You Should See Me in a Crown (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
You Should See Me in a Crown Cover Image
List Price: $17.99
Our Price: $14.39
(Save: $3.60 20%)
On Our Shelves Now
8 on hand, as of Aug 11 1:52pm
(STAFF PICKS)

Staff Reviews


 

The gloriously cute black queer prom story you never knew you needed. Liz has to become prom queen in order to get a scholarship and attend her dream college. This is difficult enough since she's black, poor, awkward, and not remotely one of the cool kids in her rich, white town. Even worse, she starts to fall in love with a girl who's openly queer. But can she admit it to her conservative classmates with the crown and the scholarship on the line? And will her girlfriend accept her staying closeted? Great for fans of Red, White, and Royal Blue and Dumplin'.

Shana

— From You Should See Me In A Crown

I haven't read much YA the past few years- it takes something special for me to pick up a YA novel. But the audio of You Should See Me in a Crown gave me the equivalent of driveway moments on my runs (okay, I just kept running so I could listen more). With dynamic, multifaceted characters, a distinctive voice, and a swoon-worthy prom love story, this novel has it all. Better yet? The strong friendships, family relationships, and romances are both quirkily real and heartwarming.

Marika 

— From You Should See Me in a Crown

Description


Becky Albertalli meets Jenny Han in a smart, hilarious, black girl magic, own voices rom-com by a staggeringly talented new writer.

Liz Lighty has always believed she's too black, too poor, too awkward to shine in her small, rich, prom-obsessed midwestern town. But it's okay -- Liz has a plan that will get her out of Campbell, Indiana, forever: attend the uber-elite Pennington College, play in their world-famous orchestra, and become a doctor.

But when the financial aid she was counting on unexpectedly falls through, Liz's plans come crashing down . . . until she's reminded of her school's scholarship for prom king and queen. There's nothing Liz wants to do less than endure a gauntlet of social media trolls, catty competitors, and humiliating public events, but despite her devastating fear of the spotlight she's willing to do whatever it takes to get to Pennington.

The only thing that makes it halfway bearable is the new girl in school, Mack. She's smart, funny, and just as much of an outsider as Liz. But Mack is also in the running for queen. Will falling for the competition keep Liz from her dreams . . . or make them come true?

About the Author


Leah Johnson is a writer, editor and eternal Midwesterner, currently moonlighting as a New Yorker. She is a graduate of Indiana University and Sarah Lawrence College, where she received her MFA in fiction writing, and currently teaches in their undergraduate writing program. When she’s not writing, you can usually find her on Twitter, ranting about pop culture and politics. You Should See Me in a Crown is her first novel.


Product Details
ISBN: 9781338503265
ISBN-10: 133850326X
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Publication Date: June 2nd, 2020
Pages: 336