April

Birthday

Staff Pick Badge
Birthday: A Novel Cover Image
$15.19
ISBN: 9781250129833
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Flatiron Books - May 21st, 2019

 

Birthday follows best-friends-from-birth Eric and Morgan over the course of their joint birthdays from ages thirteen to eighteen. It feels viscerally real as it faces issues such as homophobia and transphobia in the south, family tension, and the struggles of growing up in a poor rural area.

April


Georgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruit

Staff Pick Badge
Georgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruit Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780062271006
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperTeen - May 8th, 2018

 

When Jo's dad, a popular radio preacher, moves them from Atlanta to the small town of Rome, Georgia, he asks Jo to do the impossible: go back in the closet and lie low for her senior year. But when she meets the perfect girl, how can she keep her secret and go after love? The perfect sweet, sexy, teen romance for fans of Love, Simon.

April


Book of Essie

Staff Pick Badge
The Book of Essie: A novel Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9780525520313
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Knopf - June 12th, 2018

 

The Book of Essie is a searing, insightful dissection of the intersections of reality-tv celebrity, toxic Christianity and buried secrets that will make you think, examine your own participation in the culture surrounding reality TV, break your heart--and put it back together.

 

April


Dreadnought

Staff Pick Badge
Dreadnought (Nemesis #1) Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781682300688
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Diversion Books - January 24th, 2017

 

Danny has two problems--no one knows she's transgender, and she just inherited the powers of the world's greatest superhero--which also transformed her into a body that matches her gender identity. I couldn't stop reading and picked up the second book immediately.

April


Power to the Princess

Staff Pick Badge
Power to the Princess: 15 Favorite Fairytales Retold with Girl Power Cover Image
By Vita Murrow, Julia Bereciartu (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781786032034
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Frances Lincoln Children's Books - September 6th, 2018

 

This book would make the perfect gift for the princess lover in your life of any age or gender. The beautiful cover contains a series of princess stories that take on classics like Beauty and the Beast and rewrite them with more diverse casts and more feminism! The stories are fun and spunky and the art is colorful and makes the stories come alive.

April


Sadie

Staff Pick Badge
Sadie Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250105714
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Wednesday Books - September 4th, 2018

 

Sadie's sister was murdered, and she knows who did it. She decides to track down the killer herself after the cops' unsatisfactory investigation, but goes missing along the way. Sadie's narrative is intertwined with that of Wes, who is following her trail and making a Serial-like podcast as he tries to find her--this book is tense, twisty, and heart-wrenching and perfect for fans of true crime. Best book I've read this year.

April


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - April