Katherine

To Break a Covenant

Staff Pick Badge
To Break a Covenant Cover Image
$14.39
ISBN: 9781645672067
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Page Street Kids - September 21st, 2021

Fans of Plain Bad Heroines and Wilder Girls will love this book. Moon Basin is the type of haunted town that draws in Ghost Hunters from all over the country, and one summer four friends realize the chilling truth of what it means that no one ever leaves. This book is the type of bone-chilling you won’t be able to look away from.

Katherine
 


Payback's a Witch

Staff Pick Badge
Payback's a Witch (The Witches of Thistle Grove #1) Cover Image
$12.80
ISBN: 9780593336069
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Berkley - October 5th, 2021

Charmed and Practical Magic meet John Tucker Must Die (along with a sprinkle of queer romance) in this delightful gem of a novel. Returning to Thistle Grove, her magical home town, Emmy Harlow is surprised to learn it’s not just her who has been burned by her ex-flame, Gareth. So she teams up with Linden Thorn, her long time best friend, and the seductive and mysterious Talia Avramov to take him down a peg. Sexy, charming, and downright magical, this book is the perfect Halloween read for anyone who’s a little more Hocus Pocus than The Conjuring.

Katherine


A Lesson in Vengeance

Staff Pick Badge
A Lesson in Vengeance Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780593305829
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Delacorte Press - August 3rd, 2021

Sapphic dark academia, pulling on the complicated and witchy bonds of female relationships and weaving them into a fantastic tapestry you can’t look away from. It’s witchy and addictining and you’ll find yourself pulling back layer after layer of secrets. If this book had come out when I was in highschool, it would be my whole personality. It made me absolutely and completely feral, and I loved every second of it.

Katherine


The World Gives Way

Staff Pick Badge
The World Gives Way: A Novel Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780316592413
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Redhook - June 15th, 2021

The word "timely" is used too often in reviews, but after a year where the rich got richer and the poor were faced with everything from mass unemployment to death, a story about an indentured servant who works in a world where the rich work to save themselves after destroying world after world is exactly that.  Despite the inevitable end that this book promises, Levien weaves hope and humanity into every line.

Katherine


I Know What I am

Staff Pick Badge
I Know What I Am: The Life and Times of Artemisia Gentileschi Cover Image
$34.99
ISBN: 9781683962113
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Fantagraphics - September 10th, 2019

This incredibly well researched graphic biography tells the story of my personal favorite painter, Artemisia Gentileschi. Siciliano doesn't shy away from the dark and often violent truth of Gentileschi's life as she went from her father's apprentice to a famous Renaissance painter in her own right. This book captures the humanity of such a great figure, while still giving us a view of the politics and hardships of the time --and an art lesson to round out the whole thing. Plus, just look at this cover, who wouldn't want to add such a beautiful book to their collection? CW: Sexual Assault

Katherine
 


The Accursed Vampire

Staff Pick Badge
The Accursed Vampire Cover Image
$22.99
ISBN: 9780062954350
Availability: Available at Wholesaler
Published: Quill Tree Books - July 27th, 2021

I have been a big fan of these tiny vampires since they were just three panel comics floating around the internet, so it came as no surprise that I loved this book. It's both a funny and charming story about witches and curses and magical quests, as well as a tale about friendship and standing up for yourself. 10/10 I'd definitely let these precocious vampires drink some blood (although maybe not mine).

Katherine


The Wolf and the Woodsman

Staff Pick Badge
The Wolf and the Woodsman: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062973122
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Voyager - June 8th, 2021

This might very well be my new favorite fantasy book. A debut novel that draws from the same foundation as books like or the Wolf and Spinning Silver, but is still wholly and completely it's own thing.  An enemies to friends to lovers story about survival, and sacrifice, that understands forgiveness and redemption in a wholly transformative way. This book is the type of fantasy that grabs you by the hair and doesn’t let go. 

Katherine


Summer in the City of Roses

Staff Pick Badge
Summer in the City of Roses Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781641291712
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Soho Teen - July 6th, 2021

Michelle Ruiz Keil has perfectly captured the dream-like quality of the dog days of summer in this tale that’s part Greek myth and part fairytale. She has boiled down both, leaving us with the truest parts of the stories, the love between two siblings. Reading this book is like watching a film shot in soft focus, and I found myself totally enraptured.

Katherine


The Archive of Alternate Endings

Staff Pick Badge
The Archive of Alternate Endings Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781945814822
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dzanc Books - May 7th, 2019

The Archive of Alternate Endings weaves together multiple tales which are each unique and separate and exceptional. Here are some themes that run through the stories: queer stories and when they don't get told, the story of Hansel and Gretel, Haley's Comet, the bond between siblings. Read the first page of this book, if it's for you, you'll know immediately.

Katherine


Jo Jo Makoons: The Used-To-Be Best Friend

Staff Pick Badge
Jo Jo Makoons: The Used-to-Be Best Friend Cover Image
By Dawn Quigley, Tara Audibert (Illustrator)
$4.99
ISBN: 9780063015388
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Heartdrum - May 11th, 2021

Jojo is the most precocious and hilarious seven year old I've ever read about. This story had me laughing out loud as Jojo tries to make back-up friends in case it turns out her best school friend, Fern, doesn't want to be best friends with her.

Katherine


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Katherine