Caleb

American Animals

Staff Pick Badge
American Animals: A True Crime Memoir Cover Image
$12.79
ISBN: 9781684424504
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Turner - March 31st, 2020

You ever go into a museum and ask yourself what would stop you from just taking something and walking right out the front door? Maybe, but you sure don't act on it (I hope). The kids in this true story did. Find out what happens when four college students carry out an art heist in this utterly fascinating true crime comedy of errors. And if you haven't seen the movie, do it. If you have, this pairs with it perfectly, offering a fresh new point of view.

Caleb


Field Guide to the North American Teenager

Staff Pick Badge
The Field Guide to the North American Teenager Cover Image
$8.79
ISBN: 9780062824127
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Balzer + Bray - January 7th, 2020

Much like me, the last thing Norris wanted was to move across the country, leaving his friends (and his hockey team) behind to go to high school in Texas. It's hot, it's sticky, and it might as well be another planet. Guess he better find a way to make the best of it...or escape. This book charmed me, in spite of my resistance to go back to the land where football and church are the same thing. 

Caleb


The Cubs Way

Staff Pick Badge
The Cubs Way: The Zen of Building the Best Team in Baseball and Breaking the Curse Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780804190039
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Three Rivers Press - April 3rd, 2018

 

Baseball is finally back! Gear up for the 2020 season with this fantastic look at the making of a championship (and curse-breaking) team; don't worry, there are no trash cans in this one. 

 

Caleb


Nyxia

Staff Pick Badge
Nyxia (The Nyxia Triad #1) Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780399556821
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Ember - June 19th, 2018

 

This is a perfect series to tide you over while you wait for the second coming of the Hunger Games. While the "compete for survival" premise might sound familiar, there are plenty of sci-fi twists to keep you frantically turning the pages. And it's in space, where no one can hear you scream! Or CAN they....? 

Caleb


Kissing the Witch

Staff Pick Badge
Shadow of the Batgirl Cover Image
By Sarah Kuhn, Nicole Goux (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781401289782
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: DC Comics - February 4th, 2020

 

One of my favorite members of the bat-family is finally getting a spotlight moment! Whether you're excited about the new Birds of Prey movie or just looking for a charming tale about overcoming your past, this graphic novel makes for a great introduction to Cassandra Cain. Perfect for superhero fans young and old!

Caleb


If We Were Villains

Staff Pick Badge
If We Were Villains: A Novel Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250095299
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Flatiron Books - April 17th, 2018

 

It's time for another meeting of Caleb's Artsy-Academics-With-Dark-Secrets Book Club! If We Were Villains is the tale of a cohort of acting students who get a little too caught up in the menace and magic of Shakespeare. It's not so much about how a crime happens as about how crime affects those in its wake. Perfect for fans of The Secret History! 

Caleb


Go Ahead in the Rain

Staff Pick Badge
Go Ahead in the Rain: Notes to a Tribe Called Quest Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781477316481
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: University of Texas Press - February 1st, 2019

 

Abdurraqib catalogs musical history with a mythic, yet personal, reverence, sharing his heroes in a way that makes them accessible while canonizing them as larger-than-life icons. Whether you’re a longtime fan of A Tribe Called Quest or a total initiate, this book holds  something fresh for you; this is what all culture writing should aspire to.

Caleb


Vamos! Let's Go To The Market

Staff Pick Badge
¡Vamos! Let's Go to the Market Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781328557261
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Versify - April 2nd, 2019

 

Vamos! Let's Go To The Market checks all my boxes for what makes a perfect picture book. The artwork is beautiful and fun, there's so much to discover within every page (perfect for repeat readings!) and the conversational mix of English and Spanish makes for a wonderful learning experience. I wish I had had this book as a kid!

Caleb


East of West: The Apocalypse Year One

Staff Pick Badge
East of West: The Apocalypse Year One Cover Image
$49.99
ISBN: 9781632154309
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Image Comics - July 21st, 2015

 

East of West is Stephen King's The Stand with the genre trappings cranked up to 11. It's an apocalypse yarn that manages to center everything around the family, giving every emotional beat heart-wrenchingly high stakes. You won't find Four Horsemen as ghoulish and charming as these. Plus, now that the series has reached its finale the only cliffhangers are the ones you create for yourself.

Caleb


Chronicles of Prydain Boxed Set

Staff Pick Badge
The Chronicles of Prydain Boxed Set Cover Image
$39.95
ISBN: 9781250000934
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Square Fish - October 25th, 2011

 

The Prydain Chronicles are a fantasy classic equally worth re-visiting or discovering for the first time. Whether you're new to fantasy (hello, Rick Riordan fans!) or a weathered veteran, this series provides all the magic and fellowship of Lord of the Rings as it deftly crafts its story from the bones of Welsh mythology. For bonus points: I'm pretty sure Princess Eilonwy is the original Hermione Granger.

Caleb


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Caleb