Ride or Die (Hardcover)

Ride or Die By Gail-Agnes Musikavanhu Cover Image
$18.99
On Our Shelves Now
Cambridge Edition
1 on hand, as of May 17 11:06pm
(300 YOUNG ADULT FICTION)

Description


Gail-Agnes Musikavanhu's adrenaline-packed joyride of a debut is an ode to Gen Z and chaotic teens—perfect for fans of Grace D. Li, Ebony Ladelle, and Baby Driver.

Best friends Loli Crawford and Ryan Pope have earned their nickname, the “Bonnie and Clyde of Woolridge High.” From illegal snack swapping in kindergarten to reckless car surfing in high school, they have been causing trouble in their uptight California town forever. But everyone knows that the mischief starts with Loli; when it comes to chasing thrills, drama, and adventure, no one is on her level.

At least until Loli throws the wildest party Woolridge High has ever seen and meets X, a strange, unidentified boy in the coat closet, who challenges her to a game she can’t refuse—one that promises to put her love of danger to the ultimate test.

Loli and X begin an anonymous correspondence, exchanging increasingly risky missions. Loli’s fun has always been free and easy, but things spin out of control as she attempts to one-up X’s every move. As Loli risks losing everything—including her oldest friend—she’ll face the most dangerous thing of all: falling for someone she shouldn’t.

About the Author


Gail-Agnes Musikavanhu was born in South Africa and raised in a number of places including Boston, Massachusetts, where she currently resides. She is a graduate of the University of Cape Town, where she received a BA in English literature and film and media production, and she uses those skills to write stories, pitch media and watch movies. Ride or Die is her debut novel.

Praise For…


Praise for Ride or Die

A Children's Book Council Young Adult Favorites Selection
Goodreads Most Anticipated Young Adult Books of June 2023
Epic Reads Most Anticipated YA Books to Read June 2023


“A whip-smart, fun, and twisty mystery with the most loveable protagonist at its center. Reminiscent of the much-loved high school cult classic films of the 90s and early 2000s, Ride or Die is pure magic with a dash of mayhem. Gail-Agnes has managed to craft the story of my dreams.”
—Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé, New York Times bestselling author of Ace of Spades

“A breath of fresh air, quite unlike anything I have read before. Musikavanhu has carved out a space of her very own with this wild ride.”
—Jesse Q. Sutanto, bestselling author of Dial A for Aunties

“Gail-Agnes Musikavanhu's debut is a fun and delightful read. With witty, perfectly flawed characters and an exciting plot that keeps you guessing, this is one book you won't be able to put down!”
—Alexa Martin, author of Better than Fiction

“Gail-Agnes Musikavanhu's debut is a high-octane, character-driven delight. Here's the rare book that puts you on the edge of your seat not just during off-road car chases and high-stakes dares, but also in quiet moments when a character waits for a text back or begins to choose what type of person she'll become. With its anonymous game of one-upmanship, a cast of witty, self-aware teenagers, and a complicated heroine who's irresistible not despite her flaws but because of them, Ride or Die fires on all engines.”
—Riley Redgate, author of Alone Out Here

“Like the best road trip, Ride or Die is an adventure with friendship at its heart. Musikavanhu pens characters to root for with a sparkling voice and mysteries that will keep you guessing.”
—Meredith Ireland, author of Everyone Hates Kelsie Miller

“What would you do if you were young, beautiful, popular, rich, and smart? Loli says: Skate right to the edge, take risks, maybe almost die, break a lot of hearts, and come back with a story. She did it so we don’t have to. Read all about it.”
—Stephanie Tromly, author of Trouble Is a Friend of Mine

“The ultimate message of earnestness over edginess is well-done, with [a] strong narrative voice...Black girls in YA fiction aren’t often left to get into trouble without some sort of trauma in the aftermath, so Loli’s story is refreshing in its levity.”
—The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

“Musikavanhu creates a daring game that offers readers the chance to be in on [the] ride and experience the adrenaline for themselves.”
—The Crimson Review

“A very compelling and fun read.”
—The Islander

Ride or Die is a fun, fast-paced summer read for readers who like an adrenaline rollercoaster.”
—Rich In Color blog

Ride or Die was an exhilirating read and just bucket loads of fun, with a hefty topping of chaos.”
—A Short Book Lover blog

“Loli’s adrenaline-seeking personality makes for a propulsive first-person narration that boasts edge-of-the-seat thrills and fast-paced mystery in Musikavanhu’s high-octane debut.”
Publishers Weekly

“Musikavanhu’s debut has an exciting premise and plenty of hijinks.”
Booklist

A lot of charm.”
Kirkus Reviews


Product Details
ISBN: 9781641294201
ISBN-10: 1641294205
Publisher: Soho Teen
Publication Date: June 6th, 2023
Pages: 384
Language: English