February 2020

Early Riser

Staff Pick Badge
Early Riser: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780143111276
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - February 11th, 2020

 

Fans of Terry Pratchett and Christopher Moore, don't sleep on Jasper Fforde, one of the funniest, sharpest, and most creative fantasy writers out there. Lovers of Ankh-Morpork’s Sam Vimes will especially rejoice in Early Riser, a twisty rookie-cop caper set in an icy alt-Earth where (most) humans hibernate away the punishing winters.

Kate


Ungrateful Refugee

Staff Pick Badge
The Ungrateful Refugee: What Immigrants Never Tell You Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781948226424
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Catapult - September 3rd, 2019

 

A refugee who escaped Iran under threat of religious persecution in 1989, Dina Nayeri writes with lyricism and incredible clarity about the refugee experience. She weaves her own story in with those of fellow Iranian refugees, as well those waiting in the camps in Greece today to show the insidious power of Western privilege, the hopelessness of the asylum seeker, and to make the plea for dignity for the misplaced. A necessary read.

Meaghan


Let's Be Weird Together

Staff Pick Badge
Let's Be Weird Together: A Book About Love Cover Image
$12.95
ISBN: 9781523507733
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Workman Publishing Company - December 10th, 2019

 

 

From the creator of the eminently adorable Instagram account @sadanimalfacts (featuring such tragic true tidbits as, ‘rhinos make a squeaking sound to call for their friends when they’re lost’). This wonderful, all-inclusive celebration of the weirdness of love features notable couples through history, animal courting rituals, and all the strange things we do when we’re half of a pair. I’m tossing you a softball here, folks: get this sweet, silly book for your partner for in lieu of the Hallmark card. Or for yourself, if you’re a single, hopeless romantic like me!

Leila


If We Were Villains

Staff Pick Badge
If We Were Villains: A Novel Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250095299
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Flatiron Books - April 17th, 2018

 

It's time for another meeting of Caleb's Artsy-Academics-With-Dark-Secrets Book Club! If We Were Villains is the tale of a cohort of acting students who get a little too caught up in the menace and magic of Shakespeare. It's not so much about how a crime happens as about how crime affects those in its wake. Perfect for fans of The Secret History! 

Caleb


HoodWitch

Staff Pick Badge
HoodWitch (ACRE) Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781946724243
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Acre Books - October 15th, 2019

 

I'm finding my words insufficient for describing what Hicks has achieved with this book of poetry, so I'm going to quote Tyrese Coleman: “These poems explore Black femme power and the reclaiming of those harmed bodies...and embracing the nonbinary femme body through a miasma of language and imagery that conjures Christian, Afrofuturist, and Voodoo mysticism; it’s all beautifully visceral and real.”

Stacey


Severance

Staff Pick Badge
Severance: A Novel Cover Image
By Ling Ma
$17.00
ISBN: 9781250214997
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Picador - May 7th, 2019

 

Candace Chen, one of the last people alive in New York City after a fungal infection spreads across the world, spends her days as the sole employee of a defunct publishing company. Darkly and dryly humorous, the novel is a zombie horror story, an office satire, a coming of age narrative, an immigrant saga, and a mediation on the perils and pleasures of nostalgia. 

Justin, Writer in Residence for Adults


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - February 2020