April

The Crossing Places

Staff Pick Badge
The Crossing Places (Ruth Galloway Mysteries #1) Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780547386065
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Mariner Books - September 28th, 2010

The Crossing Places: When bones are found near her house, forensic archeologist Dr. Ruth Galloway is called in to help the police. She becomes enmeshed in the search for two missing girls and continues to get entangled with police investigations throughout the series. This series has revitalized my reading life; I can't put them down. 

April


These Witches Don't Burn

These Witches Don't Burn Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780451480347
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Razorbill - April 28th, 2020

Hannah is a witch—a real Elemental witch who can control the four elements—but even though she lives in Salem, MA, she has to keep her magic a closely guarded secret. But her life is upended when it seems that a blood witch has come to town and is threatening her coven—and she'll have to team up with her ex-girlfriend to investigate it. As the threats to the coven grow, the story becomes a fast-paced mystery with a side of romance. This was the perfect blend of sweet romance (and queerness), complex friendships, and thrilling mystery. And the second one's out now, so you can keep reading as soon as you're done—I promise you'll want to.

April


The Bromance Book Club

Staff Pick Badge
The Bromance Book Club Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781984806093
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Berkley - November 5th, 2019

 

When star baseball player Gavin Scott's wife asks for a divorce, he finds help from an unexpected source: a secret romance book club made of some of Nashville's most powerful men. With the help of the guys and a steamy Regency romance, Gavin will do everything he can to get his wife back—but will it be enough? And can his wife Thea fight her way through her own relationship struggles to accept Gavin's return? This romance novel is full of heart (and steaminess) and is a very different type of romance novel as it focuses on the hard work that marriage requires. 

April


The Trouble with Hating You

Staff Pick Badge
The Trouble with Hating You Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781538733332
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Forever - May 12th, 2020

 

Liya is a fiercely independent successful engineer who is completely resistant to her parents' attempts to set her up. So when she realizes that the dinner they invited her to is actually a set-up with an eligible bachelor, she walks out—only to find out that she has to work side-by-side with the guy two days later. This is a funny, heartstring-tugging, banter-filled enemies-to-lovers romance that has a delicious slow burn and completely worth it pay-off at the end.

April


Something to Talk About

Staff Pick Badge
Something to Talk About Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780593102527
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Berkley - May 26th, 2020

 

When showrunner Jo is photographed making her assistant laugh on the red carpet, they are immediately declared a couple by the media. Of course, this couldn't come at a worse time as it threatens Jo's new movie and Emma's upcoming promotion. As they begin to spend more and more time together, the question becomes—what if the rumor wasn't so off base after all? This is a delicious slow-burn of a romance that will keep you turning pages as you yell at them to just kiss already. Great for fans of Red, White, and Royal Blue.

April


Hello Girls

Staff Pick Badge
Hello Girls Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062803429
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - August 6th, 2019

 

I didn't know that I needed to read a YA retelling of Thelma and Louise until I picked up this one. Winona and Lucille are tired of feeling trapped in their lives, and they're ready for freedom. They realize they can't wait until graduation to get out, so they run, taking with them a stolen convertible and plans to get the three grand that they need to truly escape. This is a story of intense female friendship and the anger of young women trapped within the patriarchy and it will both pull your heartstrings and make you cheer for these girls to tear down the patriarchy. 

April


Pride, Prejudice, and Other Flavors

Pride, Prejudice, and Other Flavors: A Novel Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780062839053
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - May 7th, 2019

In Pride, Prejudice, and Other Flavors, Sonali Dev creates a vibrant modern Pride and Prejudice retelling that manages to feel fresh. Trisha Raje is a prominent neurosurgeon and DJ Caine is a rising-star chef who quits his job and moves to California because his sister is sick. The two collide—explosively—throughout the novel, and the tension and slow burn will keep you reading and wondering what will happen even if you know how Pride and Prejudice ends. I flew through it, captured by the tension, the well-developed characters and families, and the many, many descriptions of DJ's cooking. Bonus: The sequel comes out at the end of May!

 

April

 


American Royals

Staff Pick Badge
American Royals Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781984830173
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - September 3rd, 2019

 

Everyone knows that when America won the Revolutionary War, its people offered General George Washington a crown—and he accepted it. This is how American Royals begins. Imagine a world where America is about to have its first queen regent, where the age of monarchies never ended, and where the love of a young woman is powerful enough to change history. A soapy, escapist blockbuster full of drama, scandals, and romance. Perfect for fans of Red, White, and Royal Blue and The Royal We!

April


Infinity Son

Staff Pick Badge
Infinity Son (Infinity Cycle #1) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780062457820
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Quill Tree Books - January 14th, 2020

 

Infinity Son is a high-stakes, fast-paced adventure about a magical war between those born with magical powers and those who steal them. Brotherhood, love, and loyalty will be put to the test, and no one will escape the fight unscathed. Fans of Cassandra Clare with love this one.

April


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - April