Fantasy

Princess Bride Deluxe Edition

Staff Pick Logo
The Princess Bride: S. Morgenstern's Classic Tale of True Love and High Adventure Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781328948854
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Houghton Mifflin - October 10th, 2017

If you love the movie and you haven't read the book, buy it. If you haven't seen the movie, buy the book, read it and then see the movie. If you have read the book and love the movie, then buy it and give it to someone else who has not yet been initiated. If you've never heard of The Princess Bride . . . well, that's just inconceivable.

 

David


Into the Drowning Deep

Staff Pick Logo
Into the Drowning Deep Cover Image
$20.80
ISBN: 9780316379403
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Orbit - November 14th, 2017

The mermaids in this book are sea creatures from the depths of the Mariana Trench, and they do not want to be a part of your world. They just want to eat the ship full of scientists that have come to their territory seeking answers. Mira Grant masterfully brings to life (and, in many cases, death) a diverse cast of scientists and mermaids in this extremely well-researched, science fiction/horror take on mermaids. Read if you want to be terrified of the sea forever.

Shana


In Other Lands

Staff Pick Logo
In Other Lands Cover Image
By Sarah Rees Brennan, Carolyn Nowak (Illustrator)
$19.95
ISBN: 9781618731203
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Big Mouth House - August 15th, 2017

Prepare to have every fantasy trope you know turned on its head. Elliot Schafer goes to school in the magical Borderlands and questions everything from his sexuality to the status quo. He's a pacifist in a culture that glorifies violence, and he's ready to change the world before he graduates. This is a hilarious story about friendship, growing up, and what one can do if they're smart, determined, and just a little bit obnoxious.

Shana


The Witch Boy

Staff Pick Logo
The Witch Boy Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781338089516
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graphix - October 31st, 2017

This dazzling coming of age graphic novel explores the bravery needed to express your identity and the strength needed to convince others of its' validity. Filled with magic, unexpected friendship, and the monstrous, Ostertag has created a contemporary fantasy for anyone who's struggled with defining their-self.

Marika


The Wicked + the Divine Volume 1

Staff Pick Logo
The Wicked + the Divine Volume 1: The Faust ACT Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781632150196
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Image Comics - November 25th, 2014

Every ninety years, 12 humans are granted the powers of a god and the fame of a pop star, but only for two years, and then they die. Lucifer is accused of murder, but she might be innocent. It's up to fangirl Laura Wilson and skeptical reporter Cassandra Igarashi to find out the truth. Mystery, romance, humor, great art, poor life choices, this series has it all. It's a wild ride from start to finish, and I couldn't put it down.

Shana


Wild Beauty

Staff Pick Logo
Wild Beauty Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250124555
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Feiwel & Friends - October 3rd, 2017

McLemore has been longlisted for the National Book Award, and her latest does not disappoint. The Nomeolvides women have tended the lush estate La Pradera for almost a century, but have also hidden a tragic legacy: if they fall in love too deeply, their lovers vanish. But when a mysterious boy appears in the gardens, the sisters unearth secrets that lead them to question everything they know about La Pradera, and their own family. Haunting and beautifully written.

Rebecca


And I Darken

Staff Pick Logo
And I Darken Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780553522341
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ember - May 30th, 2017

And I Darken is a historical reimagining of a female Vlad the Impaler trying to protect herself and her younger brother in a hostile foreign land rich with political intrigue and court drama. Lada is a complex, morally gray anti-heroine who fiercely fights for herself and her family and often turns to violence to suit her purposes. This is a dark, gritty and compelling book that will enthrall you and draw you into its world completely. Richly realized, this one is good for fans of Three Dark Crowns and Game of Thrones.

April


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Fantasy