Adults 7/21

Unsolaced

Staff Pick Badge
Unsolaced: Along the Way to All That Is Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9780307911797
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Pantheon - January 5th, 2021

 

Very much a bookend to her first book, the 1985 memoir Solace of Open Spaces set in Wyoming where she came to make her home, Ehrlich’s new work is much darker for she’s witness to the calamitous effects of climate change on the distant places and people she’s come to love over the past decades, from Greenland to Japan to Africa. In the end it’s a book not without hope as it is also a story of resilience , renewal, and once again, love.

Dale


Counting Descent

Staff Pick Badge
Counting Descent Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781938912658
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Write Bloody Publishing - August 1st, 2016

Smith's How The Word Is Passed is flying off the shelves, so why not complement it with his debut poetry collection? Counting Descent feels like canon to me and I'm thrilled to see it reprinted. Come find me after you've processed Clint's instructions for cardboard boxes, I'm still recovering.

Caleb


Ultimate Micro-RPG Book

Staff Pick Badge
The Ultimate Micro-RPG Book: 40 Fast, Easy, and Fun Tabletop Games (The Ultimate RPG Guide Series ) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781507212868
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Adams Media - December 8th, 2020

Whether you want bodega cats defending the block from evil, steampunk zombie-cyborgs seeking redemption, or two stars slowly circling towards each other and their inevitable doom, there's a game here for you. They range in complexity and gameplay, from a complex tarot-card based system to simply rolling a six-sided die. Each one is only a page long. A perfect way to spend a summer afternoon!

Shana


I Believe I'll Go Back Home

Staff Pick Badge
I Believe I'll Go Back Home: Roots and Revival in New England Folk Music Cover Image
$22.95
ISBN: 9781625345653
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bright Leaf - May 28th, 2021

I Believe I'll Go Back Home is an excellent survey of the function and traditions of folk music in New England (starting with what little we have left of the traditions that predate colonization) and how those made Boston and Cambridge fertile ground for the birth of the Folk Revival of the late 1950s into the 1960s. There is such a rich musical history in New England that gets obfuscated because it didn't birth the major American music genres of today, but its contribution is not small. Curren's fast-paced and readable history colored in this opaque backstory and brought to life the cultural movement that percolated in clubs and coffeehouses on streets I know and love. 

Meaghan


Slipping

Staff Pick Badge
Slipping Cover Image
By Mohamed Kheir, Robin Moger (Translator)
$16.95
ISBN: 9781949641165
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Two Lines Press - June 8th, 2021

Slipping is a novel of the strange spaces in the folds between magic and reality, the in between places in every city, the stories that fog & change as memory erodes. It's also a story of both personal and national tragedy of dreams deferred and the pyrotechnics of regret. Strange, beautiful, challenging, and perfect for fans of Kathryn Davis and Carmen Maria Machado.

Josh


Impostor Syndrome

Staff Pick Badge
Impostor Syndrome: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062855282
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Custom House - May 25th, 2021

Killing Eve meets Silicon Valley in this high stakes novel. Julia Lerner has made it: a female COO in one of the biggest tech companies. Holding onto the job is hard: rampant sexism, personal grudges...and keeping her Russian handler happy. When Alice Lu stumbles upon Julia's espionage, both women's lives are at stake. A smart satire and high-stakes thriller; be prepared to read through the night.

Marika


Double Cross

Staff Pick Badge
Double Cross: The True Story of the D-Day Spies Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780307888778
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Crown - May 14th, 2013

In this fascinating history bestselling author Ben Macintyre - author of The Spy and the Traitor focuses on the story of June 4, 1944 -D-Day.  Filled with intrigue, suspense, double agents, colorful characters, spies, and heroes, Double Cross reads like an epic spy novel.

Nathan


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Adults 7/21