Girl Town (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
Girl Town Cover Image
$19.99
Available at Warehouse

Staff Reviews


 

This collection of short comics encompasses many genres, but every story will give you a jolt of emotion. If you enjoy Kelly Link’s short stories, you’ll be smitten.

Marika

— From Girl Town

Description


Ignatz Award-winning cartoonist Casey Nowak (Lumberjanes) finds powerful truths in fantasy worlds. This solo debut collection celebrates the ascent of a rising star in comics.

Diana got hurt -- a lot -- and she's decided to deal with this fact by purchasing a life-sized robot boyfriend. Mary and La-La host a podcast about a movie no one's ever seen. Kelly has dragged her friend Beth out of her comfort zone -- and into a day at the fantasy market that neither of them will forget.

Girl Town collects the Ignatz Award-winning stories "Radishes" and "Diana's Electric Tongue" together with several other tales of young adulthood and the search for connection. Here are Casey Nowak's most acclaimed mini-comics and anthology contributions, enhanced with new colors and joined by brand-new work.

Bold, infatuated, wounded, or lost, Nowak's girls shine with life and longing. Their stories -- depicted with remarkable charm and insight -- capture the spirit of our time.

About the Author


Casey Nowak graduated from the University of Michigan's School of Art and Design in 2011. They live in Ann Arbor.

In addition to their award-winning mini-comics such as "Radishes" and "Diana's Electric Tongue" (both collected in Girl Town), Nowak has drawn twelve issues of Lumberjanes and created two Buffy the Vampire Slayer middle-grade books, New School Nightmare and The Cursed Coven.

Praise For…


WINNER of 2019 IGNATZ Award for OUTSTANDING COLLECTION
Paste Magazine's 25 Best Comic Books of 2018

The Beat's 100 Best Comics of the Decade

“Nowak tosses off more wildly imaginative ideas per page than some creators have over their entire careers.” — Library Journal (starred review)

“These stories… illuminate something profoundly familiar and deeply resonant about women’s interactions, relationships, and ways of being in the world... Though their playful art, bright colors, and sly humor might make this seem light and breezy, there are poignant, surprising undercurrents here, and they are simply captivating.” — Booklist (starred review)

"Spellbinding... The girls in this book are flawed, unique, and complex... Girl Town is a cerebral, spirited work of art." — Foreword Reviews (starred review)

"Magical in the tradition of Allende, Borges, and Okazaki… You don’t finish the stories collected here so much as emerge from them: wistful, yearning, and as from all the best dreams, changed." — The Verge (Best of 2018)

"Messy in the best, most invigorating way... Girl Town, like its protagonists, is caught in a swell of uncertain feelings, and will stick with you long after you’ve finished the short stories within." — Paste (Best of 2018)

“Exquisitely illustrated... captures the intensity and the absurdities of female relationships.” — Publishers Weekly (Best of 2018 Critics Poll)

"Each story is quirky and thoughtful... deeply Millennial in every way possible." — Tor.com (Best of 2018)

"Poignant and funny." — Barnes & Noble (Best of the Month)

"On top of being incredibly charming, Girl Town is also full of some incredibly strong characters." —CBR

“Nowak’s comics always hook me from the first panel. It’s such a joy to be surprised, entertained, and touched by the sexy, sweet, fully-realized worlds they create in each of their stories.” — Lisa Hanawalt, creator of Tuca & Bertie

"I raise my glass, tip my hat, and set off a million dollars worth of fireworks to Casey Nowak's electric brain, electric fingers and eclectic, electric storytelling smarts. What a wise, sad, funny, exhilarating book!" — Kelly Link, author of Get in Trouble and Magic for Beginners


Product Details
ISBN: 9781603094382
ISBN-10: 1603094385
Publisher: Top Shelf Productions
Publication Date: November 6th, 2018
Pages: 160
Language: English