Josh

A Door Behind a Door

A Door Behind a Door is mysterious like an inscrutable note found in a book you thought was new & haunting like the memory of a friend you betrayed. Murder, national identity, emigration, family, America, all swirl around in this story of a ghost from the homeland sabotaging a new life that feels like fairy tale fallen down a trap door. -Josh

Featured Book: 

A Door Behind a Door Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781953387028
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Two Dollar Radio - May 18th, 2021

Featured Pre-order Tags: 

Catch the Rabbit

Despite our best efforts, there are some things from our upbringing that we just can't shake. With razor sharp images & a compelling, engaging, yet complext narrative voice, Bastasic's brilliant debut novel explores the stickiness of national identity through the story of a fractured friendship & a classic quest to recapture something that was lost. -Josh

Featured Book: 

Catch the Rabbit Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781632062895
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Restless Books - June 1st, 2021

Featured Pre-order Tags: 

Slipping

Slipping is a novel of the strange spaces in the folds between magic and reality, the in between places in every city, the stories that fog & change as memory erodes. It's also a story of both personal and national tragedy of dreams deferred and the pyrotechnics of regret. Strange, beautiful, challenging, and perfect for fans of Kathryn Davis and Carmen Maria Machado. -Josh

Featured Book: 

Slipping Cover Image
By Mohamed Kheir, Robin Moger (Translator)
$16.95
ISBN: 9781949641165
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Two Lines Press - June 8th, 2021

Featured Pre-order Tags: 

A Ghost in the Throat

A Ghost in the Throat is a seance, summoning a keening woman drinking the blood of her murdered husband in handful gulps, the time both devoured and enriched by daily tasks, the haggard old woman who watches over so many last moments. This is a genealogy, a book-length translator's introduction, a bonfire. Ni Ghroifa's investigation of a famous Irish poem and its neglected author digs into the flesh a motherhood, womanhood, history, language, and poetry. A truly astonishing achievement. -Josh

Featured Book: 

Staff Pick Badge
A Ghost in the Throat Cover Image
$13.56
ISBN: 9781771964111
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Biblioasis - June 1st, 2021

Featured Pre-order Tags: 

Subscribe to RSS - Josh