White Girls

Staff Pick Logo
White Girls Cover Image
$24.00
ISBN: 9781936365814
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: McSweeney's - November 12th, 2013

Intrigued by the description, I borrowed this from the library. Als’ essays tear right through you. Intelligent, honest, and unflinching explorations of love, race, music, culture, and literature. I thought immediately of James Baldwin, Joan Didion, and Hunter S. Thompson. (Imagine that dinner party.) It’s the first essay collection I’ve ever been compelled to charge through cover to cover. I returned the library copy  and bought my own.  

Josh


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Essays