Adults 5/21

Last Will and Testament of an Extremely Distinguished Dog

Staff Pick Badge
The Last Will & Testament of a Very Distinguished Dog Cover Image
By Eugene O'Neill, Adrienne Yorinks (Illustrator)
$25.00
ISBN: 9780805061703
Availability: In Stock-Click Title to See Store Inventory
Published: Henry Holt and Co. - October 29th, 1999

 

An elegy for all the dogs who have loved and been loved. Reading this little book will bring joy through the memories and tears for the loss but all in honor of each and every extremely distinguished dog you have known, and especially for Maxie, our wonderful and beloved bookstore dog.

Megan


Shadow Life

Staff Pick Badge
Shadow Life Cover Image
By Hiromi Goto, Ann Xu (Illustrator)
$24.99
ISBN: 9781626723566
Availability: Available at Wholesaler
Published: First Second - March 30th, 2021

 

This checks so many boxes in my "favorite reads" category. An independent, queer protagonist. Reinvention of death mythologies. Adorable little puffball sidekicks. Evocative black and white illustrations that fit the story perfectly. I'm so glad to be introduced to these two fabulous creators.

Stacey


Beautiful Ones

Staff Pick Badge
The Beautiful Ones: A Novel Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250785565
Availability: In Stock-Click Title to See Store Inventory
Published: Tor Books - April 27th, 2021

 

This novel captures all the longing and intricate rituals of a historic romance with the fantastic worldbuilding of a fantasy novel. When she was sent to stay with her cousin for her first season, Nina, a young girl with telekinetic powers, does not expect to enter a dance with the famous telekinetic performer, Hector Auvrey, and her own cousin-in-law, Camille. I read the last half of the book in one sitting because putting it down was nearly unthinkable. Fans of Bridgerton and A Midnight Bargain alike will find themselves drawn to this elegant and enthralling novel.

Katherine


Carpe Every Diem: The Best Graduation Advice from More Than 100 Commencement Speeches

Staff Pick Badge
Carpe Every Diem: The Best Graduation Advice from More Than 100 Commencement Speeches : A Graduation Book Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780593139752
Availability: Available at Wholesaler
Published: Clarkson Potter - March 23rd, 2021

 

This is the perfect gift for a recent graduate. Full of great quotes from famous commencement speakers like Neil Gaiman, David Foster Wallace, Spike Lee, Gloria Steinem, John Waters, Barack Obama and Oprah, it's both inspiring and yet amusing. This charming book relays all the wisdom of those eloquent commencement speakers into sage advice for grads of all ages. 

Nathan


Crying in H Mart

Staff Pick Badge
Crying in H Mart: A Memoir Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9780525657743
Availability: In Stock-Click Title to See Store Inventory
Published: Knopf - April 20th, 2021

 

When Michelle goes into HMart, the packages, ingredients, and relationships of other customers remind her of her mother. With food as a catalyst, Michelle examines her complex relationship with her mother: the expectations, love, and friction. You'll cry as Michelle recounts her mother's slow death by cancer, and drool over her descriptions of food. Michelle (indie rockstar Japanese Breakfast) will make you cry, question, and crave with her rich, emotional memoir.

Marika


Goodbye, Again

Staff Pick Badge
Goodbye, Again: Essays, Reflections, and Illustrations Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780062880857
Availability: In Stock-Click Title to See Store Inventory
Published: Harper Perennial - April 20th, 2021

 

Jonny Sun has the amazing ability to write about anxiety in a way that makes you feel settled, and loneliness in a way that makes you feel less alone. From scrambled eggs to plants to jazz to the end of the world, these illustrated essays are deeply personal but encompass the universal. They made me laugh, cry, contemplate life, and breathe a little deeper.

Kate


Under the Wave at Waimea

Staff Pick Badge
Under The Wave At Waimea Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780358446286
Availability: Available at Wholesaler
Published: Mariner Books - April 13th, 2021

 

I thought as I began this novel that it was a reminiscence by a middle-aged Hawaiian surfer dude about his youth of waves, drugs, and girls.  And superficially it is, but it is also a moving meditation on mortality, complacence, and self-knowledge.  Theroux is as always a masterful storyteller, and the descriptive passages about the ocean and the sublimity of surfing are alone worth the price of admission.

 

David


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Adults 5/21