June 2021

Catch the Rabbit

Despite our best efforts, there are some things from our upbringing that we just can't shake. With razor sharp images & a compelling, engaging, yet complext narrative voice, Bastasic's brilliant debut novel explores the stickiness of national identity through the story of a fractured friendship & a classic quest to recapture something that was lost. -Josh

Featured Book: 

Catch the Rabbit Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781632062895
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Restless Books - June 1st, 2021

Featured Pre-order Tags: 

For the Wolf

For the Wolf is the type of fairytale that draws you in and doesn’t let you go until the last page. Red is born the second daughter, and as everyone knows the Second Daughter is destined for the Wolf. On her twentieth birthday, she is sent into the Wilderwood to fulfill an ancient contract. And what results is a cross between a Red Riding Hood retelling and a Beauty and the Beast retelling with one of the best romances I’ve read in awhile (there’s only one bed!!). This book is brimming with loyalty and longing and political machinations.

Featured Book: 

Staff Pick Badge
For the Wolf (The Wilderwood #1) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316592789
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Orbit - June 1st, 2021

Featured Pre-order Tags: 

Slipping

Slipping is a novel of the strange spaces in the folds between magic and reality, the in between places in every city, the stories that fog & change as memory erodes. It's also a story of both personal and national tragedy of dreams deferred and the pyrotechnics of regret. Strange, beautiful, challenging, and perfect for fans of Kathryn Davis and Carmen Maria Machado. -Josh

Featured Book: 

Staff Pick Badge
Slipping Cover Image
By Mohamed Kheir, Robin Moger (Translator)
$16.95
ISBN: 9781949641165
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Two Lines Press - June 8th, 2021

Featured Pre-order Tags: 

A Ghost in the Throat

A Ghost in the Throat is a seance, summoning a keening woman drinking the blood of her murdered husband in handful gulps, the time both devoured and enriched by daily tasks, the haggard old woman who watches over so many last moments. This is a genealogy, a book-length translator's introduction, a bonfire. Ni Ghroifa's investigation of a famous Irish poem and its neglected author digs into the flesh a motherhood, womanhood, history, language, and poetry. A truly astonishing achievement. -Josh

Featured Book: 

Staff Pick Badge
A Ghost in the Throat Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781771964111
Availability: Available at Wholesaler
Published: Biblioasis - June 1st, 2021

Featured Pre-order Tags: 

The Chosen and the Beautiful

This book is a queer magical retelling of The Great Gatsby, and is one of the most compelling books I’ve ever read. Vo infuses the story with magic in such a way that I find myself going “oh, the 1920’s were just Like This.” She has captured the essence and atmosphere of the original novel while crafting the characters into more compelling versions of themselves. The prose is in turns witty and breathtaking, the dramatic irony of retelling such a classic story is woven in beautifully, and the ending made me gasp out loud.

Featured Book: 

Staff Pick Badge
The Chosen and the Beautiful Cover Image
By Nghi Vo
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250784780
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tordotcom - June 1st, 2021

Featured Pre-order Tags: 

The Witch King

I've been struggling to find the right words to describe just how much this book meant to me. I could have used a book like this as a sixteen year old. Wyatt, in all his sharp, awkward glory, reflects my soul in a way few other characters have. But I'm just as happy I get to read it now. Every character in this book is their own disaster, and every character, good or bad, is so tenderly and sharply real in a way that makes you understand them, even when they're making choices that make you want to shake them.

Featured Book: 

Staff Pick Badge
The Witch King Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781335212795
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Inkyard Press - June 1st, 2021

Featured Pre-order Tags: 

One Last Stop

I loved Red, White, and Royal Blue so my expectations were high going in. That being said, Casey McQuiston still managed to blow me away with this stunning love letter to queer communities and found families, not to mention the families you're born with and may leave but never can quite forget in all their complicated messiness. The romance was very good, but one of the place this book shines is in how wonderful the supporting cast is. I wanted to be friends with every person in it. -Shana

Featured Book: 

Staff Pick Badge
One Last Stop Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250244499
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - June 1st, 2021

Featured Pre-order Tags: 

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - June 2021