Kate

Felix Ever After

Staff Pick Badge
Felix Ever After Cover Image
$15.19
ISBN: 9780062820259
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Balzer + Bray - May 5th, 2020

Felix Ever After is a joy. Read it and dream of spending these hot summer days in Brooklyn with its lovable cast of young queer artists. This is a heartfelt exploration of love and identity, with enough drama to keep you compulsively reading. What can I say? This book just made me happy!

Kate


The Only Good Indians

Staff Pick Badge
The Only Good Indians Cover Image
$21.59
ISBN: 9781982136451
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Gallery / Saga Press - July 14th, 2020

 

Stephen Graham Jones draws on Blackfeet culture (and the myriad ways in which indigenous culture exists in the modern United States) to create a masterful horror novel about guilt, grief, and revenge. These characters are haunted, both figuratively and literally, by both tradition and the ways they've broken from it. And the prose is just gorgeous (and gory--this is the most beautiful book I've ever read that also made me cringe, set it aside, and sleep with the lights on. I'm wary around motorcycles now!).

Kate


The Life and Medieval Times of Kit Sweetly

Staff Pick Badge
The Life and Medieval Times of Kit Sweetly Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781624149528
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Page Street Kids - May 5th, 2020

I've been searching for a book with the same vibe as A Knight's Tale forever, and fellow readers, this one delivers. This fun modern take features a diverse cast and a gutsy protagonist who's ready to smash the patriarchy with a stick. ("It's called a lance... hello!")

Kate


HOW TO INVENT EVERYTHING

Staff Pick Badge
How to Invent Everything: A Survival Guide for the Stranded Time Traveler Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780735220157
Availability: On Order at the Warehouse
Published: Riverhead Books - September 17th, 2019

Feel like the end of the world? Fear not: with this handy (and hilarious) guide, you can completely rebuild civilization from scratch--and even take some shortcuts and avoid some of the missteps of our forebears. This book somehow manages to be a fascinating primer on science history and a witty page-turner. Essential reading for the post-apocalypse.

 

Kate


everyone's a aliebn...

Staff Pick Badge
Everyone's a Aliebn When Ur a Aliebn Too: A Book Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780062569028
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Perennial - June 27th, 2017

I turn to this book whenever I need to be comforted or inspired, to laugh or cry, to feel understood and be reminded that we are not alone. Every time I pick it up, I find something new in it, and it's always what I need most to hear at the time. In fact, I've already staff picked it! But I'd like for you all to have the chance to have a copy with you right now. Plus.... if you want..... it can double as a quarantine coloring book.

Kate

 

 


My Friend Earth

Staff Pick Badge
My Friend Earth: (Earth Day Books with Environmentalism Message for Kids, Saving Planet Earth, Our Planet Book) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780811879101
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Chronicle Books - February 25th, 2020

With its tender, lyrical text, gorgeous illustrations, and fun die-cut windows on each page, this book is the perfect reminder that the earth keeps turning and spring will come again. Send it as an Earth Day present to someone you love, or pick it up for yourself and let it transport you to prairies, mountains, forests, and oceans.

Kate


Scary Stories for Young Foxes

Staff Pick Badge
Scary Stories for Young Foxes Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250181428
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - July 30th, 2019

 

Follow a pair of clever fox kits through the spooky underbelly of the forest in this beautifully-woven tale, reminiscent of Watership Down by way of the Brothers Grimm. The dangers the foxes face will make you want to keep the light on and the door shut tight--but, as the wise old storyteller counsels, if you can make it to the end of the tale, you'll find a happy ending waiting there.

Kate


Dark and Deepest Red

Staff Pick Badge
Dark and Deepest Red Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250162748
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Feiwel & Friends - January 14th, 2020

 

Anna-Marie McLemore has a gift for writing enchanting prose and lovingly detailed characters.  Told in alternating points-of-view across five centuries, their queer retelling of the classic fairy tale "The Red Shoes" will keep you turning pages late into the night.

Kate


Early Riser

Staff Pick Badge
Early Riser: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780143111276
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - February 11th, 2020

 

Fans of Terry Pratchett and Christopher Moore, don't sleep on Jasper Fforde, one of the funniest, sharpest, and most creative fantasy writers out there. Lovers of Ankh-Morpork’s Sam Vimes will especially rejoice in Early Riser, a twisty rookie-cop caper set in an icy alt-Earth where (most) humans hibernate away the punishing winters.

Kate


Shatter the Sky

Staff Pick Badge
Shatter the Sky (The Shatter the Sky Duology) Cover Image
$15.19
ISBN: 9781534437906
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - July 30th, 2019

 

I wish I could live in the world Rebecca Kim Wells has built in SHATTER THE SKY. This book has it all: adventure; intrigue; a culture that accepts queerness without question; a protagonist who is clever, practical, determined, and impossible not to love. And, of course, DRAGONS!

Kate


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Kate