Kate

everyone's a aliebn...

Staff Pick Badge
Everyone's a Aliebn When Ur a Aliebn Too: A Book Cover Image
$12.79
ISBN: 9780062569028
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Harper Perennial - June 27th, 2017

I turn to this book whenever I need to be comforted or inspired, to laugh or cry, to feel understood and be reminded that we are not alone. Every time I pick it up, I find something new in it, and it's always what I need most to hear at the time. In fact, I've already staff picked it! But I'd like for you all to have the chance to have a copy with you right now. Plus.... if you want..... it can double as a quarantine coloring book.

Kate

 

 


My Friend Earth

Staff Pick Badge
My Friend Earth: (Earth Day Books with Environmentalism Message for Kids, Saving Planet Earth, Our Planet Book) Cover Image
$14.39
ISBN: 9780811879101
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Chronicle Books - February 25th, 2020

With its tender, lyrical text, gorgeous illustrations, and fun die-cut windows on each page, this book is the perfect reminder that the earth keeps turning and spring will come again. Send it as an Earth Day present to someone you love, or pick it up for yourself and let it transport you to prairies, mountains, forests, and oceans.

Kate


Scary Stories for Young Foxes

Staff Pick Badge
Scary Stories for Young Foxes Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250181428
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - July 30th, 2019

 

Follow a pair of clever fox kits through the spooky underbelly of the forest in this beautifully-woven tale, reminiscent of Watership Down by way of the Brothers Grimm. The dangers the foxes face will make you want to keep the light on and the door shut tight--but, as the wise old storyteller counsels, if you can make it to the end of the tale, you'll find a happy ending waiting there.

Kate


Dark and Deepest Red

Staff Pick Badge
Dark and Deepest Red Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250162748
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Feiwel & Friends - January 14th, 2020

 

Anna-Marie McLemore has a gift for writing enchanting prose and lovingly detailed characters.  Told in alternating points-of-view across five centuries, their queer retelling of the classic fairy tale "The Red Shoes" will keep you turning pages late into the night.

Kate


Early Riser

Staff Pick Badge
Early Riser: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780143111276
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Penguin Books - February 11th, 2020

 

Fans of Terry Pratchett and Christopher Moore, don't sleep on Jasper Fforde, one of the funniest, sharpest, and most creative fantasy writers out there. Lovers of Ankh-Morpork’s Sam Vimes will especially rejoice in Early Riser, a twisty rookie-cop caper set in an icy alt-Earth where (most) humans hibernate away the punishing winters.

Kate


Shatter the Sky

Staff Pick Badge
Shatter the Sky (The Shatter the Sky Duology) Cover Image
$15.19
ISBN: 9781534437906
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - July 30th, 2019

 

I wish I could live in the world Rebecca Kim Wells has built in SHATTER THE SKY. This book has it all: adventure; intrigue; a culture that accepts queerness without question; a protagonist who is clever, practical, determined, and impossible not to love. And, of course, DRAGONS!

Kate


Erosion

Staff Pick Badge
Erosion: Essays of Undoing Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780374280062
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Sarah Crichton Books - October 8th, 2019

 

This was a year of extraordinary books, and I put a lot of thought into what my pick of the year would be. Ultimately, this is the most important book I could share with y'all. Those of us who love deserts and mountains know erosion can be a dramatic force for change, simultaneously destructive and creative. As we live through this era of significant change--personal, political, environmental--Terry Tempest Williams's writing is a spiritual balm and a passionate call to action.

Kate


A is for Audra

Staff Pick Badge
A is for Audra: Broadway's Leading Ladies from A to Z Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780525645405
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Doubleday Books for Young Readers - November 12th, 2019

 

With gorgeous illustrations and clever rhymes that (probably) would have even Sondheim chuckling, this book is the perfect gift for people of all ages for whom M is for Musicals!

Kate


Tristan Strong Punches a Hole in the Sky

Staff Pick Badge
Tristan Strong Punches a Hole in the Sky Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781368039932
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Rick Riordan Presents - October 15th, 2019

 

Tristan Strong is a book about memory & storytelling, a clever reimagining of African & black American mythology, & a fun, fast-paced ride! Boxer Tristan feels he's failed his best friend & let down his family. When he accidentally punches a hole to another world, he'll have to rediscover his strength as he fights alongside legends like John Henry, Brer Rabbit, & Anansi. Tristan's voice is tough, tender, & hilarious; his story will appeal to adventure lovers of all ages.

Kate


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Kate