Katherine

Man Made Monsters

Pre-Order Now Badge
Man Made Monsters By Andrea Rogers, Jeff Edwards (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Andrea Rogers, Jeff Edwards (Illustrator)
$15.99
ISBN: 9781646141791
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Levine Querido - October 4th, 2022

A journey through decades as we follow one Cherokee family and the monsters they meet --or face or befriend or become. Each story feels like the perfect glimpse into a the life of each complex character. In turns haunting, heartfelt, and hopeful, this book is ideal for teen and adult readers alike.

Katherine


Dowry of Blood

Pre-Order Now Badge
A Dowry of Blood By S. T. Gibson Cover Image
$21.60
ISBN: 9780316501071
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Redhook - October 4th, 2022

This is maybe the best follow up to Dracula I have ever read, and trust me when I say I have read a lot. Gothic and sensual and capital R Romantic, Gibson captures the cultural feeling of Dracula while fleshing out the three brides and giving us their dark and bloody story. Vampire fans will not want to miss out on this ravenous story swathed in romance.

Katherine


Blue

Staff Pick Badge
Blue: A History of the Color as Deep as the Sea and as Wide as the Sky By Nana Ekua Brew-Hammond, Daniel Minter (Illustrator) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781984894366
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - February 15th, 2022

A vibrant and stunning look at the history of the color blue. This book is sure to fascinate kids and spark their curiosity.

Katherine


Bruising of Qilwa

Staff Pick Badge
The Bruising of Qilwa By Naseem Jamnia Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781616963781
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Tachyon Publications - August 9th, 2022

I have been searching my whole adult life for this exact book, and now that I've found it I'm going to be yelling about it forever. With a gripping plot and a lush world, this book is deeply compassionate, vivid, and lets each character exist as a whole and complete person. Fans of Tamora Pierce's Circle of Magic books and Katherine Addison's Witness for the Dead will love The Bruising of Qilwa. Personally, I would like a dozen more books set in this universe.

Katherine


Get a Life, Chloe Brown

Staff Pick Badge
Get a Life, Chloe Brown: A Novel (The Brown Sisters #1) By Talia Hibbert Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062941206
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Avon - November 5th, 2019

The first in the Brown Sisters trilogy, I read this book and then both sequels in three days because I just couldn’t put them down. Chloe Brown is sarcastic and relatable and ready to start living her life –which of course requires the help of her surly super with a heart of gold, Red Morgan. A high heat romance that’s enemies to lovers, some truly fantastic banter, and a conflict at the center of the story that felt real and understandable. The perfect book to take with you to the beach this August, and the perfect book for fans of Book Lovers.

Katherine


I'll Take Care of You

Staff Pick Badge
I'll Take Care of You By Maria Loretta, Nicoletta Bertelle (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Maria Loretta, Nicoletta Bertelle (Illustrator)
$18.95
ISBN: 9781737603238
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Blue Dot Kids Press - April 12th, 2022

For a picture book that just came out this year, this one already feels like a classic. The story is about community and paying it forward, and the art is absolutely gorgeous. This is a picture book you’ll read over and over again (and I may have already gifted it to several babies in my life).

Katherine


The Katha Chest

Staff Pick Badge
The Katha Chest By Radhiah Chowdhury, Lavanya Naidu (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Radhiah Chowdhury, Lavanya Naidu (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781665903905
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Salaam Reads / Simon & Schuster Books for You - March 1st, 2022

Please open to any page in this book and tell me it's not absolutely gorgeous. The Katha chest is a wonderful story about family and the memories that we store in physical objects. I suggest talking to your kids about what things remind them of their family members (and then staring at the pictures for several hours).

Katherine


Juniper & Thorn

Staff Pick Badge
Juniper & Thorn: A Novel By Ava Reid Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062973160
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Harper Voyager - June 21st, 2022

With Juniper & Thorn Ava Reid has cut out the raw heart of a fairytale and served it up to her reader on a platter. And what a meal it is. We’ve returned again to the world of Wolf and the Woodsman, which is so heavily steeped in folklore it practically drips with it. Marlinchen is the youngest of three sisters, a witch, and the daughter of a wizard with terrible curses, so she has always been tangled in fairytales. With her first taste of freedom all that begins to unravel, and leaves us with a story you won’t be able to put down.

Katherine


Sistersong

Staff Pick Badge
Sistersong By Lucy Holland Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316320894
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Redhook - May 3rd, 2022

Lucy Holland captures the heart of an iconic folk ballad while weaving in the depth these things often lack. Reminiscent of classics like The King of Elfland’s Daughter, this book is mournful and beautiful and will stick in your head long after the last page. I know I’ll revisit it again and again throughout the years.

Katherine


A Far Wilder Magic

Staff Pick Badge
A Far Wilder Magic By Allison Saft Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250623652
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Wednesday Books - March 8th, 2022

Perfect for fans of The Night Circus and Leigh Bardugo's Grishaverse, A Far Wilder Magic tells the story of Margaret Welty, the competent recluse who keeps things just barely under control while her famous mother is away, and Weston Winters, a poor alchemist looking for a teacher, as they team up to win an unwinnable hunt that is both of their last chance. Romantic and sharp and transportive, you won't want to miss out on this fantastic novel.

Katherine


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Katherine