Katherine

Starless Sea

Staff Pick Badge
The Starless Sea: A Novel By Erin Morgenstern Cover Image
$14.40
ISBN: 9781101971383
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Anchor - August 4th, 2020

The Starless Sea is the ideal book for Book People. If you were the kid who searched the back of closets for Narnia, who was constantly caught reading in class or after bedtime, who has ever read a book and longed to be a part of it, this book is for you. A puzzlebox of a book, it's the perfect read to start off the year.

Katherine


Dealing with Dragons

Staff Pick Badge
Dealing with Dragons: The Enchanted Forest Chronicles, Book One By Patricia C. Wrede Cover Image
$6.39
ISBN: 9780544541221
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Clarion Books - September 15th, 2015

A childhood classic, I had just as much fun reading this book at 25 as I did at 8. Princess Cimorene, the daughter of a very proper king, runs away to live with a very powerful dragon, Kazul and in doing so turns every fairytale rule you know on its head. Perfect for precocious elementary schoolers who love reading and to be right, or adults who were once precocious elementary schoolers who loved reading and to be right. Princess Cimorene belongs in the same category as middle grade heroines like Sophie Hatter from Howl's Moving Castle and Ella of Frell from Ella Enchanted.

Katherine


The Golden Age

Staff Pick Badge
The  Golden Age: Ovid's Metamorphoses By Ovid, Ana Sender (Illustrator), Heinz Janisch (Adapted by) Cover Image
By Ovid, Ana Sender (Illustrator), Heinz Janisch (Adapted by)
$29.95
ISBN: 9780735844711
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: NorthSouth Books - October 4th, 2022

D'Aulaire's Book of Greek Myths for a new generation, this beautifully illustrated selection from Ovid's Metamorphoses will introduce kids to some of the well trodden myths alongside the less while known stories of transformation.

Katherine


Metamorphoses

Staff Pick Badge
Metamorphoses (A Penguin Classics Hardcover) By Ovid, Stephanie McCarter (Translated by) Cover Image
By Ovid, Stephanie McCarter (Translated by)
$38.00
ISBN: 9780525505990
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Penguin Classics - November 8th, 2022

The perfect excuse to revisit Ovid's Metamorphoses. Stephanie McCarter's translation is lush and gorgeous, keeping the poetic bones of Ovid's epic without falling into the clunky pitfalls that comes from translating a classic poem to English. McCarter takes a frank look at the power dynamics of of the Metamorphoses, making this the perfect companion to Emily Wilson's Odyssey and Caroline Alexander's Iliad.

Katherine


Hiders Seekers Finders Keepers

Staff Pick Badge
Hiders Seekers Finders Keepers: How Animals Adapt in Winter By Jessica Kulekjian, Salini Perera (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Jessica Kulekjian, Salini Perera (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781525304859
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Kids Can Press - October 4th, 2022

Hiders Seekers Finders Keepers is a sweet and cozy book perfect to share with your little one as the seasons turn. One of my favorite things about this book is that because the science and animal facts are presented separately from the narrative, you can tailor how educational you want to get for the age and interest of whoever you're reading to.

Katherine


White Horse

Staff Pick Badge
White Horse: A Novel By Erika T. Wurth Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250847652
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Flatiron Books - November 1st, 2022

I love a good horror novel about grief and healing and White Horse is a masterclass in that subgenre. Kari James is given a bracelet that belonged to her dead mother, and as soon as she receives it she finds herself haunted by her mother's ghost. As she struggles to uncover the truth of her mother's murder, she also must grapple with the grief and trauma she has let consume her for years.

Katherine


Man Made Monsters

Staff Pick Badge
Man Made Monsters By Andrea Rogers, Jeff Edwards (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Andrea Rogers, Jeff Edwards (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781646141791
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Levine Querido - October 4th, 2022

A journey through decades as we follow one Cherokee family and the monsters they meet --or face or befriend or become. Each story feels like the perfect glimpse into a the life of each complex character. In turns haunting, heartfelt, and hopeful, this book is ideal for teen and adult readers alike.

Katherine


Dowry of Blood

Staff Pick Badge
A Dowry of Blood By S. T. Gibson Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780316501071
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Redhook - October 4th, 2022

This is maybe the best follow up to Dracula I have ever read, and trust me when I say I have read a lot. Gothic and sensual and capital R Romantic, Gibson captures the cultural feeling of Dracula while fleshing out the three brides and giving us their dark and bloody story. Vampire fans will not want to miss out on this ravenous story swathed in romance.

Katherine


Blue

Staff Pick Badge
Blue: A History of the Color as Deep as the Sea and as Wide as the Sky By Nana Ekua Brew-Hammond, Daniel Minter (Illustrator) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781984894366
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - February 15th, 2022

A vibrant and stunning look at the history of the color blue. This book is sure to fascinate kids and spark their curiosity.

Katherine


Bruising of Qilwa

Staff Pick Badge
The Bruising of Qilwa By Naseem Jamnia Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781616963781
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Tachyon Publications - August 9th, 2022

I have been searching my whole adult life for this exact book, and now that I've found it I'm going to be yelling about it forever. With a gripping plot and a lush world, this book is deeply compassionate, vivid, and lets each character exist as a whole and complete person. Fans of Tamora Pierce's Circle of Magic books and Katherine Addison's Witness for the Dead will love The Bruising of Qilwa. Personally, I would like a dozen more books set in this universe.

Katherine


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Katherine