Caleb

Lies of Locke Lamora

The Lies of Locke Lamora (Gentleman Bastards #1) Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780553588941
Availability: In Stock-Click Title to See Store Inventory
Published: Del Rey - June 26th, 2007

 

This series is my biggest new obsession of quarantine. It's like grown-up Oliver Twist but in pseudo-Venice and with just the right amounts of fantasy elements. Locke, Jean, and their whole band of delightful con-artists are my new favorite bastards, and I can't get enough of their adventures! 

Caleb


Ashlords

Staff Pick Badge
Ashlords Cover Image
$17.99
It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Information
ISBN: 9780593119174
Published: Crown Books for Young Readers - January 21st, 2020

 

Ashlords is one you won't be able to put down! It has something for everyone - sci-fi horse racing, phoenixes, SCIENCE, fights to the death, ghosts?, dimension hopping, and more! - and yet it never feels crowded or overly complicated. You'll be frantically turning the pages in this total adrenaline rush! 

Caleb


Clap When You Land

Staff Pick Badge
Clap When You Land Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780062882769
Availability: In Stock-Click Title to See Store Inventory
Published: Quill Tree Books - May 5th, 2020

Elizabeth Acevedo has done it again! Like in her award-winning The Poet X Acevedo gives us a beautiful, lyrical look into the life of her protagonists. What I love about this is that in spite of the gripping premise (two girls from opposite sides of the world discover they are half-sisters after their father dies) there’s such a focus on the specific lives of each main character. There are no blanket statements about the two cultures they hail from (though plenty of insights into both), just two people that seem so real they could walk off the page. 

Caleb


Paul is Dead

Staff Pick Badge
Paul Is Dead Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781534316294
Availability: In Stock-Click Title to See Store Inventory
Published: Image Comics - June 9th, 2020

This is an absolute must for Beatles fans! I’ve read so many books on the “Paul Is Dead” conspiracy that I was hesitant when I saw this coming out, but I was pleasantly surprised to find a fresh twist, rooted in reality, but with plenty of nods to my favorite urban legend. As for the art, I dare you to find a more beautiful graphic novel; each page is a treat!

 

Caleb


American Animals

Staff Pick Badge
American Animals: A True Crime Memoir Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781684424504
Availability: Available at Wholesaler
Published: Turner - March 31st, 2020

You ever go into a museum and ask yourself what would stop you from just taking something and walking right out the front door? Maybe, but you sure don't act on it (I hope). The kids in this true story did. Find out what happens when four college students carry out an art heist in this utterly fascinating true crime comedy of errors. And if you haven't seen the movie, do it. If you have, this pairs with it perfectly, offering a fresh new point of view.

Caleb


Field Guide to the North American Teenager

Staff Pick Badge
The Field Guide to the North American Teenager Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780062824127
Availability: In Stock-Click Title to See Store Inventory
Published: Balzer + Bray - January 7th, 2020

Much like me, the last thing Norris wanted was to move across the country, leaving his friends (and his hockey team) behind to go to high school in Texas. It's hot, it's sticky, and it might as well be another planet. Guess he better find a way to make the best of it...or escape. This book charmed me, in spite of my resistance to go back to the land where football and church are the same thing. 

Caleb


Nyxia

Staff Pick Badge
Nyxia (The Nyxia Triad #1) Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780399556821
Availability: Available at Wholesaler
Published: Ember - June 19th, 2018

 

This is a perfect series to tide you over while you wait for the second coming of the Hunger Games. While the "compete for survival" premise might sound familiar, there are plenty of sci-fi twists to keep you frantically turning the pages. And it's in space, where no one can hear you scream! Or CAN they....? 

Caleb


Kissing the Witch

Staff Pick Badge
Shadow of the Batgirl Cover Image
By Sarah Kuhn, Nicole Goux (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781401289782
Availability: Available at Wholesaler
Published: DC Comics - February 4th, 2020

 

One of my favorite members of the bat-family is finally getting a spotlight moment! Whether you're excited about the new Birds of Prey movie or just looking for a charming tale about overcoming your past, this graphic novel makes for a great introduction to Cassandra Cain. Perfect for superhero fans young and old!

Caleb


If We Were Villains

Staff Pick Badge
If We Were Villains: A Novel Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250095299
Availability: In Stock-Click Title to See Store Inventory
Published: Flatiron Books - April 17th, 2018

 

It's time for another meeting of Caleb's Artsy-Academics-With-Dark-Secrets Book Club! If We Were Villains is the tale of a cohort of acting students who get a little too caught up in the menace and magic of Shakespeare. It's not so much about how a crime happens as about how crime affects those in its wake. Perfect for fans of The Secret History! 

Caleb


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Caleb