Caleb

A Little Devil in America

Staff Pick Badge
A Little Devil in America: Notes in Praise of Black Performance Cover Image
$21.60
ISBN: 9781984801197
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House - March 30th, 2021

Another absolutely essential read from Hanif Abdurraqib! Like They Can't Kill Us Until They Kill Us, this is a keen insight into pop culture that is part history, part memoir, but with a tighter focus, one that celebrates Black performance. As always, Hanif puts on a master class on empathy, something we could all use more of.

Caleb


Plunge

Staff Pick Badge
Plunge (Hill House Comics) Cover Image
By Joe Hill, Stuart Immonen (Illustrator)
$24.99
ISBN: 9781779506887
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: DC Comics - November 17th, 2020

This whole line of comics from Joe Hill is perfect for anyone who loves classic horror, and The Plunge is probably my favorite of the batch. Wonderfully illustrated by Stuart Immonen, this one-off graphic novel features all the best parts of Lovecraftian horror, without all the problematic elements!

Caleb


Caleb

The Ruin of Kings

Staff Pick Badge
The Ruin of Kings (A Chorus of Dragons #1) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250175502
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Books - September 10th, 2019

This series is utterly bonkers and I am utterly obsessed. Reincarnated gods and identity theft run rampant through this high fantasy that reads like an apocalyptic Kingkiller Chronicles. For bonus points, Jenn Lyons actually crushes deadlines and book four is coming soon! 

Caleb


The Seven Torments of Amy and Craig

Staff Pick Badge
The Seven Torments of Amy and Craig (A Love Story) Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781368010061
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - September 17th, 2019

No time like Valentine's Day Month for a tale of teen heartbreak! This has all my favorite YA romance ingredients: aspiring artists in small towns, family quirks/drama, Dungeons & Dragons, and of course...breakups. Perfect for fans of Super Fake Love Song.

Caleb


These Violent Delights

Staff Pick Badge
These Violent Delights: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062963635
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper - September 15th, 2020

Easily one of the best books of the year!  Paul and Julian will push and pull at your heartstrings with the expertise of grandmasters, and months after reading their twisted tale I am unable to evict them from my head. Initially skeptical of the comparison to The Secret History, this Tartt devotee is a convert to Nemerever's achingly rendered world, which effortlessly lives up to the billing.

Caleb


Julieta and the Diamond Enigma

Staff Pick Badge
Julieta and the Diamond Enigma Cover Image
$18.95
ISBN: 9781643790466
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tu Books - June 30th, 2020

A missing diamond! Mystery across two continents (and several languages)! A tour around all of the neatest attractions of Paris, with plenty of shenanigans and sleuthing along the way. This story has tons of fun, plenty of fascinating tidbits, and my new favorite girl detective. Julieta immediately feels like a classic children's lit star!

Caleb


Ex Machina Omnibus

Staff Pick Badge
Ex Machina Compendium One Cover Image
By Brian K. Vaughan, Tony Harris (Illustrator)
$59.99
ISBN: 9781401299897
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: DC Comics - March 24th, 2020

Somehow, in spite of my love for Saga, Runaways, and all of BKV's other modern classics, I missed Ex Machina. Finally discovered it through this omnibus and WOW! As timely now as it was when it was first released this techno-thriller is rooted in the real world while offering some sterling sci-fi. Makes for a great gift or quarantine binge.

 

Caleb


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Caleb