April

Ace of Spades

Staff Pick Badge
Ace of Spades Cover Image
$15.19
ISBN: 9781250800817
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Feiwel & Friends - June 1st, 2021

Gossip Girl meets Pretty Little Liars meets Get Out in this YA thriller about two Black students at an elite prep school being targeted by an anonymous bully. The novel ratchets up the tension as Devon and Chiamaka realize more than their college hopes may be at risk. Smart social commentary, high suspense, and twists you won't expect—this is a must read.

April


Rosaline Palmer Takes the Cake

Staff Pick Badge
Rosaline Palmer Takes the Cake (Winner Bakes All #1) Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781538703328
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Forever - May 18th, 2021

My favorite television show is The Great British Baking Show, my favorite genre of book is romance, and my favorite type of romance is those featuring bisexual characters—this book combines all three of those into a book that may even surpass Hall's incredible Boyfriend Material in my heart and mind. If you like any or all of the above—read this book about a bisexual single mom going on the country's biggest baking show on a journey that will take her far beyond the trials of soggy bottoms and fallen trifles. 

April


Pumpkin'

Staff Pick Badge
Pumpkin (Dumplin') Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062880451
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Balzer + Bray - May 25th, 2021

This book made me cry happy tears . . . more than once. The story of Waylon, a fat, gay teen boy in small-town Texas trying to find out who he is and what he wants in life during his senior year of high school pulled all my best heartstrings. He's waiting to bring out the "real Waylon" until after graduation, but after trying drag, getting nominated for homecoming queen, and meeting a boy who might be more than he seems—maybe it's time for the real Waylon after all. 

April


Written in the Stars

Staff Pick Badge
Written in the Stars: A Novel Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780063000803
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Avon - November 10th, 2020

 

We've got fake relationships and opposites attract romance in this delightful Sapphic romance. Tight-laced actuary Darcy Lowell is not going to let her brother set her up again after a disastrous first date with astrologer Elle Jones. But when she realizes dating Elle could get her brother off her back . . . she gets the idea to fake date her. Swoons ensue. If you like Boyfriend Material, this is a must-read.

April


The Survivors

Staff Pick Badge
The Survivors: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250232427
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Flatiron Books - February 2nd, 2021

Jane Harper is back with another atmospheric suspense novel set on the Tasmanian coast. Kieran Elliott's life changed forever on the day a reckless mistake led to devastating consequences. When a body is discovered on the beach, long-held secrets threaten to emerge. A sunken wreck, a missing girl, and questions that have never washed away... Jane Harper makes the setting and characters come alive so vividly you feel like you live in Evelyn Bay. Perfect for fans of Tana French.

April


Grown

Staff Pick Badge
Grown Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062840356
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - September 15th, 2020

When legendary R&B artist Korey Fields spots Enchanted Jones at an audition, her dreams of being a famous singer take flight. Until Enchanted wakes up with blood on her hands and zero memory of the previous night. Who killed Korey Fields? I read this book until three in the morning and could not tear my eyes away. This ripped-from-the-headlines story shook me to my core and was the most heart-wrenching story I've read in a long time. A vital book for the #MeToo era.

April


The Project

Staff Pick Badge
The Project: A Novel Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250105738
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Wednesday Books - February 2nd, 2021

When Lo Denham wakes up from a coma, her parents are dead and her sister Bea has joined The Unity Project. Lo is sure that something sinister is going on with The Unity Project, so she sets out to expose it and its leader Lev Warren. The book will have you asking, what would you do to belong? Truly brilliant; I can't put words to how this book made me feel. My best read of last year.

April


April

We Keep the Dead Close

Staff Pick Badge
We Keep the Dead Close: A Murder at Harvard and a Half Century of Silence Cover Image
$29.00
ISBN: 9781538746837
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Grand Central Publishing - November 10th, 2020

 

More than a true crime book, more than a memoir, Becky Cooper weaves a compelling and vivid portrait of an unsolved murder at Harvard and pulls together threads of misogyny, issues with academic culture, silencing at elite institutions, and the ways that we rewrite the stories of female victims. A striking portrait for fans of I'll Be Gone in the Dark

April


Pride, Prejudice, and Other Flavors

Staff Pick Badge
Pride, Prejudice, and Other Flavors: A Novel (The Rajes Series #1) Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780062839053
Availability: Available at Wholesaler
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - May 7th, 2019

In Pride, Prejudice, and Other Flavors, Sonali Dev creates a vibrant modern Pride and Prejudice retelling that manages to feel fresh. Trisha Raje is a prominent neurosurgeon and DJ Caine is a rising-star chef who quits his job and moves to California because his sister is sick. The two collide—explosively—throughout the novel, and the tension and slow burn will keep you reading and wondering what will happen even if you know how Pride and Prejudice ends. I flew through it, captured by the tension, the well-developed characters and families, and the many, many descriptions of DJ's cooking. Bonus: The sequel comes out at the end of May!

 

April


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - April