Cindy

A Gathering Dark

Staff Pick Badge
The Gathering Dark: An Anthology of Folk Horror By Erica Waters, Chloe Gong, Tori Bovalino, Hannah Whitten, Allison Saft, Olivia Chadha, Courtney Gould, Aden Polydoros, SMP Alex Brown, Shakira Toussaint Cover Image
$15.19
ISBN: 9781645676225
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Page Street Kids - September 6th, 2022

An unexpectedly thrilling and eerie collection of stories from a cast of well-known and well-loved YA authors! This is a perfect introduction for anyone looking to dip their toes into the horror genre. Each story is self-contained, so you really could spend several, separate nights snuggling under the covers and reading to the tune of rain and thunder outside your window without the stress and worry of finishing a massive, nightmare-inducing volume prior to bed. (Also, Chloe Gong is in it!)

Cindy


I'm So (Not) Over You

Staff Pick Badge
I'm So (Not) Over You By Kosoko Jackson Cover Image
$12.80
ISBN: 9780593334447
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Berkley - February 22nd, 2022

Perfectly balancing the humorous and heart-wrenching in the same breath, Kosoko Jackson's debut is an impressive one! Set against the backdrop of Georgia's "wedding of the year," two exes find themselves entangled in fake dating scheme. I loved the two protagonists with my whole being and found myself touched by the important discussions of class, queerness, and family identity that were brought up and dealt with so sincerely in this book. This is a rom-com about two exes that fake a relationship for a family wedding, yes, but it's also so much more. This will be perfect for fans of Casey McQuiston!

Cindy


Don't Call Me a Hurricane

Staff Pick Badge
Don't Call Me a Hurricane By Ellen Hagan Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781547609161
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Bloomsbury YA - July 19th, 2022

Ever since her home was ravaged by a hurricane, high school senior Eliza has found comfort and carthasis in vocalizing her passion for combating climate change in her hometown. However, her world is flipped dangerously and disastrously upside down a second time when a certain tourist named Milo enters her world and leaves a sandy footprint. Surely the volley of her heart can't be attributed to him...? Rich with resonance, Don't Call Me a Hurricane is a whirlpool of a story about love and home and the price of getting stuck in the riptide of feeling.

Cindy 


The Bodyguard

Staff Pick Badge
The Bodyguard: A Novel By Katherine Center Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250219398
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: St. Martin's Press - July 19th, 2022

This is my first Katherine Center book and it's certainly not going to be my last. Center writes with a chaotic, lighthearted, and humorous hand while at the same time not sacrificing the integrity of the storyline. This was a fun read that (1) totally subverted my expectations (2) made Jack Stapleton my new golden standard for fictional men. This is the perfect book for anyone who enjoys the charm of Emily Henry and the humor of Ali Hazelwood!

Cindy


In the Beautiful Country

Staff Pick Badge
In the Beautiful Country By Jane Kuo Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780063118980
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Quill Tree Books - June 28th, 2022

In the Beautiful Country is a story about a girl, her family, and their tumultuous pursuit of the American Dream. Heavy with the weight of what we call home, this book is full of rich introspection and stunning lines. These poems plant you right into Anna's world: a small city in California called Duarte, a school of bullies, a church of friends, a cozy apartment with a pull-out couch, and a restaurant named Dino's at the edge of Route 66. Kuo's fluid writing makes you forget that you're reading at all.

Cindy


The Dead Romantics

Staff Pick Badge
The Dead Romantics By Ashley Poston Cover Image
$13.60
ISBN: 9780593336489
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Berkley - June 28th, 2022

This is a story that haunts you in the best way. Having run from her hometown of ghosts, Florence Day, a successful ghostwriter and an undertaker's estranged daughter, thinks her life is perfect...until she experiences a nasty breakup and suddenly finds herself unable to write about love. Benji Andor, her new(ly dead) editor and the ghost that keeps haunting her at every turn complicates some already tricky matters with his attempts to help. Florence has 340 pages to figure out the meaning of home, what and who she loves, and how to handle the unlikeliest relationships blossoming in a graveyard of all places.

Cindy


Portrait of a Thief

Staff Pick Badge
Portrait of a Thief: A Novel By Grace D. Li Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780593184738
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Tiny Reparations Books - April 5th, 2022

Portrait of a Thief is the heist novel with a marvelous and dynamic all-Asian cast that will make you laugh and cry, with stakes that will keep your hands (pleasantly) sweating and your heart racing an unsteady beat. Don't believe me? Weike Wang, author of Chemistry, calls it a "slick, dazzling" read.

Cindy


Private Label

Staff Pick Badge
Private Label By Kelly Yang Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062941107
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - May 31st, 2022

Kelly Yang's Private Label is a brilliant contemplation of what becomes of dreams once disaster strikes. Following two Chinese American teenagers who seem to be from entirely different universes--assured fashion designer Serene and new kid on the block Lian--Yang weaves a gripping YA tale that ultimately discusses how worlds can fall apart and slowly be put back together again with the help of unlikely friendships (and maybe something more).

Cindy


Alone

Staff Pick Badge
Alone By Megan E. Freeman Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781534467576
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Aladdin - May 3rd, 2022

 

Alone is a middle grade novel in verse that follows the story of Maddie and her Rottweiler George as they settle into the aftermath of a surprise evacuation of their small town. Abandoned and entirely alone, Maddie and George have to figure out creative ways to survive, though they quickly find out that the hardest part about this is not fighting off packs of wild animals, but rather the bone-deep loneliness of total isolation from the rest of the world. Perfect for any kiddos and adults who enjoy a gripping story and a plotline that is superbly unexpected.

Cindy


You Deserve Each Other

Staff Pick Badge
You Deserve Each Other By Sarah Hogle Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780593085424
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - April 7th, 2020

 

Naomi and Nicholas are the lovey dovey fiances everyone's jealous of. But they're both burdened by an earth-shattering secret...they actually despise one another. With the wedding coming hot at their heels, It's too late to back out, though neither of them wants to tank the cost of their wedding by calling it quits. Suddenly, their "happily ever after" becomes a battle of wills: who's going to outlast the other in this crumbling relationship? Full of hilarious dialogue and trickery to last a lifetime, Sarah Hogle's debut You Deserve Each Other is the unconventional lovers-to-enemies-to-??? rom-com you didn't know you needed.

Cindy


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Cindy