Essays

Calamities

Staff Pick Logo
Calamities Cover Image
$14.40
ISBN: 9781940696270
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Wave Books - September 6th, 2016

Gladman is one of our most exciting and innovative writers, stretching the boundaries of every genre and style she attempts. Calamities is a collection of short essays about everything from navigating the trivialities of daily life to the very nature of narrative and writing.  

Josh


Against Everything

Staff Pick Logo
Against Everything: Essays Cover Image
$28.95
ISBN: 9781101871157
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Pantheon Books - September 6th, 2016

I seldom encounter academic cultural criticism. If the purpose of cultural criticism is inform/outrage/irritate/excite us, and academia's function too often seems to bewilder one with jargon, the two are uneasily conflated. Greif resists such a division, and his essays give us the rare treat of clear writing--a sign of clear thinking--probing deeply into issues about which there is much talk, but rarely enough thought. Clever, articulate, and insightful: the kind of voice you wish appeared in every social conversation.

Matthew


THE ART OF FLIGHT

Staff Pick Logo
The Art of Flight Cover Image
By Sergio Pitol, George Henson (Translator), Enrique Vila-Matas (Introduction by)
$15.95
ISBN: 9781941920060
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Deep Vellum Publishing - March 17th, 2015

A meditation on travel, literature, writing, politics and culture, The Art of Flight is the long overdue introduction of one of the great living Mexican writers to American readers. Part memoir, part travelogue, part something else, this book is a must for writers and others interested in creativity or thoughtful considerations of ways of being. Also great for fans of The Empathy Exams, The Argonauts, and, oddly, Knaussgaard's My Struggle.

Josh

 


THIS IS THE STORY OF A HAPPY MARRIAGE

Staff Pick Logo
This Is the Story of a Happy Marriage Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780062236685
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Harper Perennial - October 7th, 2014

An incisive collection of essays from the acclaimed author of Bel Canto. Seemingly disparate pieces come together in a nuanced exploration of the reading, writing, and empathetic life. Read for inspiration, reflection, and Patchett's luminous prose.

Rebecca


The Empathy Exams

Staff Pick Logo
The Empathy Exams: Essays Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781555976712
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graywolf Press - April 1st, 2014

Jamison asks one question over and over in The Empathy Exams. She asks it of young doctors, ultrarunners, John Agee, Joan Didion, a man who punched her, a man in jail, a woman who believes fibers grow out of her skin. She asks them all, herself, and you: how can we be people with each other? Through her brilliant essays, equal parts head and heart, she leads us closer to answering her own impossible question.

Josh


White Girls

Staff Pick Logo
White Girls Cover Image
$24.00
ISBN: 9781936365814
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: McSweeney's - November 12th, 2013

Intrigued by the description, I borrowed this from the library. Als’ essays tear right through you. Intelligent, honest, and unflinching explorations of love, race, music, culture, and literature. I thought immediately of James Baldwin, Joan Didion, and Hunter S. Thompson. (Imagine that dinner party.) It’s the first essay collection I’ve ever been compelled to charge through cover to cover. I returned the library copy  and bought my own.  

Josh


Deadline Artists

Staff Pick Logo
Deadline Artists: America's Greatest Newspaper Columns Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781468300543
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Overlook Press - September 25th, 2012

This collection brings together some of the best newspaper columns from the last 150 years, from famous names like H.L. Mencken and Dave Barry to brilliant unknowns who understand the power of a well-written sentence.

Sarah


E.B. White on Dogs

Staff Pick Logo
E.B. White on Dogs Cover Image
By Martha White (Editor)
$24.95
ISBN: 9780884483410
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Tilbury House Publishers - March 25th, 2013

Can you imagine a better combination; dogs, and E.B. White’s writings about them? Essays from Harper’s Magazine and The New Yorker, poems, and personal letters make up this delightful collection. Each piece contains White’s gentle humor, distinctive style and his unquestioning love of dogs.

Robin


Both Flesh and Not

Staff Pick Logo
Both Flesh and Not Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780316182379
Availability: It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Info
Published: Little Brown and Company - November 6th, 2012

Presenting a range of previously uncollected essays, this book truly shows David Foster Wallace’s range as a writer and thinker. From pop culture looks at tennis and Terminator 2, to thoughts on math and words, to one of the most thorough critical explorations of David Markson’s seminal and challenging Wittgenstein’s Mistress, Both Flesh and Not, is more proof of Wallace’s expansive brilliance. And the pages between essays are filled with words from Wallace’s personal dictionary, the list of words and definitions he kept over the course of his life. Worth the price of admission right there.


Josh


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Essays