April

The Survivors

Staff Pick Badge
The Survivors: A Novel Cover Image
$22.39
ISBN: 9781250232427
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Flatiron Books - February 2nd, 2021

Jane Harper is back with another atmospheric suspense novel set on the Tasmanian coast. Kieran Elliott's life changed forever on the day a reckless mistake led to devastating consequences. When a body is discovered on the beach, long-held secrets threaten to emerge. A sunken wreck, a missing girl, and questions that have never washed away... Jane Harper makes the setting and characters come alive so vividly you feel like you live in Evelyn Bay. Perfect for fans of Tana French.

April


Crown

Staff Pick Badge
Grown Cover Image
$14.39
ISBN: 9780062840356
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - September 15th, 2020

When legendary R&B artist Korey Fields spots Enchanted Jones at an audition, her dreams of being a famous singer take flight. Until Enchanted wakes up with blood on her hands and zero memory of the previous night. Who killed Korey Fields? I read this book until three in the morning and could not tear my eyes away. This ripped-from-the-headlines story shook me to my core and was the most heart-wrenching story I've read in a long time. A vital book for the #MeToo era.

April


The Project

Staff Pick Badge
The Project: A Novel Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250105738
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Wednesday Books - February 2nd, 2021

When Lo Denham wakes up from a coma, her parents are dead and her sister Bea has joined The Unity Project. Lo is sure that something sinister is going on with The Unity Project, so she sets out to expose it and its leader Lev Warren. The book will have you asking, what would you do to belong? Truly brilliant; I can't put words to how this book made me feel. My best read of last year.

April


April

We Keep the Dead Close

Staff Pick Badge
We Keep the Dead Close: A Murder at Harvard and a Half Century of Silence Cover Image
$29.00
ISBN: 9781538746837
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Grand Central Publishing - November 10th, 2020

 

More than a true crime book, more than a memoir, Becky Cooper weaves a compelling and vivid portrait of an unsolved murder at Harvard and pulls together threads of misogyny, issues with academic culture, silencing at elite institutions, and the ways that we rewrite the stories of female victims. A striking portrait for fans of I'll Be Gone in the Dark

April


Pride, Prejudice, and Other Flavors

Staff Pick Badge
Pride, Prejudice, and Other Flavors: A Novel (The Rajes Series #1) Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780062839053
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - May 7th, 2019

In Pride, Prejudice, and Other Flavors, Sonali Dev creates a vibrant modern Pride and Prejudice retelling that manages to feel fresh. Trisha Raje is a prominent neurosurgeon and DJ Caine is a rising-star chef who quits his job and moves to California because his sister is sick. The two collide—explosively—throughout the novel, and the tension and slow burn will keep you reading and wondering what will happen even if you know how Pride and Prejudice ends. I flew through it, captured by the tension, the well-developed characters and families, and the many, many descriptions of DJ's cooking. Bonus: The sequel comes out at the end of May!

 

April


A Cuban Girl's Guide to Tea and Tomorrow

Staff Pick Badge
A Cuban Girl's Guide to Tea and Tomorrow Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781534471245
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - November 10th, 2020

Lila's plans go awry when a series of losses sends her reeling and leads to her parents sending her from her beloved Miami to a small, medieval town in England to stay with family friends. Lila is determined to get home, but she soon finds new friends, a job baking at her aunt's inn, and a sweet romance with her tour-guide-turned-crush. A blend of delicious food, heart-squeezing romance, and a palpable feeling of love and warmth will keep you reading and make you want to stay in Lila's world even after you've turned the last page.

April


Waiting for Tom Hanks

Staff Pick Badge
Waiting for Tom Hanks Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9781984804020
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Berkley - June 11th, 2019

Annie is rom-com obsessed, and is waiting for her rom-com hero to sweep her off her feet—so could she really fall for Drew, a prankster who certainly isn't Tom Hanks? This romance is a fun ode to the romantic comedy genre and any romance or rom-com fans will be swept off their feet by this one.

April


Nevermoor

Staff Pick Badge
Nevermoor: The Trials of Morrigan Crow Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780316508896
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - September 25th, 2018

Morrigan Crow is cursed and cursed children die on their eleventh birthday. But instead, Morrigan is rescued by a fantastical man who whisks her off to a secret city called Nevermoor to begin a new life. This is one of the best middle grade fantasy series to come out in years. It's brilliant, creative, magical, and perfect for the Harry Potter fan in your life. 

April


When No One Is Watching

Staff Pick Badge
When No One Is Watching: A Thriller Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062982650
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - September 1st, 2020

Sydney's historically Black Brooklyn neighborhood seems to be changing before her eyes as "For Sale" signs pop up, and her neighbors start moving out without a word. But as Sydney does a deep dive for the history tour of the neighborhood that she's developing, she discovers that not everything is as it seems. This psychological thriller about gentrification is the book you need to be reading right now. It made my skin crawl and left me astounded at Cole's inventiveness and insightfulness. (And in true Alyssa Cole form, there is romance too.) 

April


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - April