Caleb

New Year's Sale 2021

FROM JANUARY 11th-JANUARY 31st SELECT TITLES WILL BE 20% OFF WHILE SUPPLIES LAST. CLICK HERE FOR THE FULL LIST.

These Violent Delights

Staff Pick Badge
These Violent Delights: A Novel Cover Image
$22.39
ISBN: 9780062963635
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper - September 15th, 2020

Easily one of the best books of the year!  Paul and Julian will push and pull at your heartstrings with the expertise of grandmasters, and months after reading their twisted tale I am unable to evict them from my head. Initially skeptical of the comparison to The Secret History, this Tartt devotee is a convert to Nemerever's achingly rendered world, which effortlessly lives up to the billing.

Caleb


Julieta and the Diamond Enigma

Staff Pick Badge
Julieta and the Diamond Enigma Cover Image
$15.16
ISBN: 9781643790466
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tu Books - June 30th, 2020

A missing diamond! Mystery across two continents (and several languages)! A tour around all of the neatest attractions of Paris, with plenty of shenanigans and sleuthing along the way. This story has tons of fun, plenty of fascinating tidbits, and my new favorite girl detective. Julieta immediately feels like a classic children's lit star!

Caleb


Ex Machina Omnibus

Staff Pick Badge
Ex Machina Compendium One Cover Image
By Brian K. Vaughan, Tony Harris (Illustrator)
$59.99
ISBN: 9781401299897
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: DC Comics - March 24th, 2020

Somehow, in spite of my love for Saga, Runaways, and all of BKV's other modern classics, I missed Ex Machina. Finally discovered it through this omnibus and WOW! As timely now as it was when it was first released this techno-thriller is rooted in the real world while offering some sterling sci-fi. Makes for a great gift or quarantine binge.

 

Caleb


Avatar: The Last Airbender: The Promise

Staff Pick Badge
Avatar: The Last Airbender: The Promise Library Edition Cover Image
By Gene Luen Yang, Gurihiru (Illustrator), Bryan Koneitzko, Gurihiru (Illustrator)
$39.99
ISBN: 9781616550745
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dark Horse Books - February 19th, 2013

Picking up exactly where the animated series left off, this is a perfect read for everyone who, like myself, spent parts of their pandemic re-visiting the world of The Last Avatar. The art meshes perfectly with the show and the writing nails each character so well you can't help but hear their voices in your head. 

Caleb


The Magicians: The New Class

Staff Pick Badge
The Magicians: The New Class Cover Image
By Lev Grossman, Lilah Sturges, Pius Bak (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781684155651
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Archaia - August 25th, 2020

Whether you're a fan of the dearly departed TV show, a devotee of the original novels, or just a passerby looking for a gripping, diverse, "adult Harry Potter"-style tale of magic and murder, this is the graphic novel for you. This is a fresh new take on one of my favorite franchises and I was instantly hooked. More please.

Caleb


Before the Ever After

Staff Pick Badge
Before the Ever After Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780399545436
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Nancy Paulsen Books - September 1st, 2020

I always love Jacqueline Woodson's work, but even with my high expectations her new book has no problem living up to the hype. This is a timely family story and I love how it portrays a vibrant family while raising awareness to some of the more tragic angles of sports. You'll fall in love with the characters as well as Woodson's always excellent verse. Perfect for fans of Kwame Alexander's The Crossover.

Caleb


These Violent Delights

Staff Pick Badge
These Violent Delights: A Novel Cover Image
$22.39
ISBN: 9780062963635
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper - September 15th, 2020

 

Easily one of the best books of the year!  Paul and Julian will push and pull at your heartstrings with the expertise of grandmasters, and months after reading their twisted tale I am unable to evict them from my head. Initially skeptical of the comparison to The Secret History, this Tartt devotee is a convert to Nemerever's achingly rendered world, which effortlessly lives up to the billing. 

 

Caleb


Pink Mountain on Locust Island

Staff Pick Badge
Pink Mountain on Locust Island Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781566895941
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Coffee House Press - September 8th, 2020

I can never remember the exact title of this book but I'm not likely to forget the riveting characters anytime soon. They're flawed and fascinating, and even their most mundane actions are compelling. A perfect crossover title (Lau was only a teenager when she wrote it, which makes me want to scream), this one is full of the kind of lines that deserve to be written in fancy script all over your wall.

 

Caleb


The Demon King

Staff Pick Badge
The Demon King (A Seven Realms Novel #1) Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781423121367
Availability: Available at Wholesaler
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - August 31st, 2010

I was late getting my staff pick write-up in because I was busy reading the sequel to this. The Seven Realms series is the perfect sort of classic fantasy: there are wizards, lost royalty, disguises, and a whole cast of memorable characters getting in all sorts of trouble. I can't believe I slept on this series for so long but I'm making up for lost time now!

Caleb


Julieta and the Diamond Enigma

Staff Pick Badge
Julieta and the Diamond Enigma Cover Image
$15.16
ISBN: 9781643790466
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tu Books - June 30th, 2020

A missing diamond! Mystery across two continents (and several languages)! A tour around all of the neatest attractions of Paris, with plenty of shenanigans and sleuthing along the way. This story has tons of fun, plenty of fascinating tidbits, and my new favorite girl detective. Julieta immediately feels like a classic children's lit star!

Caleb


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Caleb