Boston Edition

The Thing About Jellyfish

Staff Pick Badge
The Thing About Jellyfish Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780316380843
Availability: In Stock-Click Title to See Store Inventory
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - April 4th, 2017

While everyone else believes that a drowning accident took Franny Jackson's life, her best friend Suzy Swanson is on a self-imposed mission to find the real culprit of her death. What is grief? When is it okay to let go? How do you move on? Ali Benjamin presents answers to all of these difficult questions in her stunning debut. Beautifully written and heartfelt to the core, The Thing About Jellyfish is the kind of book that you read as a kid and still remember years down the line.

Cindy


To Break a Covenant

Staff Pick Badge
To Break a Covenant Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781645672067
Availability: In Stock-Click Title to See Store Inventory
Published: Page Street Kids - September 21st, 2021

Fans of Plain Bad Heroines and Wilder Girls will love this book. Moon Basin is the type of haunted town that draws in Ghost Hunters from all over the country, and one summer four friends realize the chilling truth of what it means that no one ever leaves. This book is the type of bone-chilling you won’t be able to look away from.

Katherine
 


Payback's a Witch

Staff Pick Badge
Payback's a Witch (The Witches of Thistle Grove #1) Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780593336069
Availability: In Stock-Click Title to See Store Inventory
Published: Berkley - October 5th, 2021

Charmed and Practical Magic meet John Tucker Must Die (along with a sprinkle of queer romance) in this delightful gem of a novel. Returning to Thistle Grove, her magical home town, Emmy Harlow is surprised to learn it’s not just her who has been burned by her ex-flame, Gareth. So she teams up with Linden Thorn, her long time best friend, and the seductive and mysterious Talia Avramov to take him down a peg. Sexy, charming, and downright magical, this book is the perfect Halloween read for anyone who’s a little more Hocus Pocus than The Conjuring.

Katherine


The Love Hypothesis

Staff Pick Badge
The Love Hypothesis Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780593336823
Availability: In Stock-Click Title to See Store Inventory
Published: Berkley - September 14th, 2021

Filled to the brim with quirky characters, witty dialogue, and the most unexpected setting (Stanford!), The Love Hypothesis is a beauty of a story. If you're looking for a fast read that manages to toe the line between uber-serious commentary and lighthearted fun, this unlikely contemporary romance between a struggling PhD student and the notorious professor who fails just about everyone in his path is definitely for you! (And don't worry, the scientific lingo is hilarious and easy to follow along, even for people (like myself) who are not very... STEM-inclined, let's just say.)

Cindy


The Breathless Zoo

Staff Pick Badge
The Breathless Zoo: Taxidermy and the Cultures of Longing (Animalibus #1) Cover Image
$34.95
It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Information
ISBN: 9780271053738
Published: Penn State University Press - May 15th, 2013

In the introduction of The Breathless Zoo, author Rachel Poliquin remarks on an exhibit of taxidermied polar bears retrieved from across Great Britain: "If the bears provide a critique of past collecting practices, they also make material the intrinsic worth of preserving animals." This can be taken as a summary for the entirety of The Breathless Zoo, a beautiful, melancholy exploration of the practice of taxidermy and its complicated history. If you, like me, have ever wandered through a natural history museum and felt both awed and discomforted by the animals on display, this book is for you.

Piera


Skyhunter

Staff Pick Badge
Skyhunter (Skyhunter Duology #1) Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781250802699
Availability: In Stock-Click Title to See Store Inventory
Published: Square Fish - August 31st, 2021

Maybe you know Marie Lu from the Legend series. Or the Warcross duology. But I'm willing to bet that Skyhunter, Marie's newest young adult sci-fi duology, has flown under your radar. Set in a military base and the midst of several warring countries, Skyhunter is full of dark twists and turns and thoughtful commentary on race, sexuality, and the consequences of colonization. The stakes are ridiculously high, the suspense a veil of smoke. Skyhunter is a must-read for fans of dystopian.

Cindy


A Lesson in Vengeance

Staff Pick Badge
A Lesson in Vengeance Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780593305829
Availability: In Stock-Click Title to See Store Inventory
Published: Delacorte Press - August 3rd, 2021

Sapphic dark academia, pulling on the complicated and witchy bonds of female relationships and weaving them into a fantastic tapestry you can’t look away from. It’s witchy and addictining and you’ll find yourself pulling back layer after layer of secrets. If this book had come out when I was in highschool, it would be my whole personality. It made me absolutely and completely feral, and I loved every second of it.

Katherine


Footnotes From The World's Greatest Bookstore

Staff Pick Badge
Footnotes from the World's Greatest Bookstores: True Tales and Lost Moments from Book Buyers, Booksellers, and Book Lovers Cover Image
By Bob Eckstein, Garrison Keillor (Foreword by)
$22.00
ISBN: 9780553459272
Availability: Available at Wholesaler
Published: Clarkson Potter - October 4th, 2016

As your new Porter Square Books: Boston Edition is getting ready to share a fantastical new book world with you (secret bookshelf passageways!?!), explore the other amazing book havens around the world. Eckstein beautifully compiles not only illustrations of our fellow independent book stores, but he also shares little anecdotes and thoughts from fun minds like Neil Gaiman, Terry Gross, and even David Bowie. Celebrate the Porter Square: Boston Edition beginning with a hearty bookstore loving book!

Kai


The World Gives Way

Staff Pick Badge
The World Gives Way: A Novel Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780316592413
Availability: Available at Wholesaler
Published: Redhook - June 15th, 2021

The word "timely" is used too often in reviews, but after a year where the rich got richer and the poor were faced with everything from mass unemployment to death, a story about an indentured servant who works in a world where the rich work to save themselves after destroying world after world is exactly that.  Despite the inevitable end that this book promises, Levien weaves hope and humanity into every line.

Katherine


Beyonce: Shine Your Light

Staff Pick Badge
Beyoncé: Shine Your Light Cover Image
By Sarah Warren, Geneva Bowers (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781328585165
Availability: In Stock-Click Title to See Store Inventory
Published: Clarion Books - June 4th, 2019

Celebrate the queen, Beyonce’s, September birthday with this bright, brilliant biography! We get to sing and dance with Beyonce from her childhood to her adulthood, realizing what drove her to who she is today. A lovely and inspiring book that recognizes the story behind such a powerful musical icon. 

Kai


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Boston Edition