Adults 4/24

Dracula Daily (Staff Pick)

Staff Pick Badge
Dracula Daily: Reading Bram Stoker's Dracula in Real Time With Commentary by the Internet By Matt Kirkland Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781524884703
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Andrews McMeel Publishing - September 19th, 2023

Never before have you seen Dracula like this. Dracula Daily isn't just an internet sensation bringing together people year after year, and this book is not just "Dracula with commentary." By reading each diary entry and letter in the order they would have been written, Kirkland is forcing us to really take the time and sit in how horrific some of Dracula's story are. How long was Jonathan Harker really trapped in that castle? How quickly did Lucy Westenra go from perfectly happy to on deaths door? Grab your copy now to get ready for Jonathan Harker's first diary entry --his journey starts May 3rd!

- Katherine


The Importance of Being Earnest (Staff Pick)

Staff Pick Badge
Importance of Being Earnest By Oscar Wilde, Richard Allen Cave (Introduction by), Richard Allen Cave (Commentaries by), Richard Allen Cave (Notes by) Cover Image
By Oscar Wilde, Richard Allen Cave (Introduction by), Richard Allen Cave (Commentaries by), Richard Allen Cave (Notes by)
$12.00
ISBN: 9780140436068
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Penguin Classics - March 1st, 2001

Grab a coffee and a cucumber sandwich, find a park bench, and Bunbury the afternoon away.

- Sam


Mistborn (Staff Pick)

Staff Pick Badge
Mistborn: The Final Empire (The Mistborn Saga #1) By Brandon Sanderson Cover Image
$21.99
ISBN: 9781250868282
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Tor Books - February 14th, 2023

THIS IS SO GOOD. This is epic fantasy is so so so full of emotion and mystical powers and incredibly relevant commentary that you could literally never ask for anything more. I am not often one for books over 500 pages but this one had me hooked & I will promptly be reading the rest of the series.

- Alyssa


The Prospects (Staff Pick)

Staff Pick Badge
The Prospects: A Novel By KT Hoffman Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780593596869
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Dial Press Trade Paperback - April 9th, 2024

The sports romance of April's dreams! The Prospects imagines a world where sports are inclusive and love and trans joy are everything. Perfect for fans of Red White and Royal Blue. You'll smile! You'll cry! Your heart will grow!

- April


The Extinction of Irena Rey (Staff Pick)

Staff Pick Badge
The Extinction of Irena Rey By Jennifer Croft Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9781639731701
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing - March 5th, 2024

A Booker Prize-winning translator writing about eight translators lost in the wilderness looking for an author whose great work they're all trying to translate. I'm not really sure what more you could ask for. - James

- Engel


The Fervor (Staff Pick)

Staff Pick Badge
The Fervor By Alma Katsu Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780593328354
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - September 5th, 2023

This awesome historical horror novel takes place in US Japanese internment camps during WWII. People are getting sick to the point of chaotic violence, who could be behind this mysterious illness? Enjoy this important and harrowing tale of the dangers of demonization.

- Hannah


Arrow (Staff Pick)

Staff Pick Badge
Arrow By Sumita Chakraborty Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781948579117
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Alice James Books - September 8th, 2020

Fans of lyric poetry, this book is for you. When I was in a recent poetry reading rut, this is the book that got me out of it. These poems are complex (in terms of content and also at the craft level) and full of loss, but because of that Chakraborty is now one of those poets whose work I return to.

- Katie H


The Overstory (Staff Pick)

Staff Pick Badge
The Overstory: A Novel By Richard Powers Cover Image
$18.95
ISBN: 9780393356687
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - April 2nd, 2019

If you're looking for a reminder of the humility of being human in the grander scheme of planetary history and how humanity's "roots" are intertwined, read this environmental fiction that will captivate you at the sentence level.

- Mia


On Writing and Failure (Staff Pick)

Staff Pick Badge
On Writing and Failure: Or, on the Peculiar Perseverance Required to Endure the Life of a Writer (Field Notes) By Stephen Marche Cover Image
$13.95
ISBN: 9781771965163
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Biblioasis - February 14th, 2023

"A paradox defines this business: The public only sees writers in their victories but their real lives are mostly in defeat." On Failure and Writing is delightful, bite-sized contemplation of what it means to be a writer, in all its up and downs. Taking a look at history's most beloved writers, author Stephen Marche speaks candidly about writing as a flawed, solitary, and rejection-filled art form--and explores why there are still some of us just can't shake the torture of its siren song even knowing that.

- Cindy


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Adults 4/24