June 2015

SUPERMUTANT MAGIC ACADEMY

SuperMutant Magic Academy Cover Image
$22.95
ISBN: 9781770461987
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Drawn and Quarterly - April 28th, 2015

XMen meets Harry Potter in this delightful yet deep collection of comics. Mutants and magic in one high school is bound to result in hijinks and hilarity. Everlasting Boy experiences the universe and time as a fluid state, while France's artistic commentary moves from profound to hilarious in a moment. And, of course, there’s Marsha’s unrequited love. If you grew up on Harry Potter and comics, or happen to love Lev Grossman’s Magicians, this is not to be missed!

Marika

 


UPROOTED

Uprooted Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9780804179034
Availability: Hard to Find--Contact us for More Info
Published: Del Rey Books - May 19th, 2015

Every ten years, the Dragon descends from his keep to take a new girl from the village. This is the price they pay for protection against the evil Wood. Agnieszka knows that she will never be picked she's not pretty or brave enough. But then the Dragon comes. You think you know where this story goes. You don't. UPROOTED takes everything gorgeous about classic fantasy and gives it an utterly fresh twist. Read if you loved McKinley's BEAUTY.

Rebecca


THE ART OF FLIGHT

Staff Pick Badge
The Art of Flight Cover Image
By Sergio Pitol, George Henson (Translator), Enrique Vila-Matas (Introduction by)
$15.95
ISBN: 9781941920060
Availability: It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Info
Published: Deep Vellum Publishing - March 17th, 2015

A meditation on travel, literature, writing, politics and culture, The Art of Flight is the long overdue introduction of one of the great living Mexican writers to American readers. Part memoir, part travelogue, part something else, this book is a must for writers and others interested in creativity or thoughtful considerations of ways of being. Also great for fans of The Empathy Exams, The Argonauts, and, oddly, Knaussgaard's My Struggle.

Josh

 


MONSTROUS REGIMENT

Staff Pick Badge
Monstrous Regiment Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780060013165
Availability: Hard to Find--Contact us for More Info
Published: HarperTorch - August 31st, 2004

Polly Perks has disguised herself as a boy to join the army, and her comrades in arms include a vampire, a troll, and a bunch of other misfits all with secrets of their own. The war is not going well, and it will take everything they have to survive, let alone make a difference. A poignant and often hilarious look at war, gender, and politics.

Shana

 


THE CARTOGRAPHER OF NO MAN’S LAND

Staff Pick Badge
The Cartographer of No Man's Land Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780871407771
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Liveright Publishing Corporation - June 2nd, 2014

Set in a quiet Nova Scotia village and in the bloody trenches of World War I, this debut novel follows Angus MacGrath as he tries to find his brother in law, missing on the Front. It also charts the coming of age of his son, Simon Peter, who must reconcile his grandfather’s pacifism and the mounting horrors of war with his own belief in the supremacy of Allies and in his father’s ability to navigate life as successfully as he navigates the sea.

Porter Square Book Club

 


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - June 2015