April

Slay

Staff Pick Badge
SLAY Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781534445420
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon Pulse - September 24th, 2019

 

A high school senior secretly creates a massive multiplayer online role-playing game dedicated to black culture but is attacked in mainstream media after a player is murdered. Perfect for fans of The Hate You Give and Ready Player One. You'll be ready to SLAY when you're done.

April


The Right Swipe

Staff Pick Badge
The Right Swipe: A Novel Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9780062878090
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Avon - August 6th, 2019

 

In this modern romance, we meet Rhiannon, a cynical dating app owner who has a magical night with former pro-football player Samson Lima. But then he ghosts her...only to re-appear months later as a business competitor. Ouch. Rai engages with current issues such as the #MeToo movement and CTE in the NFL, and she does so masterfully while still creating a fun and enjoyable read. 

April


Wild and Crooked

Staff Pick Badge
Wild and Crooked Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781547600021
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bloomsbury YA - June 4th, 2019

 

Kalyn's father murdered Gus's father seventeen years ago. Or did he? In Wild and Crooked, Thomas delves into the prejudices around the murder that split their small Kentucky town and their families in half, while also deftly exploring family, social class, sexuality, homophobia, poverty, and disability in a way that never feels forced. The book avoids the trap of a Romeo and Juliet romance and instead focuses on family and friendship in a gripping, heartfelt novel of forgiveness and love.

April


The Key to Happily Ever After

Staff Pick Badge
The Key to Happily Ever After Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781501197581
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Gallery Books - May 14th, 2019

 

The Key To Happily Ever After: Three sisters inherit their family's wedding planning business in this fun, heartfelt rom-com. With the perfect blend of sisterhood, romance, and friendship, Marcelo brings the characters to life--and will enchant you with the wedding planning details throughout. Perfect for fans of Jasmine Guillory.

 

April


Birthday

Staff Pick Badge
Birthday: A Novel Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250129833
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Flatiron Books - May 21st, 2019

 

Birthday follows best-friends-from-birth Eric and Morgan over the course of their joint birthdays from ages thirteen to eighteen. It feels viscerally real as it faces issues such as homophobia and transphobia in the south, family tension, and the struggles of growing up in a poor rural area.

April


Georgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruit

Staff Pick Badge
Georgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruit Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780062271006
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: HarperTeen - May 8th, 2018

 

When Jo's dad, a popular radio preacher, moves them from Atlanta to the small town of Rome, Georgia, he asks Jo to do the impossible: go back in the closet and lie low for her senior year. But when she meets the perfect girl, how can she keep her secret and go after love? The perfect sweet, sexy, teen romance for fans of Love, Simon.

April


Book of Essie

Staff Pick Badge
The Book of Essie: A novel Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9780525520313
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Knopf - June 12th, 2018

 

The Book of Essie is a searing, insightful dissection of the intersections of reality-tv celebrity, toxic Christianity and buried secrets that will make you think, examine your own participation in the culture surrounding reality TV, break your heart--and put it back together.

 

April


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - April