July 2021

Girl, Interrupted

Staff Pick Badge
Girl, Interrupted: A Memoir By Susanna Kaysen Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780679746041
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Vintage - April 19th, 1994

 

In this memoir, Susanna Kaysen bravely welcomes us into the raw, honest, and occasionally comedic reality of staying at an in patient psychiatric hospital. This is a work of art and an absolute classic- perfect for fans of Ned Vizzini and Sylvia Plath.

Hannah


Unsolaced

Staff Pick Badge
Unsolaced: Along the Way to All That Is By Gretel Ehrlich Cover Image
$26.95
It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Information
ISBN: 9780307911797
Published: Pantheon - January 5th, 2021

 

Very much a bookend to her first book, the 1985 memoir Solace of Open Spaces set in Wyoming where she came to make her home, Ehrlich’s new work is much darker for she’s witness to the calamitous effects of climate change on the distant places and people she’s come to love over the past decades, from Greenland to Japan to Africa. In the end it’s a book not without hope as it is also a story of resilience , renewal, and once again, love.

Dale


Counting Descent

Staff Pick Badge
Counting Descent By Clint Smith Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781938912658
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Write Bloody Publishing - September 15th, 2016

Smith's How The Word Is Passed is flying off the shelves, so why not complement it with his debut poetry collection? Counting Descent feels like canon to me and I'm thrilled to see it reprinted. Come find me after you've processed Clint's instructions for cardboard boxes, I'm still recovering.

Caleb


Ultimate Micro-RPG Book

Staff Pick Badge
The Ultimate Micro-RPG Book: 40 Fast, Easy, and Fun Tabletop Games (Ultimate Role Playing Game Series) By James D’Amato Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781507212868
Availability: Available to Order from Supplier: Arrives at Store in a Week(ish)
Published: Adams Media - December 8th, 2020

Whether you want bodega cats defending the block from evil, steampunk zombie-cyborgs seeking redemption, or two stars slowly circling towards each other and their inevitable doom, there's a game here for you. They range in complexity and gameplay, from a complex tarot-card based system to simply rolling a six-sided die. Each one is only a page long. A perfect way to spend a summer afternoon!

Shana


I Believe I'll Go Back Home

Staff Pick Badge
I Believe I'll Go Back Home: Roots and Revival in New England Folk Music By Thomas S. Curren Cover Image
$22.95
It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Information
ISBN: 9781625345653
Published: Bright Leaf - May 28th, 2021

I Believe I'll Go Back Home is an excellent survey of the function and traditions of folk music in New England (starting with what little we have left of the traditions that predate colonization) and how those made Boston and Cambridge fertile ground for the birth of the Folk Revival of the late 1950s into the 1960s. There is such a rich musical history in New England that gets obfuscated because it didn't birth the major American music genres of today, but its contribution is not small. Curren's fast-paced and readable history colored in this opaque backstory and brought to life the cultural movement that percolated in clubs and coffeehouses on streets I know and love. 

Meaghan


This Poison Heart

Staff Pick Badge
This Poison Heart By Kalynn Bayron Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781547603909
Availability: Available to Order from Supplier: Arrives at Store in a Week(ish)
Published: Bloomsbury YA - June 29th, 2021

Filled with queer family, Black girl magic, and mystery so twisty you'll be on the edge of your seat the entire time, this book is one of the best and most unique Greek Myth retellings I've ever read. I need a sequel yesterday!! 

Shana


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - July 2021