February 2018

They Can't Kill Us Until They Kill Us

Staff Pick Logo
They Can't Kill Us Until They Kill Us Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781937512651
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Two Dollar Radio - November 7th, 2017

Like the music he writes about, Hanif Abdurraqib's essay collection is by turns novel and nostalgic, euphoric and poignant, contemplative and raw. A moving examination of the way pop culture ties into the current state of our nation--and how it affects us on a personal level.

 

Kate


American Panda

Staff Pick Logo
American Panda Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781481499101
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon Pulse - February 6th, 2018

Mei's all set to fulfill her parents' plan: she's a freshman at MIT on the path to becoming a doctor and marrying the perfect Taiwanese Ivy Leaguer. The only problem? She hates germs, is bored by biology class, and has a crush on her decidedly not Taiwanese classmate. When Mei reconnects with her estranged brother Xing, she must decide whether all the secrets are worth it. This smart, funny YA debut is for fans of Sarah Dessen or Jennifer Smith.

Rebecca


Meet Cute

Staff Pick Logo
Meet Cute Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781328759870
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Houghton Mifflin - January 2nd, 2018

Meet Cute is a YA short story anthology celebrating the best part of any good rom-com- the meet cute. The fourteen stories within are diverse, romantic, funny, and heartbreaking, featuring many of today's most popular YA authors. This is the perfect read to get you in that Valentine's Day spirit.

April


Ali

Staff Pick Logo
Ali: A Life Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780544435247
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Houghton Mifflin - October 3rd, 2017

This is not a book about boxing, although if you are not a boxing enthusiast you will certainly learn a lot about the sport. It is much more a book about one of the most outsized personalities of the 60s,about race relations and politics and Vietnam, and about how Cassius Clay went from being a poor kid in Louisville to "The Champ" and "The Greatest". A very compelling read, and worth all the pages.

David


Salvation of a Saint

Staff Pick Logo
Salvation of a Saint (Detective Galileo #2) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250036278
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Minotaur Books - September 9th, 2014

Looking for a cerebral mystery that's more of a how-dunnit than who-dunnit? Look no further than Keigo Higashino, one of Japan's bestselling crime novelists. Yoshitawa, a man about to leave his wife for another woman, turns up poisoned. But his wife--one of the only logical suspects--was hundreds of miles away at the time! Enter physics professor Yukawa, a genius with a penchant for solving "unsolvable" cases...

Rebecca


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - February 2018