Search the Dark: An Inspector Ian Rutledge Mystery (Ian Rutledge Mysteries #3) (Mass Market)

Search the Dark: An Inspector Ian Rutledge Mystery (Ian Rutledge Mysteries #3) Cover Image
List Price: $8.99
Our Price: $7.99
(Save: $1.00 11%)
Available at Warehouse

Other Books in Series

This is book number 3 in the Ian Rutledge Mysteries series.


The introspective hero of Wings of Fire and A Test of Wills (Edgar Award nominee) returns in Search the Dark, a provocative new mystery by Charles Todd.

Inspector Ian Rutledge, haunted by memories of World War I and the harrowing presence of Hamish, a dead soldier, is "a superb characterization of a man whose wounds have made him a stranger in his own land." (The New York Times Book Review)

A dead woman and two missing children bring Inspector Rutledge to the lovely Dorset town of Singleton Magna, where the truth lies buried with the dead. A tormented veteran whose family died in an enemy bombing is the chief suspect. Dubious, Rutledge presses on to find the real killer. And when another body is found in the rich Dorset earth, his quest reaches into the secret lives of villagers and Londoners whose privileged positions and private passions give them every reason to thwart him. Someone is protecting a murderer. And two children are out there, somewhere, in the dark....

About the Author

Charles Todd lives on America's East Coast, but he knows England well. Intrigued by puzzles in the human spirit, he is the author of the critically acclaimed Inspector Ian Rutledge series, including A Test of Wills, Wings of Fire, and Search the Dark.

Praise For…

“Todd's Ian Rutledge mysteries are among the most intelligent and affective being written these days.” —The Washington Post Book World

“Evocative...An absorbing mystery.” —The Orlando Sentinel

“[A] profound and insightful rendering of a Britain between the wars.” —The Hartford Courant

Product Details
ISBN: 9780312971281
ISBN-10: 0312971281
Publisher: St. Martin's Paperbacks
Publication Date: May 15th, 2000
Pages: 320
Language: English
Series: Ian Rutledge Mysteries