Girl, Interrupted (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
Girl, Interrupted Cover Image
$16.00
On Our Shelves Now
2 on hand, as of Sep 19 1:04pm
(800 BIOGRAPHY)

Staff Reviews


 

In this memoir, Susanna Kaysen bravely welcomes us into the raw, honest, and occasionally comedic reality of staying at an in patient psychiatric hospital. This is a work of art and an absolute classic- perfect for fans of Ned Vizzini and Sylvia Plath.

Hannah

— From Girl, Interrupted

Description


In 1967, after a session with a psychiatrist she'd never seen before, eighteen-year-old Susanna Kaysen was put in a taxi and sent to McLean Hospital. She spent most of the next two years in the ward for teenage girls in a psychiatric hospital as renowned for its famous clientele—Sylvia Plath, Robert Lowell, James Taylor, and Ray Charles—as for its progressive methods of treating those who could afford its sanctuary.

Kaysen's memoir encompasses horror and razor-edged perception while providing vivid portraits of her fellow patients and their keepers. It is a brilliant evocation of a "parallel universe" set within the kaleidoscopically shifting landscape of the late sixties. Girl, Interrupted is a clear-sighted, unflinching document that gives lasting and specific dimension to our definitions of sane and insane, mental illness and recovery.

About the Author


Susanna Kaysen has written the novels Asa, As I Knew Him and Far Afield and the memoirs Girl, Interrupted and The Camera My Mother Gave Me. She lives in Cambridge, Massachusetts.

Praise For…


"Poignant, honest and triumphantly funny. . . [a] compelling and heartbreaking story." --Susan Cheever, The New York Times Book Review

"Tough-minded . . . darkly comic . . . written with indelible clarity."--Newsweek

"[A]n account of a disturbed girl's unwilling passage into womanhood...and here is the girl, looking into our faces with urgent eyes."--Diane Middlebrook, Washington Post Book World


Product Details
ISBN: 9780679746041
ISBN-10: 0679746048
Publisher: Vintage
Publication Date: April 19th, 1994
Pages: 192
Language: English