All Shades of Iberibe (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
All Shades of Iberibe Cover Image
By Kasimma
List Price: $18.95
Our Price: $15.16
(Save: $3.79 20%)
In Stock-Click Title to See Store Inventory
Porter Square Books
3 on hand, as of Nov 27 7:20pm
(995 STAFF PICKS)
Boston Edition
3 on hand, as of Nov 27 7:20pm
(995 STAFF PICKS)

Staff Reviews


A vibrant collection of stories exploring the gap between what makes sense and what life seems to throw at us anyway. The past leaks into the present, the spirit world leaks into our world, the old ways leak into the new but through it all a celebration of living life in this messy world radiates from every story. Perfect for fans of Where the Wild Ladies Are.

Josh

— From All Shades of Iberibe

Description


In the Nigerian language Igbo "iberibe" means "messed up." This stunning short story collection by Kasimma grabs readers and pulls them into the cities and villages of today's Nigeria. Against the glare of smart phone screens, spirits of the dead flicker, elders admonish their grown children, rituals are done in secret, and the scars of war are just below the surface in the lives of astonishingly vivid characters. Kasimma's stories effortlessly inhabit the dark, alluring, and beautiful spaces between mystical Nigerian traditions and our strange contemporary condition.

About the Author


Kasimma is an alumni of Chimamanda Adichie’s Creative Writing Workshop, SSDA workshop, IWP, and others. She’s been a writer-in-residence in artists’ residencies across Africa, Asia, and Europe. Her works appear or are forthcoming in The Book Smuggler’s Den, Jellyfish Review, Kiwetu Journal, Orbis Journal, and Afreecan Read.

Praise For…


"Kasimma is a brave, inventive, new voice. I'm captivated by her stories." —Okey Ndibe, author of Arrows of Rain and Foreign Gods, Inc.



"All Shades of Iberibe pulses with wit and wisdom. In stories that often surprise, that often blur the line between the living and the dead, Kasimma presents a Nigeria that is peopled with characters struggling as much to understand as to be understood." —Chika Unigwe, author, Better Late Than Never and Night Dancer

"[An] epic and alluring short story collection." —Chinasa Afigbo, Afreecan Read's deputy editor

"The past leaks into the present, the spirit world leaks into our world, the old ways leak into the new but through it all a celebration of living life in this messy world radiates from every story. Perfect for fans of Where the Wild Ladies Are." —Josh Cook, Porter Square Books


Product Details
ISBN: 9789533513409
ISBN-10: 9533513403
Publisher: Sandorf Passage
Publication Date: November 2nd, 2021
Pages: 212
Language: English