Katherine

Have a Hot Time Hades

Staff Pick Badge
Have a Hot Time, Hades! (Myth-O-Mania #1) Cover Image
By Kate McMullan, Denis Zilber (Illustrator)
$4.76
ISBN: 9781434234377
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Stone Arch Books - July 1st, 2011

This book is the bridge between My First Greek Mythology and Percy Jackson. It turns out the myths as you know them are completely false, because they’re all told by Zeus, and he’s a big old myth-o-maniac (that’s ancient Greek for Big Fat Liar). Don’t worry though, Hades will tell you everything you need to know in this tell-all about how he became god of the underworld.

Katherine


Beautiful Ones

Staff Pick Badge
The Beautiful Ones: A Novel Cover Image
$14.39
ISBN: 9781250785565
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Books - April 27th, 2021

 

This novel captures all the longing and intricate rituals of a historic romance with the fantastic worldbuilding of a fantasy novel. When she was sent to stay with her cousin for her first season, Nina, a young girl with telekinetic powers, does not expect to enter a dance with the famous telekinetic performer, Hector Auvrey, and her own cousin-in-law, Camille. I read the last half of the book in one sitting because putting it down was nearly unthinkable. Fans of Bridgerton and A Midnight Bargain alike will find themselves drawn to this elegant and enthralling novel.

Katherine


First Become Ashes

Staff Pick Badge
First, Become Ashes Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250216182
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tordotcom - April 6th, 2021

Lark has spent his life raised to believe that on his 25th birthday he will journey into the world to slay monsters and save the human race. However, three months before he’s supposed to do this, his home is raided by Federal Agents, who claim magic isn’t real, and that he has been in a cult this whole time. A fantastic story about trauma, healing, magic, and belief, this book had me questioning what was real and what was a lie. 

CW: Explicit sadomasochism and sexual content, as well as abuse and consent violations, including rape.

Katherine


The Oldest Student

Staff Pick Badge
The Oldest Student: How Mary Walker Learned to Read Cover Image
By Rita Lorraine Hubbard, Oge Mora (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781524768287
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Schwartz & Wade - January 7th, 2020

This beautiful picture book tells the story of Mary Walker, a woman born into slavery who didn’t get the chance to read until she was 116. This book teaches kids about history, while encouraging them to go after their dreams and believe in themselves. Also, Oge Mora’s art is truly amazing (keep an eye on the background signs as you go through the book!)

Katherine


The Valley and the Flood

Staff Pick Badge
The Valley and the Flood Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780593114353
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Razorbill - February 23rd, 2021

Almost a year after the death of her best friend, Rose Cutter finds herself broken down in the desert. After following a message no one but her should have towards a distant radio tower, she finds herself in Lotus Valley and quickly becomes embroiled in an impending disaster that somehow centers on her.  For a book about dealing with grief and PTSD, with a sense of doom hanging over the whole town, this book is filled with a lot of levity and forgiveness, with a sort of surrealist horror vibe to this book but like, funny. Also, I would literally die for multiple characters in this book.

Katherine


Honey Girl

Staff Pick Badge
Honey Girl Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780778311027
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Park Row - February 23rd, 2021

Grace Porter has always had a plan—but a disastrous interview, and a drunken Vegas wedding to a girl she doesn’t know snaps the tension she’s been putting on herself bringing everything tumbling down. This book is by turns fiercely funny, and cathartically heartbreaking, with the poetic lyricism of This is How You Lose the Time War, and the witty banter of Red, White, and Royal Blue. Honey Girl tore me to pieces and then put me back together again—I laughed, I cried, I said “this is so sweet” out loud multiple times. This book is for you, you lonely creature. Are you there?

Katherine


The Good Luck Girls

Staff Pick Badge
The Good Luck Girls Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781250299727
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Because of how it is sold to us we cannot accept a return of this title.
Published: Tor Teen - January 5th, 2021

This book is almost too good for words. Taking place in a sci-fi setting reminiscent of the wild west, this book is everything I could have asked for and more. It tracks five girls as they escape a Welcome House (their form of brothel) and become outlaws in order to gain their freedom. Davis' worldbuilding  is some of the best I've ever seen, neither over explaining, or leaving me wishing that I knew more, and the character dynamics were to die for. An absolute must read!

Katherine


Reconstruction: Stories

Staff Pick Badge
Reconstruction: Stories Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781618731777
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Small Beer Press - January 12th, 2021

This book is incredible. After each story, I had to stop and stare at a wall for at least 24 hours just processing until I could move on and read the next one. Several times I found myself forgetting that this was, in fact, a book of short stories and not a full length novel where I could spend all 256 pages in any one of Alaya Dawn Johnson's unique and engrossing worlds, and the first story, A Guide to Fruits of Hawai'i immediately captured my vampire loving heart. 

Katherine


Plain Bad Heroines

Staff Pick Badge
Plain Bad Heroines: A Novel Cover Image
By Emily M. Danforth, Sara Lautman (Illustrator)
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062942852
Availability: Available at Wholesaler
Published: William Morrow - October 20th, 2020

Plain Bad Heroines was not just up my alley, but had packed a bag and moved into my bedroom. A short list of things you’ll find in this novel; curses, lesbians, gilded-age society scandals, yellow jackets, a heaping dose of snark, multiple narratives that weave together beautifully, footnotes, historic queer icons, and the nagging sense that the line between what’s real and what isn’t has been blurred.This is the sort of New England Gothic that I can never get enough of. It’s the perfect autumn read for you and your best friend that you’re secretly in love with, trust me.  


Katherine


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Katherine