Children's/Teen

Nominally for young readers

Julia Denos, Swatch

A vibrant picture book featuring an irrepressible new character perfect for fans of The Dot and Beautiful Oops from acclaimed illustrator Julia Denos.
 
 
The hardest question for Julia Denos to answer is "What is your favorite color?" She has illustrated several children's books, including Just Being Audrey by Margaret Cardillo, I Had a Favorite Dress by Boni Ashburn, Dotty by Erica S. Perl, Grandma's Gloves by Cecil Castellucci, and Letters to Leo by Amy Hest. This is the first book she has written and illustrated. Julia lives in Boston.
Swatch: The Girl Who Loved Color By Julia Denos, Julia Denos (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Julia Denos, Julia Denos (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062366382
Availability: Available at Wholesaler
Published: Balzer + Bray - March 15th, 2016

Gareth Hinds, Samurai Rising

Minamoto Yoshitsune should not have been a samurai. But his story is legend in this real-life Game of Thrones.

This epic tale of warriors and bravery, rebellion and revenge, reads like a novel, but this is the true story of the greatest samurai in Japanese history. 

(more)

Gareth Hinds has retold and illustrated several classics, including Beowulf and the much-acclaimed Odyssey. He lives in New York City with his wife.

Samurai Rising: The Epic Life of Minamoto Yoshitsune By Pamela S. Turner, Gareth Hinds (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Pamela S. Turner, Gareth Hinds (Illustrator)
$16.95
It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Information
ISBN: 9781580895842
Published: Charlesbridge - February 2nd, 2016

Brenda Drake, Thief of Lies

Gia Kearns would rather fight with boys than kiss them. That is, until Arik, a leather clad hottie in the Boston Athenaeum, suddenly disappears. While examining the book of world libraries he abandoned, Gia unwittingly speaks the key that sucks her and her friends into a photograph and transports them into a Paris library, where Arik and his Sentinels—magical knights charged with protecting humans from the creatures traveling across the gateway books—rescue them from a demonic hound.

(more)

Brenda Drake, the youngest of three children, grew up an Air Force brat and the continual new kid at school until her family settled in Albuquerque, New Mexico. Brenda’s fondest memories growing up is of her eccentric, Irish grandmother’s animated tales, which gave her a strong love for storytelling. So it was only fitting that she would choose to write young adult and middle grade novels with a bend toward the fantastical. When Brenda’s not writing or doing the social media thing, she’s haunting libraries, bookstores,and coffee shops or reading someplace quiet and not at all exotic (much to her disappointment).

Thief of Lies (Library Jumpers #1) By Brenda Drake Cover Image
$16.99
It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Information
ISBN: 9781633752214
Published: Entangled: Teen - January 5th, 2016

Elizabeth Howard and Diana Wege, A Day with Bonefish Joe

Harbour Island, only three miles long and half a mile wide, is one of the oldest settlements in the Bahamas and is best known for its broad pink-sand beaches and for bonefishing, a compelling catch-and-release enterprise that pits a determined angler against an inedible, surprisingly powerful, and elusive quarry.

(more)

A Day with Bonefish Joe By Elizabeth Howard, Diana Wege (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Elizabeth Howard, Diana Wege (Illustrator)
$16.95
ISBN: 9781567925340
Availability: Available at Wholesaler
Published: David R. Godine Publisher - November 9th, 2015

MarcyKate Connolly, Ravenous

For fans of tales by the Brothers Grimm, this novel, inspired by the fairytale "Hansel and Gretel," is a riveting and wholly original story of an epic quest and a heroine who will stop at nothing to save the one she loves most. A companion to the author's Monstrous, it will be enjoyed by fans of that book as well as readers who are new to this fully imagined and rich world. 

(more)

Tara Sullivan, The Bitter Side of Sweet

Fifteen-year-old Amadou counts the things that matter. For two long years, what’s mattered are cacao pods. The more Amadou can chop down in a single day, the better his chances are of keeping the bosses’ beatings at bay, keeping himself and his little brother, Seydou, alive and then maybe, just maybe, returning home to Baba and Auntie. At least he hopes so. But the bosses won’t tell him the number that matters most—the number that equals freedom.

(more)

Tara Sullivan was born in India and spent her childhood living in Bangladesh, Ecuador, Bolivia and the Dominican Republic with her parents, who were international aid workers. She received a BA in Spanish literature and cognitive science from the University of Virginia, and a MA in Latin American Studies and a MPA in non-profit management from Indiana University. She currently teachers high school Spanish and lives in Massachusetts.

The Bitter Side of Sweet By Tara Sullivan Cover Image
$17.99
It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Information
ISBN: 9780399173073
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - February 23rd, 2016

Emily Martin, The Year We Fell Apart

In the tradition of Sarah Dessen, this powerful debut novel is a compelling portrait of a young girl coping with her mother's cancer as she figures out how to learn from and fix her past. 

(more)

Emily Martin grew up in a suburb of Detroit, Michigan. She attended graduate school in North Carolina, where she fell in love with sweet potato pancakes, deep fried pickles, and the boy who later became her husband. Emily now lives and writes in Boston, Massachusetts. The Year We Fell Apart is her first novel.

The Year We Fell Apart By Emily Martin Cover Image
$17.99
It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Information
ISBN: 9781481438414
Published: Margaret K. McElderry Books - January 26th, 2016

Emily Ross, Half in Love with Death

It's the era of peace and love in the 1960s, but nothing is peaceful in Caroline's life. Since her beautiful older sister disappeared, fifteen-year-old Caroline might as well have disappeared too. She's invisible to her parents, who can't stop blaming each other. 

(more)

Emily Ross is an editor at DeadDarlings.com, a website dedicated to the craft of writing. Before its publication, her debut novel, Half in Love with Death, won a fiction award from the Massachusetts Cultural Council.

Staff Pick Badge
Half in Love with Death By Emily Ross Cover Image
$17.99
It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Information
ISBN: 9781440589034
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - December 16th, 2015

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Children's/Teen