April

Man O' War

Staff Pick Badge
Man o' War By Cory McCarthy Cover Image
$15.19
ISBN: 9780593353707
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Dutton Books for Young Readers - May 31st, 2022

Man O' War is a beautiful, evocatively told coming-of-age story of a young person trying to reconcile their sexuality and gender identity in a world that often feels hostile. Your heart will ache for River at times, but you'll always be cheering them on. Truly unforgettable.

April


Not My Problem

Staff Pick Badge
Not My Problem By Ciara Smyth Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780062957153
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: HarperTeen - May 24th, 2022

Aideen has a lot of things in her life that she can't fix, but when she gets roped into fixing problems for her classmates, her life spirals in a new direction. She can't fix her own problems but she can fix theirs. Perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli and YA rom-coms, touching on deeper issues alongside humor and sweet, well-earned queer romance.

April


Yerba Buena

Staff Pick Badge
Yerba Buena: A Novel By Nina LaCour Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250810465
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Flatiron Books - May 31st, 2022

Yerba Buena, Nina LaCour's adult debut, takes her trademark emotional resonance and brings it to an adult audience. A breathtaking modern queer love story with stunning prose and realistic romance, about love, family, and dealing with our pasts. Will tug on your heartstrings.

April


The Marvellers

Staff Pick Badge
The Marvellers By Dhonielle Clayton, Khadijah Khatib (Illustrator) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250174949
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - May 3rd, 2022

Dhonielle Clayton has a fresh, new take on the magic school trope in this entrancing and inclusive new series starter. Ella is the first conjurer to attend the Arcanum Magic Institute, and she must contend with others' prejudice while exploring her own power. Perfect for fans who didn't see themselves in those other magic books.

April


When You Call My Name

Staff Pick Badge
When You Call My Name By Tucker Shaw Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250624864
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - May 3rd, 2022

Both a love letter to the queer community and a vivid snapshot of what it was like to be gay in New York during the nineties, this book is a vital read for those looking to better understand modern gay history and appreciate our roots, for both teens and adults. A perfect read for Pride month, it pulled on my heartstrings and I think it will for you too.

April


My Dearest Darkest

Staff Pick Badge
My Dearest Darkest By Kayla Cottingham Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781728236414
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Sourcebooks Fire - March 29th, 2022

 

This is a YA sapphic horror novel that asks the question: What would you give to achieve your deepest wishes? It's an atmospheric, creepy novel that at the same time manages to have sweet romance and funny moments. Read it for a marriage of Jennifer's Body and The Craft or give it to the horror-loving teen in your life.

April


A Marvellous Light

Staff Pick Badge
A Marvellous Light (The Last Binding #1) By Freya Marske Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9781250788870
Availability: Available to Order from Supplier: Arrives at Store in a Week(ish)
Published: Tordotcom - November 2nd, 2021

 

I was tempted to just write Gay! Historical! Magic! as a recommendation for this one because that would convince me, but if you want a little more—Robin is a civil servant who gets accidentally involved in the secret magical society of early 1900s London. Adventure, mystery, queer romance—it's all there!

April


If This Gets Out

Staff Pick Badge
If This Gets Out: A Novel By Sophie Gonzales, Cale Dietrich Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250805805
Availability: Available to Order from Supplier: Arrives at Store in a Week(ish)
Published: Wednesday Books - December 7th, 2021

Ruben and Zach are members of superstar boy band Saturday on a worldwide tour when they start developing feelings for each other. Will their romance keep them together as they navigate the layers of coming out? This book is for anyone who swooned over One Direction or who wants a queer YA romance that is rewarding and sweet while not ignoring the complexities of teen queerness.

April


It Happened One Summer

Staff Pick Badge
It Happened One Summer: A Novel By Tessa Bailey Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780063045651
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Avon - July 13th, 2021

When Piper, fashionable influencer in LA, throws a party that ends with her in jail, her stepfather exiles her to small-town Washington to learn a lesson about hard work. There, she meets gruff fisherman Brendan, and sparks fly immediately. This is a steamy, romantic story that delves into family and finding home and belonging. It's Schitt's Creek–inspired, so if you like that, this book is for you! 

April


The Gilded Wolves

Staff Pick Badge
The Gilded Wolves: A Novel By Roshani Chokshi Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9781250144553
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Wednesday Books - September 22nd, 2020

Set in an alternate nineteenth-century Paris, The Gilded Wolves features a uniquely inventive magic system that sets the backdrop for a thrilling heist story. The six main characters are distinct, well-developed, and come from diverse backgrounds and the books tackle issues of colonialism and cultural appropriation in a fantasy setting. Be ready to tear through the whole trilogy because once you start, you won't be able to stop! 

April


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - April