The Archive of Alternate Endings (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
The Archive of Alternate Endings Cover Image
$16.95
On Our Shelves Now
3 on hand, as of Sep 19 7:04pm
(920 FICTION)

Staff Reviews


The Archive of Alternate Endings weaves together multiple tales which are each unique and separate and exceptional. Here are some themes that run through the stories: queer stories and when they don't get told, the story of Hansel and Gretel, Haley's Comet, the bond between siblings. Read the first page of this book, if it's for you, you'll know immediately.

Katherine

— From The Archive of Alternate Endings

Description


Captivating...Drager's plot is ambitious and emotionally resonant, making for a clever, beguiling novel. --Publishers Weekly starred review
Tracking the evolution of Hansel and Gretel at seventy-five-year intervals that correspond with earth's visits by Halley's Comet, The Archive of Alternate Endings explores how stories are disseminated and shared, edited and censored, voiced and left untold.

In 1456, Johannes Gutenberg's sister uses the tale as a surrogate for sharing a family secret only her brother believes. In 1835, The Brothers Jacob and Wilhelm Grimm revise the tale to bury a truth about Jacob even he can't come to face. In 1986, a folklore scholar and her brother come to find the record is wrong about the figurative witch in the woods, while in 2211, twin space probes aiming to find earth's sister planet disseminate the narrative in binary code. Breadcrumbing back in time from 2365 to 1378, siblings reimagine, reinvent, and recycle the narrative of Hansel and Gretel to articulate personal, regional, and ultimately cosmic experiences of tragedy.

Through a relay of speculative pieces that oscillate between eco-fiction and psychological horror, The Archive of Alternate Endings explores sibling love in the face of trauma over the course of a millennium, in the vein of Richard McGuire's Here and Lars von Trier's Melancholia.



Product Details
ISBN: 9781945814822
ISBN-10: 1945814829
Publisher: Dzanc Books
Publication Date: May 7th, 2019
Pages: 168
Language: English