August 2019

Playing Changes

Staff Pick Badge
Playing Changes: Jazz for the New Century Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781101873496
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - July 23rd, 2019

 

Chinen’s book is so very welcome as books about contemporary jazz are few and far between, but also because it’s terrific. Chinen puts into context each of the various directions players are taking improvisational music today with a studied thoughtfulness based upon careful listening and deep historical knowledge. The discographies bookmarking each chapter as well as his list of essential 21st century albums are good guideposts for anyone’s future listening. 

Dale 


Fever Dream

Staff Pick Badge
Fever Dream: A Novel Cover Image
By Samanta Schweblin, Megan McDowell (Translated by)
$16.00
ISBN: 9780399184604
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - March 6th, 2018

 

Samanta Schweblin's FEVER DREAM is exactly what the title suggests: an atmospheric drift through a nightmare world of sideways logic and slow-building horror. You'll find yourself consuming it in one sitting, double-checking the locks and turning on all the lights in the house as you go.

Kate


Age of Light

Staff Pick Badge
The Age of Light: A Novel Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780316524087
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown and Company - February 5th, 2019

 

When done well - and this is certainly done well! - good historical "bio-fiction" captures their characters' essence but places them in a context of urgency, of narrative and of emotion.  This novel about photographers Lee Miller and Man Ray (she was also his model and muse), in Paris in the late 20s-early 30s, makes you feel like you know them both intimately, that you're in the room for the tempestuous and intense love, fighting, jealousy, art and passion that was their relationship and through which they produced their bewitching and important art.   

 

David 


Red Rising

Staff Pick Badge
Red Rising (Red Rising Series #1) Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780345539809
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Del Rey - July 15th, 2014

 

This series is my FAVORITE thing to come out of the last decade. For everyone who's anticipating the resurrection of the Dune franchise this is "so what if exciting stuff constantly happened in Dune". But better. Just read it. If you like sci-fi even a little bit you will love it.  

Caleb


Bachelor Nation

Staff Pick Badge
Bachelor Nation: Inside the World of America's Favorite Guilty Pleasure Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781101985915
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dutton - February 5th, 2019

 

Why are so many people obsessed with this show? Amy Kaufman dives headfirst into the extensive production behind the The Bachelor, revealing all the secrets that create the reality TV fantasy. If you're a fan (or just a hate-watcher), you should pick up this book.

Rebecca


The Key to Happily Ever After

Staff Pick Badge
The Key to Happily Ever After Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781501197581
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Gallery Books - May 14th, 2019

 

The Key To Happily Ever After: Three sisters inherit their family's wedding planning business in this fun, heartfelt rom-com. With the perfect blend of sisterhood, romance, and friendship, Marcelo brings the characters to life--and will enchant you with the wedding planning details throughout. Perfect for fans of Jasmine Guillory.

 

April


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - August 2019