Children's/Teen

Nominally for young readers

Thyra Heder, Alfie

Nia loves Alfie, her pet turtle. But he's not very soft, he doesn't do tricks, and he's pretty quiet. Sometimes she forgets he's even there--until the night before Nia's seventh birthday, when Alfie disappears. Then, in an innovative switch in point of view, we hear Alfie's side of the story. He didn't leave Nia--he's actually searching for the perfect birthday present for his dear friend. Can he find a gift and make it back in time for the big birthday party?

Alfie: (The Turtle That Disappeared) Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781419725296
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harry N. Abrams - October 3rd, 2017

Rob Vlock, Sven Carter & the Trashmouth Effect

Sven Carter--part boy, part robot--is on a mission to save himself from destroying the human race in this fun and funny MAX novel.

Ever since Sven Carter was caught eating a moldy blueberry muffin under the gym bleachers, earning himself the nickname "Trashmouth," he's been his school's biggest outcast.

Sven Carter & the Trashmouth Effect (MAX) Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781481490139
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Aladdin - October 3rd, 2017

Ray Anthony Shepard, Now or Never!

Here is the riveting dual biography of two little-known but extraordinary men in Civil War history--George E. Stephens and James Henry Gooding. These Union soldiers not only served in the Massachusetts 54th Infantry, the well-known black regiment, but were also war correspondents who published eyewitness reports of the battlefields.

Now or Never!: Fifty-Fourth Massachusetts Infantry's War to End Slavery Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781629793405
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Calkins Creek - October 10th, 2017

Sherri Rinker and John Rocco, Big Machines

In this loving tribute to Virginia Lee Burton, the New York Times best-selling creators Sherri Duskey Rinker and John Rocco pay homage to the storied life of one of the most beloved creators in children's literature.

Big Machines: The Story of Virginia Lee Burton Cover Image
By Sherri Duskey Rinker, John Rocco (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780544715578
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - September 5th, 2017

Darcey Rosenblatt and Dana Alison Levy

Middle grade authors Darcey Rosenblatt and Dana Alison Levy share their new books and discuss writing.


Based on historical events, this unforgettable and inspiring tale for middle-grade readers is about a young boy torn from the only life he’s ever known and held captive as a prisoner of war.

Lost Boys Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781627797580
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - August 22nd, 2017

This Would Make a Good Story Someday Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781101938171
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Delacorte Books for Young Readers - May 16th, 2017

Lana Popovic, Wicked Like a Wildfire

A local author presents her debut novel in conversation with Jilly Gagnon, author of #Famous.

Fans of Holly Black and Leigh Bardugo will be bewitched by Lana Popovic's debut YA fantasy novel about a bargain that binds the fates--and hearts--of twin sisters to a force larger than life.

Wicked Like a Wildfire Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062436832
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - August 15th, 2017

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Children's/Teen