Slipping (Paperback)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Slipping Cover Image
By Mohamed Kheir, Robin Moger (Translator)
$16.95
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Slipping is a novel of the strange spaces in the folds between magic and reality, the in between places in every city, the stories that fog & change as memory erodes. It's also a story of both personal and national tragedy of dreams deferred and the pyrotechnics of regret. Strange, beautiful, challenging, and perfect for fans of Kathryn Davis and Carmen Maria Machado.

— Josh

Description


There are shards of magic to be found on every page of this novel." --Omar El Akkad, author of American War

A struggling journalist named Seif is introduced to a former exile with an encyclopedic knowledge of Egypt's obscure, magical places. Together, as explorer and guide, they step into the fragmented, elusive world the Arab Spring left behind. They trek to an affluent neighborhood where giant corpse flowers rain from the sky. They join an anonymous crowd in the dark, hallucinating together before a bare cave wall. They descend a set of stairs to the spot along the Nile River where, it's been said, you can walk on water. But what begins as a fantastical excursion through a splintered nation quickly winds its way inward as Seif begins to piece together the trauma of his own past, including what happened to Alya, his lover with the remarkable ability to sing any sound: crashing waves, fluttering wings, a roaring inferno.

Musical and parabolic, Slipping seeks nothing less than to accept the world in all its mystery. An innovative novel that searches for meaning within the haze of trauma, it generously portrays the overlooked miracles of everyday life, and attempts to reconcile past failures--both personal and societal--with a daunting future. Delicately translated from Arabic by Robin Moger, this is a profound introduction to the imagination of Mohamed Kheir, one of the most exciting writers working in Egypt today.



Product Details
ISBN: 9781949641165
ISBN-10: 1949641163
Publisher: Two Lines Press
Publication Date: June 8th, 2021
Pages: 260
Language: English